Customer Reviews for

Good Enough

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    You should definitely read this book! Inlaid with a tremendous

    You should definitely read this book! Inlaid with a tremendous amount of violin (Patti is working on the famous Mendelssohn concerto) it also depicts her changing from a very rigid, uptight girl to a fun-loving and relaxed one. She learns to have fun and not take everything too seriously, as her parents had previously pressured and forced her into believing. Paula Yoon showed the struggle that many children face while trying to please their parents. Patti is also an exceptional violinist, and ends up deciding what is more important- violin or an Ivy League school. Her parents pressure her (she is Korean) in everything: grades, music, SAT, while setting strict rules about what she is allowed to do with friends (and her later crush.) In the end, she ends up sneaking out of her Korean church group lock-in to go to a concert with her crush, in which her parents later find out while coming to give her the great news that she had been accepted into all of the Ivy League schools. Also, she secretly applies to Juilliard, (her friend drives her; her parents are unaware of this process) and she does make it! The book ends where she is still undecided (it ends after her All-State concert) but she definitely realizing how much the violin actually means to her.

    -LB

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Funny- very good

    Definitely a good book about growing up and realizing the important things in life with a funny outlook on it all =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    TWICE!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book so much I reait twice. I love how it tells the story of a girl (Patti Yoon) stepping out of her comfort zone and trying something new.

    Do people actually read these reviews? And go by them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Loved it

    I can't relate to this book, but one of my friends can. This is a book about pressure, too much pressure from yoir parents. I think you'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Good Enough

    Really liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Loved this book

    I found this book sitting in my library at school on friday, read it sunday, and absolutelt loved it! this book is well writte, is realistic, and i can relate to it in so many ways. As a high school violinist attempting to get a 2300 on the SAT's and get into an Ivy league school, this teen novel hits close to home. I would definetely reccomend this to everyone and anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

    GOOD ENOUGH by Paula Yoo is the story of Patti Yoon, a Korean-American girl struggling to meet her strict parents' demands, and trying to find herself during her senior year of high school. A straight-A student, and master violinist, anyone would think that Patti has a bright future ahead of her. However, it is simply not good enough for her parents. She must get a 2300 or above on her SATs, participate in every church activity, and get into Harvard/Yale/Princeton. <BR/><BR/>However, this plan is put a little bit off track when Patti meets Ben Wheeler, a trumpet player in her state orchestra. Ben exposes her to new music, a new crush, and new dreams. Patti begins to wonder what life would be like without the perfect plan, without Harvard/Yale/Princeton, and with her love of music to guide her down the right path. <BR/><BR/>Will her passion for playing the violin trump all the demands her parents make of her? Will she turn out fine without attending the perfect college? <BR/><BR/>GOOD ENOUGH is a hysterical, wonderful book with a lovable main character and realistic situations. With chapter headings inspired by Spam and the SATs, teenagers will find it easy to relate to Patti as she sets off on a righteous path of self-discovery. One thing's for certain: GOOD ENOUGH is more than good enough. It's a fantastic, unique book that will keep you laughing long after your first read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    best book

    best book ever its good if you are korean than you'll understand what im talking about. i greatly encorage you to read it. round of applause to the great writer paula yoo!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    More than good enough!

    I bought this book just when it came out not knowing anything about it. When I got it, I started reading it right away. I finished it in one day. It's packed with jokes and humor, but also finds enough room to be serious. It's a very clever portrayal of an important message. Definitely the best young adult book I've read all year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    I REALLY liked this book!!!

    Good Enough was excellent! Patti learned to accept herself and her amazing music plus how to cope with her pressuring Korean parents. The violin on the cover caught me right away in the library... and I thought I'd pick it up because I haven't seen any young adult reads having to do with violin. The recipes, lists, and other weird stuff put into this book is what gives it so much charm. I felt like I knew Patti and exactly what she's going through even though my life is completely different. Go get this book, right NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Good Enough is better than Good Enough

    Patti Yoon is a Korean-American who does her absolute best in school, and is passionate about her 'hook' for college: violin. Patti's parents are very pressuring and annoying, trying to make Patti get perfect results on her SATs, get great grades in her AP classes, and basically acts like typical Korean Parents. But one day, Patti meets Cute Trumpet Guy, who takes her breath away and who takes up a lot of Patti's concentration and time. Even with everything going on around her, Patti still struggles about what to do for her future and what college to attend. To achieve happiness from all perspectives, Patti disobeys her parents, lies and does things she usually never does to fulfill her true desires and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Encouagement made fun!

    Don't be mislead into thinking this book is only for high school students. Everyone needs to feel 'good enough' and this book is a great way to give the reader an emotional boost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Good Enough by Paula Yoo

    Patti Yoon has been trying 110% all her life- in school, at the youth group, with the violin, and also generally avoiding boys (they will distract her from her studies, her parents say). Playing the violin though brings Patti into this new world, where pressure doesn't exist and it's just brilliant music. And after winning the title of assistant concertmaster instead of the actual concertmaster (which she has been for the past 3 years) as well as meeting Cute Trumpet Guy, it all sets off a chain of events that lead Patti into learning that she needs to think about what she wants rather than what other people want from her. In Paula's debut book for the YA audience, she writes extremely effectively about an overworked, pressured girl finding her way in the world. One of the things that really pulled me into the book was the whole music aspect- it was so prominent in this book, and I don't think I've seen any book that puts this much emphasis on it. It was great to read about Paula's passion, and it definitely came through as a big passion. Also adding to the story were occasional footnotes (which is one of my fave things to see in novels), Top 10 lists, and Korean recipes featuring Spam. The characters are all well-drawn and fun to read about, especially Patti, and make this book a real page-turner. This is one book you don't want to miss from an author I'm sure you'll be hearing more from in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1