Customer Reviews for

Good Girls Don't

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun romance read

    I had no idea how good this story was going to be. I loved the closeness of the family. The fact that no guy is good enough for their innocent little sister. The older brother, Eric, takes all the responsibility and runs the show since their parents passed away when they were younger. Jamie being the youngest is sort of a screw up and a ladies man. Then there is Tessa who is the glue, the one who does everything in her power to keep everything together and everyone happy. I just really loved their relationship. Like for instance, when Tessa leaves in the middle of the work day and claims she is going to the doctors, Eric asks "What's wrong?", to get them off her back she tells them that she is going to the gynecologist." Eric's face turns bright red and he steps back so fast that he pumps into the door jam. She tells them it is just a normal check up, that she isn't "engaged in anything". At that point both of her brothers back out of her office in horror.

    I also enjoyed that the story didn't just focus on Tessa and her brothers at the brewery but also on Luke and his job as a detective as well. I of course loved the interaction between Luke and Tessa as well. I really enjoyed the easy flow of their dialogue. Even though there might not have been a lot going on at the time, the way they interacted with each other keeps you entertained. Like when Luke and Tessa walk into the back of the brewery where the "brew master" Wallace is, to ask him if he recognizes the suspect in the photo. They notice that he is heading out the door with a "date" which just so happens to be another guy. After Wallace leaves Luke says "I had no idea Grizzly Adams was gay."
    Tessa- "He's not. Grizzly Adams is enthusiastically bisexual."
    Luke- "Oh. That's... Okay, let's stop calling him that. It's affecting my childhood memories. I loved that show."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Hot & Fun!

    A spicy beginning to an enjoyable series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good girls apparently do!

    Tessa Donovan shows up at the family brewery at the request of her youngest brother, Jamie, in response to a break-in at the business. She discovers he's spent the night with the daughter of Roland Kendall, the businessman with whom they are trying to finalize a big contract for the brewery...Roland saw Jamie leaving his daughter's place and the deal is now in jeopardy. Older brother Eric, who orchestrated the deal, already thinks Jamie is a screw up and this just might be the thing to sever their tenuous relationship permanently. Tessa decides to keep Eric in the dark about the turn of events until she has some time to salvage the deal. Meanwhile, Det. Luke Asher is assigned to the robbery of the Donovan Brothers Brewery. He and Jamie were in college together and share a history of good times. When he finally gets a good look at Tessa, he's more than interested and she isn't shy about taking up with him. Luke has his own baggage stemming from his partner's Simone's mysterious pregnancy and his divorce a few years ago. Needless to say, Eric and Jamie aren't happy with Tessa and Luke seeing each other. Tessa is a good girl...she will do just about anything to keep her family happy and present a positive, sunny attitude, to a fault. She has no problem scheming or lying when it's for a good purpose. Luke has a sensitive side, also to a fault. He's willing to be perceived in a bad light in order to protect those he cares about. The relationship between Tessa and Luke just sizzles off the page. There are some pretty steamy moments between the two and there is definitely a strong connection. This is one of the strengths of the book, in addition to Dahl's fast-paced storytelling and quick-witted dialogue. Their relationship is also one of the weaknesses. Things progress very fast physically with not so much time devoted to really getting to know each other. But, even that adds a nice tension as this catches up with them later in the story. Most of the characters are very likable and have just enough flaws to make them realistic and evoke some sympathy at times. Tessa's lying can be exasperating but you know this shortcoming is driven from somewhere deep within and you're willing to go along for the ride to figure this woman out. She's got too much going for her to behave as she does. Luke is extremely appealing, though he suffers a little too much from the need to rescue the women around him. Eric needs a life and Jamie needs to grow up. Victoria Dahl is a new writer for me and one that I want to continue following. The dialogue is crisp, witty and snappy and the story never drags. She doesn't get bogged down with the secondary storylines and they are a compliment to the main plot. And, Dahl knows how to write extremely funny scenes, the belly-laughing kind of moments. This book kept my interest and I was given enough information to deduce the resolution to some of the mysteries. I was rooting for the romance, even when Tessa wasn't looking so great. I liked that she wasn't always the perfect heroine. The book doesn't end with everything neatly wrapped but concluding sufficiently where needed. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series. An ARC was provided to me by NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed the book and can't what for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommend!!

    This was my first time reading this author..I really enjoyed this book. I love when books are about families that we can continue to follow. This book was funny , warmhearted and sexy!! I am looking forward to reading the next two books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    a good fun read

    loved this book! If you're looking for a lighter read, with hunky characters and steamy romance, this is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Cute fun read

    With all of the drama all around them, I wasn't sure there would be a HEA. The book wasn't what I thought it would be. There was a ton of family drama on Tessa's side, but when the chips were really down, she had a strong support system, those brothers would do anything for her. One scene closer to the end where Tessa is crying in Eric's arms, literally brought tears to my eyes. I thought the "if Eric finds out he will flip" was a little over played. As for Luke, he was the kind of guy that you could bring home to mom, if you had a truck to carry all his baggage. The chemistry between Tessa and Luke was great and their banter was funny and sexy at times. I enjoyed reading the book, and each time I put it down, I would wonder what the heck she would think of next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Phi It is pretty good.

    It was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3