Customer Reviews for

The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    So many Christophers!

    This was a fun, quick read about a pig who, though no more intelligent or special or loveable than any other pig, reached out and touched so many people. Now, if only all these people could make the connection between this sweet, funny pig and the sweet, funny pig on their plate!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    So much fun!

    I'm currently half-way through this book, which is so humorous. The antics and adventures of Christopher the pig are a hoot (especially the mention of him following people around until they give up their beer!). As a vegetarian, I couldn't fathom eating bacon EVER, but for those who are not, you may very well become one after reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    One of the Few Books to Make Me Cry!

    I started reading it during a three hour flight. My husband glanced at me once and I had tears streaming down my face. When we reached our destination, I finished it the same day. I haven't eaten pork since! What a life you had, Chris, and so many lives that you touched.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This delightful writer touches the hearts of animal lovers.

    This was a sweet, delightful book. The author, Sy Montgomery, has a way with words that make you feel like a part of her family. She has the ability to make you feel like the pig is your friend and the friend of anyone that comes to visit. She opens your eyes to the affects the pig has on people in the small town and around the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    The Good Good Pig by Sy Montgomery

    Hysterical, serious, touching. This book contains not only the story of the pig, but a good bit of fascinating autobiography. There is a a group study at the back. Could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    This book isn't about just a pig.....

    This is a touching and heartwarming story. You will feel a whole range of emotion while reading this. Animals are sometimes dismissed as stupid, useless etc. But, they have so much to teach us, if we would just listen. This book helped me to listen more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Good Good Book

    Anybody who is an animal lover will enjoy this. I laughed and cried. Highly reccomended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Swine and Roses

    This book is 'pigtasic'. I loved it from beginning to end. My only wish is that I could have lived next to Sy and Howard and their 'family.' Christopher Hogwood has touched the lives of many through the wonderful writing of this memoir. Comedy, drama, small town life is all intertwined to deliver a truly heartwarming and heartbreaking book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    An excellent book!

    I loved this book and plan on bringing it to my next bookgroup meeting. Once I started it~ I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Brilliantly touching

    This was the most touching book I have read in a LONG time. VERY 'easy' read, mostly because you can't put it down because you are not wanting your time with Christopher Hogwood to end! The way Sy writes, you feel like you are living what she lived. I could smell the smells, hear the sounds, and almost feel Christophers wirey hair and twitchy wet nose disc. I was captivated by Christopher and Tess and 'The Ladies' (their hens) and ALL the people too, for that matter. What a most intimate tale to share, and I thank Sy Montgomory for doing so. My body shook with sobs when Chris died, and I mourned right along with all those who loved him. I never thought I'd fall in love with a pig, but through this book, I definitely did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Gret Great Book

    Sy Montgomery is a true animal lover and a very talented writer. For those of us who have four legged family members - this book was a true pleasure to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    A great read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the beginning till the end. It made me both laugh and cry and I, in turn could not put this book down. A very good read for animal lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Heart warming animal story and So Much More

    Refreshing! Christopher Hogwood, Tess, the 'Ladies' and of course Ty and Howard convince me that my personal communication with the pets and various creatures in my own world is not figment of the imagination. This 'ideal' community affirms my faith that there is a 'real' community, such a I long to find not just a 'grass is greener' dream. If all of us could experience the peace, values, and community responsibility: wars, prejudice and disdain of individaulity could become a concept of the past. I loved this book! Today, I do believe a better world is possible. Thank you Sy, Howard and this wonderful community of neighbors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    So sweet

    Heart warming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent Read

    This is well written and lovely story. Prepare to shed a few tears if you are an animal lover. Good Good Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great book. Great feel good story.

    Great book. Great feel good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    wonderful, TRUE story

    For fans of we bought a zoo .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great book for any animal lover

    I got this book not knowing anything about it other then it had a pig in it. I laughed and cried as this runt pig captivated me through memorable moments of his life. The love, friendship, and the joy that this tiny pig brought to humans. I have reccomended this book to many animal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    Remarkable Story

    Sy Montgomery and her husband Howard along with every person who happens to meet their extraordinary pig Chris experience a source of healing that is attached to the odd things seen in the behavior of the pig. Montgomery uses the comical adventures of her pig and his interaction with everyone she meets to tell a story of healing that she experiences through the "help" of her pig. It's extrodinary how the pig seems to always know just the right thing to do and how the love of the people around him and their taking care of him even through his many troubles and hardships. The funny stories of Chris' escapes and his love for beer make it a funny and entertaining read. Overall it's an interesting read and mostly stays on subject with the star Chris the pig but as soon as Sy steers off course and stops talking about the pig or the life lessons learned from the pig it becomes slightly less interesting and heads toward being overly sentimental.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Good Good Story!

    Sy Montgomery knows her subjects! The story is bright and original and not at all what I was expecting. I became quite attached to Christopher. And learned a thing or two in the process! I can't get him out of my head. This story touches you on several levels and the twists and turns will have you coming back to it again and again in your memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2