Customer Reviews for

The Good Father

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Powerful!

Dr. Paul Allen is a Chief Rheumatologist , happily married to a second wife, with whom he has young twin sons. Then one day on TV, while he and his family are making pizza, a knock at the door comes and they learn that his son from his first marriage has assassinated t...
Dr. Paul Allen is a Chief Rheumatologist , happily married to a second wife, with whom he has young twin sons. Then one day on TV, while he and his family are making pizza, a knock at the door comes and they learn that his son from his first marriage has assassinated the leading contender for the Democratic Presidential candidacy. Then unfolds, from Allen’s perspective, the agony of the questioning parent, examining his life, his marriages, his motives, his desire to attempt to understand why, coupled with his inability to accept that the shooter was his son, or then, that his son was the ‘cause.’ I found this book astonishingly moving in the portrait of one man’s agony that it provided, as if it were non-fiction. Portrait, or window, is truly the term for it:
“I watched him walk away with a deep feeling of impotence. He was my son and I had lost control of him, if I’d ever really had it. I was a bystander now, an observer, watching his life from the sidelines.”
“There are things in this world that no human being should be able to endure. We should die of heartbreak, but we do not. Instead, we are forced to survive, to bear witness.”

posted by 10512904 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I come and shit all over you

Explosive dirreha

posted by 12415480 on August 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Harrowing Tale The Good Father by Noah Hawley is the haunting

    A Harrowing Tale

    The Good Father by Noah Hawley is the haunting tale of Dr. Paul Allen, a remarried father of young twins, who is struggling to come to grips with a single horrific act perpetrated by, Daniel, his son from his first marriage. After dropping out of college for a soul-searching life on the road, Daniel assumed a new identity and is arrested for assassinating a popular presidential candidate. Mostly narrated by Dr. Allen, there are parts that switch to Daniel’s point-of-view, giving the reader the full 3-D experience.




    Reading this book was a bit of a harrowing experience. What propels the book forward is Dr. Allen’s quest to understand his son’s actions. He is desperate to prove his son’s innocence while also trying to come to terms with what he has done. Was it the divorce that changed his sweet boy into a killer? Was it the cross-country flights between parents? Was it because he had remarried and started a new family? Did he pay his son enough attention? These are the questions Dr. Allen asks himself as the rest of the world vilifies his  son.




    What is difficult about this book is that it personifies the killer. In light of recent events in Aurora, CO; Newtown, CT; and California, this is a difficult pill to swallow and I know that a of of people will likely put off reading The Good Father because of it. But it is a very good book and it should be read because it’s main focus is the father. We oftentimes forget that violence affects the families of the guilty, and this is one of those rare books that delves into that unexplored side of tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Good book if you want to cry.

    This was a very well-written novel. So well-written, in fact, that you I really formed a connection with the main character by the end of the book. I sobbed at the end, and didn't feel happy for the rest of the night. This book is real. Even though it describes an extraordinary situation and event, it really leaves you sucked of emotion because of some of the very real themes. Life, death, love, aging. You name it. If you're looking for an emotional read, this is it. If you'd rather not cry, stay away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Doctor Paul Allen’s specialty is diagnosing patients with

    Doctor Paul Allen’s specialty is diagnosing patients with conflicting symptoms, patients other doctors have given up on. He is married, with two sons and has a son Daniel from a previous marriage. Things are going well in his life both at home and professionally. He doesn’t see Daniel as much as he would like, but Daniel is an adult, has always been a good kid and a decent student, but he is easily distracted, something inherited from his mother. He recently dropped out of college and it traveling around the states. Paul is worried about him but knows that Daniel will check in with him if he needs anything.

    Home relaxing with his family he is shocked when a televised news report announces that the Democratic candidate for president has been shot at a rally, and Daniel is caught on video as the assassin. There has to be a mistake, that can’t be Daniel.

    Dollycas’s Thoughts
    The book chronicles Paul’s journey to find the answers he needs to come to grips with what everyone is convinced his child has done. He researches other well known killers like John Hinkley and Sirhan Sirhan to try to get inside their heads and compare them to his son. Why did they do what they did? Could his son have been brainwashed or had a mental breakdown? He knows he wasn’t the best father but he was a “good father”. What did he do wrong to raise a son like Daniel? Did his son actually assassinate a man running to become President of the United States?

    This is a very gripping novel. It uses several real events to ground the story in reality. As a parent you understand the unconditional love that you feel for your children and understand Paul’s need to find the truth. His job is to explain the unexplainable and this drives him throughout the story.

    The author really had me with him in most places throughout the story but lost me at a couple of illogical turns. At times the writing felt forced but the subject matter was compelling enough to keep the story moving forward. A little more editing would have made this a great read. It is a very good read that I do recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1