Customer Reviews for

Good Christian Bitches

Average Rating 3.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

As a professor of English and Creative Writing, I would give this book an A+. This first time author has followed the rules that I teach my students, which are to begin by writing about what you know and dialog, dialog, dialog.

A former student sent this book to me for my review and comments. Apparently, both the title and the storyline have ruffled some feathers of people who are acquainted with the author. A late in life career change moved me from a 20+ year career as a (Ph.D/LPC) therapi...
A former student sent this book to me for my review and comments. Apparently, both the title and the storyline have ruffled some feathers of people who are acquainted with the author. A late in life career change moved me from a 20+ year career as a (Ph.D/LPC) therapist to my true passion of writing and teaching creative writing on the university level. Therefore, my evaluation of the book was somewhat academic in nature as well as psychological. I found the book to be easy reading and entertaining while conveying an underlying message, which I believe was the intent of the author. I would expect that the characters in the novel are composites of people the author knows or has known in the past. I certainly identified traits of many of my former clients from my therapist days, on both sides of the gossip column. The book is really quite well done and is fast and easy reading -- good for a lazy Saturday afternoon by the fire. I read the other review that mentioned that this book would convert well to the big or small screen, and I am inclined to agree. The story has more depth than many readers will discern, while, on the other hand, it also is lighter reading than the deeper story and message would evince.

posted by MASloanPhD on November 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Wait for the tv show...

The writing in this book is disgraceful and disappointing. As an author myself, it's incredibly disheartening to see a book this poorly written get so much attention just over a controversial title. If you're thinking about buying--don't. If you're thinking about borrow...
The writing in this book is disgraceful and disappointing. As an author myself, it's incredibly disheartening to see a book this poorly written get so much attention just over a controversial title. If you're thinking about buying--don't. If you're thinking about borrowing and reading--don't. It's rife with head-hopping, first, second and third person tenses and the only thing consistent in the story line is the inconsistent characterization. This author could've used a good writing group and some writing classes.

posted by doingitwrite on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    As a professor of English and Creative Writing, I would give this book an A+. This first time author has followed the rules that I teach my students, which are to begin by writing about what you know and dialog, dialog, dialog.

    A former student sent this book to me for my review and comments. Apparently, both the title and the storyline have ruffled some feathers of people who are acquainted with the author. A late in life career change moved me from a 20+ year career as a (Ph.D/LPC) therapist to my true passion of writing and teaching creative writing on the university level. Therefore, my evaluation of the book was somewhat academic in nature as well as psychological. I found the book to be easy reading and entertaining while conveying an underlying message, which I believe was the intent of the author. I would expect that the characters in the novel are composites of people the author knows or has known in the past. I certainly identified traits of many of my former clients from my therapist days, on both sides of the gossip column. The book is really quite well done and is fast and easy reading -- good for a lazy Saturday afternoon by the fire. I read the other review that mentioned that this book would convert well to the big or small screen, and I am inclined to agree. The story has more depth than many readers will discern, while, on the other hand, it also is lighter reading than the deeper story and message would evince.

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Looking forward to the series!

    Anyone who gets ruffled by the title hasn't been in a good Southern church, and you're probably one of them.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Great, fun read!

    I found this book to be a quick, fun read without being preachy. Yes, there are a lot of backbiting, hateful, materialistic women in the story, but the moral is, that in the end, they don't profit from their evil ways. I live in Dallas and I have many wonderful Christian friends, but like those in the book, there a few bad apples in every town and every church. I'm afraid this will be like preaching to the choir. The women who need it, won't read it.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    Get this book!!!!

    Love this read! It will be one that you will pass on from girlfriend to girlfriend for years to come... The message is uplifting, thought provoking and instigates self examination. HIGHLY recommend this read.... BUY it now for this weekend...

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read and fun. There is a message, but the book is worth reading just for the entertainment factor. Easy to read and great way to escape from everyday drudgery.

    The dialog is well developed and this is book that would convert well to a movie script or even a television series--sort of a "Desperate Debutantes Grown Up" kind of story line. I bought and read this book to be entertained, and this book absolutely served that purpose. In addition to the entertainment aspects of the book, there is also a message in the story. Many of us have known people similar to the characters in GCB, and some of us have even suffered from backstabbing by such people. In that regard, GCB is great therapy!! As a matter of fact, I have purchased 7 copies of GCB to give as Christmas gifts to family and friends whom I know will enjoy the book for the fun "read" but will also relate to the message that GCB delivers in such a delightful and easy-reading manner. I do hope that Kim Gatlin will write a sequel or at least more books of this genre.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    Great edgy christian book

    I bought this book based on the title. A week before christmas and it was a great read and anyone she read this. The author is from dallas and so, I am I. The characters seem so real and for her first book there were know mistakes. I highly recommend it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    Loved It!

    I loved the book and have sent it as gifts to many of my friends. Sadly, many of us have been in situations where "friends" turn out to be our worst enemies.
    "Wolf in Sheep's Clothing" must have this page confused with a blog. That was NOT a review, rather a personal attack on the author. I don't know Kim Gatlin, but I will read anything else she writes. I hope it's sooner rather than later.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    I began watching the ABC comedy/drama GCB. I enjoy the show & saw this while browsing through nookbooks! Of course i bought it! The TV series is based upon the book, but the book of course is much better.

    Heartwarming, humorous, and a wonderful story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Wait for the tv show...

    The writing in this book is disgraceful and disappointing. As an author myself, it's incredibly disheartening to see a book this poorly written get so much attention just over a controversial title. If you're thinking about buying--don't. If you're thinking about borrowing and reading--don't. It's rife with head-hopping, first, second and third person tenses and the only thing consistent in the story line is the inconsistent characterization. This author could've used a good writing group and some writing classes.

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Fun read with a great ending!

    This is a fun, quick read with an enjoyable style and a positive ending.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Gatlin consistently broke one of the cardinal rules of writing:

    Gatlin consistently broke one of the cardinal rules of writing: show, don't tell. If the main character actually exhibited the traits that she is stated to posess (a responsible person, a firm but caring mother, someone who abhors gossip, a down-to-earth personality) then she would have been sympathetic and a strong lead. Instead, the main character obsesses about the clothes and money of other people while carrying a holier-than-thou attitude. A good third of the book consists of the main character having her reputation dragged through the mud by materialistic, shallow women. Her way of dealing with this? Gossip with her mother and mutter to herself about how horrible these women are as wives, mothers, and "Christians." Her ultimate revenge? The two "baddies" are dressed tackily at the end, because nothing says turning the other cheek like making fun of women who wear outlet clothes and aren't as skinny as you. Definitely wish I hadn't wasted my money on this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    5 star for this genre

    If you want sinfully bad fluff, this is the cream of the crop! The writing is engaging and the characters are deliciously polarized. Good is good and trash is trash. If you're at all into southern culture (I'm obsessed), this is a lip smacking read. I zipped through it in a 28 hour period. Not Dickens, but it's not claiming to be. Loved!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    WOW.... as they say "The TRUTH hurts!"

    Being a long-time Dallas resident, I had a good laugh reading this book - not because it was fiction but because most of it is true!!! The names are changed, but if you live here, it's blatantly obvious who she is referring to. It was a fun read, especially knowing the who, what & where, but at the same time very sad. The book opens your eyes to the life of the Dallas elitists and the series is just another over-the-top exaggeration of life in Texas - where the world will again think everyone is rich, gorgeous and religious! The good ole "bible belt" - where you can do what you want and hide it behind "The Lord!" Well, I'll be leaving the south soon for Colorado and frankly I can't wait to get out of here. Open spaces, open minds...... that's me :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Not so good.

    The TV version is much better.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended- pass this book along to your friends.

    I love this book. It is thought provoking and comes from the heart of the author. I am not from Dallas but now reside in the Dallas area. It does not surprise me that conversations in Bible Study Groups in churches in this area take place as indicated in this book. Yes, there will always be "b-----s/liars" in all walks of life. Identify who they are and run as fast as you can in the opposite direction.
    Kim, congratulations on the book and I look forward to many many more. BFF- Judith

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    great beach read!!!!

    This book should be called a great beach read!!! Fast and entertaining.
    All of us have expierenced this kind of behavior, and Gatlin had the guts to put it in a book....good for her!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Fun story to read

    This was a very easy read. The story was fun and although somewhat predictable I really enjoyed reading it. If you're looking for something light to read this is a good choice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I bought this book after watching the series on ABC. I hardly ev

    I bought this book after watching the series on ABC. I hardly ever find myself saying this but I would definitely prefer to see the series as to read this book. Where the stories are the same the writing was just sub-par. In all honestly I wouldn't recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Good stuff & light reading

    If you're a little catty or know some gals who are you'll love this book. It's a fun light read about texas socialites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Not as good as the series. Found this to be quite a yawn - noth

    Not as good as the series.

    Found this to be quite a yawn - nothing much for 100 pages then it picked up a little. Still could not finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7