Customer Reviews for

Good Dog. Stay.

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To the Anonymous Poster of 2/18/09 Calling the Author's Dog "Ugly"

While I have not read this book as of yet (it was recommended from an animal rescue group I participate it and that's how I ended up at B&N), it disturbs me greatly that someone would actually post a review saying the book was "mostly pictures...and pictures of very ugl...
While I have not read this book as of yet (it was recommended from an animal rescue group I participate it and that's how I ended up at B&N), it disturbs me greatly that someone would actually post a review saying the book was "mostly pictures...and pictures of very ugly dogs".

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. To criticize someones literary material is one thing (lack of plot, not engaging, slow moving, boring characters, etc) but to criticize how their dog looks? That lacks class. It takes a special person to want to actually read a book devoted to the life of an animal, and since "Anonymous" read it, one would assume they like animals. Any true animal lover would not make negative or derogatory comments about the looks of someone's deceased dog! Think of how the author must feel reading that comment?

posted by Jackie-in-Wisconsin on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

HUGH RIP-OFF: DO NOT PURCHASE

I purchased this "book" and when I found it was 22 pages (minus credits, acknowledgments) I went back to find more information on the product details. Funny how they didn't specify the page numbers. This is a very short essay that should be free in the newspaper and I...
I purchased this "book" and when I found it was 22 pages (minus credits, acknowledgments) I went back to find more information on the product details. Funny how they didn't specify the page numbers. This is a very short essay that should be free in the newspaper and I feel that it was a fraud to list it as a book. Don't purchase!!!!!

posted by Trishacl on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    To the Anonymous Poster of 2/18/09 Calling the Author's Dog "Ugly"

    While I have not read this book as of yet (it was recommended from an animal rescue group I participate it and that's how I ended up at B&N), it disturbs me greatly that someone would actually post a review saying the book was "mostly pictures...and pictures of very ugly dogs".

    Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. To criticize someones literary material is one thing (lack of plot, not engaging, slow moving, boring characters, etc) but to criticize how their dog looks? That lacks class. It takes a special person to want to actually read a book devoted to the life of an animal, and since "Anonymous" read it, one would assume they like animals. Any true animal lover would not make negative or derogatory comments about the looks of someone's deceased dog! Think of how the author must feel reading that comment?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wonderful story

    I truly enjoyed this book! If you have raised a couple kids and a few dogs this book will speak to your heart! It's so interesting the way our lives are measured and told. This one is through the life a beloved family pet, the same way so many of us are!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    I had to buy it!

    I might not have purchased this book if I had known how short it was but I'm so glad I did. Actually, I had to. The picture on the cover could be a picture of my black lab who is just under 15 years old. Anna Quindlen's experiences and feelings are so much like my own, and she has a wonderful way of putting it into words.
    I'm sure I'll be reading this book again, and again, and again....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Good

    Short book but great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Heartwarming

    I read this book in about 45 minutes just before work one morning. I won't be the same for the rest of the day.I then read the reviews and was totally perplexed by the negative ones. I can understand if it was the writing itself that troubled you, but that is not the case here. Anyone who has a relationship with one or more dogs(I have 2 bassets and a beagle)and didn't find this simply the most touching, heathwarming and deeply affecting missive, then they don't have a relationship with one or more dogs. They simply own dogs and they are sad people who are missing so much, and, quite frankly, the dogs they own would probably be better off with someone who truly loves them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Wonderful little book

    The author is a gifted writer and she touched my heart with this fine little book. Let me add, for full disclosure, that I have a black Lab, blind like the one in the book, who is approaching 14 years old, so I've been thinking about how her life might end. Is this book deep and analytical? No. But it's a light and quick book to read, beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Fantastic

    This is the perfect book - about life, a beloved dog and what can be learned every day by those who love us as no one else can - our dogs. The pictures brought many smiles to my face and the ending, many tears. In fact, I am crying as I type this. It's about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Sometimes enough is enough ..

    For anyone who has had a dog ... you don't need a 5 inch think book to remind you what it felt like when your most unconditional friend was delighted you had returned home. The memories of relentless tennis ball catch, chasing squirrels for no good reason, and running in the back door just to be banished to the backyard - again. This quick read gets you back to those fond memories with another living creature ... fast. Well done. Tony Brown - author A Happy Guide to a Short Life - A Response to Ms Quindlen's Fine book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A must for dog lovers.

    Dog lovers will thoroughly enjoy this book. I liked that is was a quick short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1