Customer Reviews for

The Good Daughters

Average Rating 3.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

intriguing epic

On July 4, 1950 in New Hampshire, Ruth Plank and Dana Dickerson are born at the same hospital. Ruth is the youngest of five sisters; whereas her father is a caring farmer who loves his girls including his "Hurricane baby"; her mother is distant. Dana wants stability a...
On July 4, 1950 in New Hampshire, Ruth Plank and Dana Dickerson are born at the same hospital. Ruth is the youngest of five sisters; whereas her father is a caring farmer who loves his girls including his "Hurricane baby"; her mother is distant. Dana wants stability as her parents drag her and her older brother Ray with them as they follow capricious dreams into one disaster after another. The families remain friends as once a year the Plank brood visits the wandering Dickerson clan regardless of where the latter resides for the moment. Artistic Ruth the romantic reunites with Ray in a haze of sex and drugs at Woodstock. Dana dreams of love with a woman as she becomes an agricultural student where she meets assistant Professor Clarice. As each woman settles into their career of an artist and a scientist, they dream of finding a loving mate and raising children, but also need to know the family link between their parents.

This is an intriguing drama that sweeps through the decades as told by the rotating perspectives of the "Birth" sisters. The fully developed cast enhances the appealing story line that owned by Ruth and Dana as fans will be swept up in their tales and like them with a need to know what connects two families. Joyce Maynard provides a brilliant baby boomer historical saga.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed this Book

The book tells a tale that was pretty easy to figure out...and I found myself rushing to the end to see if it ended the way I thought it would. It did.

Simple read..not hard to keep track of the characters since they were a little one-dimensional. If you have som...
The book tells a tale that was pretty easy to figure out...and I found myself rushing to the end to see if it ended the way I thought it would. It did.

Simple read..not hard to keep track of the characters since they were a little one-dimensional. If you have some time, and are looking for something easy to mentally digest...this is the book.

posted by Girlysailor on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing epic

    On July 4, 1950 in New Hampshire, Ruth Plank and Dana Dickerson are born at the same hospital. Ruth is the youngest of five sisters; whereas her father is a caring farmer who loves his girls including his "Hurricane baby"; her mother is distant. Dana wants stability as her parents drag her and her older brother Ray with them as they follow capricious dreams into one disaster after another. The families remain friends as once a year the Plank brood visits the wandering Dickerson clan regardless of where the latter resides for the moment. Artistic Ruth the romantic reunites with Ray in a haze of sex and drugs at Woodstock. Dana dreams of love with a woman as she becomes an agricultural student where she meets assistant Professor Clarice. As each woman settles into their career of an artist and a scientist, they dream of finding a loving mate and raising children, but also need to know the family link between their parents.

    This is an intriguing drama that sweeps through the decades as told by the rotating perspectives of the "Birth" sisters. The fully developed cast enhances the appealing story line that owned by Ruth and Dana as fans will be swept up in their tales and like them with a need to know what connects two families. Joyce Maynard provides a brilliant baby boomer historical saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Thoroughly Enjoyed this Book

    The book tells a tale that was pretty easy to figure out...and I found myself rushing to the end to see if it ended the way I thought it would. It did.

    Simple read..not hard to keep track of the characters since they were a little one-dimensional. If you have some time, and are looking for something easy to mentally digest...this is the book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Good Daughters - Perils of Husbandry

    The Good Daughters-Two sides of the same coin, or should I say strawberry plants? (Once you read the book, you'll know what I mean.)Through Joyce Maynard's insightful writing, I found the off-shoots, Dana and Ruth, to be not only good daughters, but also strong women, each with a powerful belief in herself that held true through times of duress as well as triumph. I would have welcomed both of them as my daughters and loved each girl expressly for the very uniqueness of her character and spirit.

    At times, I wanted to look directly into the faces of the girls' mothers, Connie and Val, and ask, "What the heck are your problems? Can't you like your daughters if they aren't the spitting image of you?" From the beginning, however, I admired and genuinely liked Connie's husband, Edwin Plank, the solid farmer, with his knack for plant propagation, for his seeming fair mindedness and acceptance that things were as they should be. But were they? Who was the elephant in the room that everyone stepped around for decades?

    Maynard portrayed in Plank an honorable and understanding personality, but I began to see, as the story unfurled, that something was amiss. This man, this father, carefully placed selected strawberry shoots, spacing them evenly around the mother plant, like rays of the sun, letting them take root for the next season. (But was he as careful with the women in his life?) This act may be best for raising strawberries to be their finest, but I came away believing mothers and daughters of the human variety need to settle into their own nests-leaving Edwin's husbandry for the cultivation of plants and livestock would have lessened the grief and confusion that dominated the lives of two families.

    Maynard does know how to tell a story depicting the human condition as few others. She makes you squirm a little, and think a lot, and, even though you may think you know exactly what's going on, you won't until she thinks it is time to let you know. This engaging tale will stay with you long after you have read the last sentence of The Good Daughters.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    I figure out what happened in the beginning of the story and I t

    I figure out what happened in the beginning of the story and I think the author wanted us to know. I liked the book and found that I couldn't put it down. I wanted to know how and why it happened. I was pleasantly surprised because it does have a little twist in end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Read

    Enjoyed this well written, itneresting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good read

    I read this after my mom recommended it. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Predictable ~ but captivating!

    Like other reviewers, I found that I had it "figured out" 1/2 way through the book, however, the "why" of the situation was why I kept reading - I really really wanted to know WHY and HOW it happened. While it wasn't the best book I've read this year, it was one that I couldn't put down and am still thinking about days later. Isn't that what an author wants their book to be? This was the first I've read by this author and I will add her others to my to read pile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    A Wonderful Story

    I greatly enjoyed this novel.. the story line kept me engaged and although it was heartbreaking it was also unique and lovely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    I loved this book!

    This is the first book that I've read by this author. The characters are compelling, the story line complicated and the ending perfect. I could not put it down until I finished it. A lovely, lovely read

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A Must Read!

    I have read other books by Joyce Maynard ... but I have to say this one was the BEST!!! I couldn't put this book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    One word can sum up how I feel about this book, WOW! Yes, the word has to be capitalized to get the point across. The Good Daughters should not be missed! If you are a woman, you will love this book. Joyce knows how to get a reader hooked for life. I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Forget the dishes......read this book!

    You'll get to know each member of two families. Their personalities, talents, hopes and dreams come through in as the plot unfolds. However, don't think you've figured the whole story out as there are some interesting twists and turns. It's a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Different

    I am not really sure if I liked this book. However, I read it to the end. It was different and somewhat interesting. Might be good for a book club.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable read

    I enjoyed this book, didn't love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    excellent

    truly a beautiful story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    regret

    i regret buying this book. just check it out from a library if it seems interesting to you. it was a less than great book. not extemely terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two heartfelt portrayals of the outsider that will be easily enjoyed - even by readers who aren't - and embraced by book clubs everywhere.

    A two-sided tale of girlhood that lurches clumsily into womanhood from the perspectives of oddly matched "birthday sisters." Two women born in a small town hospital on the same day, Dana and Ruth couldn't be more dissimilar.

    Wrapped in the Plank family's farm life, Ruth's life is driven by the seasons, dependable, regular. Taller and thinner with a strong artistic bend, Ruth struggles to fit in with her four practical sisters and gain the approval of her often-dour mother, Connie. The sunspot in her life is father Edwin, whose love of plant life is only overshadowed by his love for his girls. Connie often chastisement Ruth using Dana as a guidepost, hoping Ruth might better mirror her birthday sister. Edwin quietly buffers Ruth against Connie's aversion with his stolid support, ambling about the property with her in tow, spending time with her more than with his other daughters, encouraging her interest in art.

    Stuck in a life as predictable as a hailstorm, Dana organizes her family's bills, pays their rent and covers other practicalities that her parents don't seem to recognize as important. While her father, George, follows his next big idea down disappearing trailheads, awaiting paydays that never come. Dana's mother Valerie paints in her studio to the point of ignoring the rest of her life, existing rather vacantly on the outskirts of motherhood. Left on their own, Dana and her older brother Ray, a sensitive soul who excels at everything he tries, dream of leaving home.

    It's Connie Plank who names Ruth and Dana as "birthday sisters," insisting they maintain a close-knit relationship for that reason alone, despite their divergent interests. The Planks only vacation each year is a quick visit to the Dickerson home, wherever that might be, and in return the Dickersons visit the Plank family farm stand each summer, around the girls' July birthdays.

    Remarkably, it's on one of these farm visits that Edwin Plank takes an interest in Dana Dickerson as an unofficial understudy, sharing his farming know-how built up from six generations, which leads to Dana's burgeoning interest in farming herself, and, ultimately, connects her to Ruth in a way their shared birthday never did.

    A tender, compelling read, Maynard has interwoven the girls' stories beautifully. Two heartfelt portrayals of the outsider that will be easily enjoyed - even by readers who aren't - and embraced by book clubs everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    just OK, thought it was somewhat predictable and moved slow

    just OK, thought it was somewhat predictable and moved slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Another Great Book

    On a Joyce Maynard kick. If u like interesting characters with real life scenarios- put one of her books on ur to read list !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is my second Joyce Maynard book and she has become one of my favorite storytellers. Sometimes predictable, but always entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10