Customer Reviews for

Good Eats: The Early Years

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    great buy

    This book is a great investment! If you love his show it contains the same humor and wit, and wonderful information with things he wasnt able to fit into the time slot of the show. Also if you are cook that is looking for tips on diff ways of cooking or substituting ingredients.. this book is great! he explains how each ingredient your using works ..so of course it makes it easier to sub ingredients for what you may have instead. its the greatest reference book I own.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Alton Brown!

    I bought this book sight-unseen because 1. I'm a huge fan of Alton Brown's series 'Good Eats', 2. I always learn something new no matter the subject he covers, and 3. I'm always wishing I had an exact memory for the finer details of shows I've already deleted. If you've never heard of Alton, I highly recommend checking out this book. If you're already a fan, you won't be disappointed... He delivers what you'd expect and more!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this book cover caught my eye because I recently started watching Alton Brown every night and wanted to have his recipes in a book instead of hurrying to try to write them down.

    I love this book and the recipes are to die for. I also loved this book because it is educational with regard to learning about food, how ingredients work together and the history of food. VERY interesting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Essential Alton Brown

    WoW! This book is just like the show, innovative, creative, informative. As a great fan of Alton Brown this is like the bible of Good Eats. The dust jacket is a Poster! I love this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Excellent

    Outstanding book wonderfully written and a fun read. Some of the wonderful recipees from the TV show that I have been looking for. Dont miss out on this one. Excellent for men

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    If you love the show you will Love this book!

    This is a very well written comprehensive cookbook. It has a format that follows the first episodes of the show and has an interesting variety of recipes and techniques. It is also humorous and has neat little insider anecdotes. The only downfall is the clunky size of the book, but I have a stand to hold my cookbooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alton at his best

    Alton presents the science behind the cooking. In this book he gives more detailed information about each recipe and its ingredients. There is also behind the scenes little known facts as to how the episodes were made. A really good read if you like the show and want more of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Extremely informative book!!

    This book is a great book full of yummy recipes!! It is really informative on how to use knowledgeble technique in order for your recipes to turn out successful. There are lots of kitchen secrets revealed in this wonderful book. You won't be dissapointed!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Buy this cookbook.

    Deceptively educational. Great either for a beginning cook or a seasoned cook who thinks they know everything. The humor keeps everyone humble!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A Great Read!

    I already own all of the Alton Brown cookbooks. I bought this one for my newly graduated daughter who has enjoyed my cookbooks as much as I have. Alton's approach to cooking is entertaining and practical, we enjoy the recipes as well as his script of history and trivia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Kitchen Bible

    The three books in The Good Eats series are, essentially, transcripts for Alton Brown's show, Good Eats - which I watched religiously. I refer to these three books as my "Kitchen Bible." I love how Brown explains the science behind the recipes - it gives me so much more control of my food when I know how and why it cooks/tastes/feels a certain way.

    My only wish is that I had ordered this on my Nook - I've found that ereaders are wonderful for collecting recipe books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Great book, MUST READ!

    This is a great book if your a chef or cook into all of the background information on food and recipes. I Love how this book is arranged, by episodes. This is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    A guide to the early episodes

    I love having the recipes, techniques and history that Alton Brown puts into every show in a written format. While not as funny as the show itself, it is just as informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average cookbook

    I actually sit down and read GE's like a novel. It only took a little while to get through the first half. It's a learning experience. It'll give you things to say AH about! And the recipes are good too...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must Own for any Good Eats Fan

    This book was fantastic. Great for recapping the first 6 seasons of the show with little behind the scenes tidbits thrown in. Doesn't include ALL the recipes shown in each episode but does have most of them, AND includes ones Alton would have liked to add if there was time. Very funny. I bought this for myself but it would also make a great gift for any food geek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Truly a funny book

    You can not put this book down, the recipes are entertaining and use full. A beautiful, knowledge driven book that Alton must be proud of for us to use. Funny bits of knowledge we can all read and put to work. A very good workhorse of cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Alton Brown's Good Eats The Early Years

    I gave this book as a Birthday present for a friend and we both have enjoyed it. Yes, so many of the recipes are the ones we have seen on the TV but just like Alton the book is also a HOOT!! His wonderful recipes accompanied by some background on the episode shoot is certainly entertaining. Especially the tomato garden one. I would recommend this book to all fans of Alton Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Mom

    My mom loved this book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3