Customer Reviews for

Good Grief

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    A classic, Sophie's story!

    The novel Good Grief is all about Sophie Stanton who became a widow after her husband Ethan to cancer. She has to deal with the loss and cope with all the grief it brings her. After being in denial for a few months , she decides that she needs to pull things together and have a fresh start. Sophie sells her house and packs up her stuff to move in with her friend Ruth. Along with moving comes a great deal of other events and life changing experiences. Sophie starts her own business, meets a man that she just might love, and makes a new best friend. All these things in her life bring her stress at times but helps make her stronger and realize that she must keep going on even after Ethan's death. Although he will forever be in her heart and the back of her mind. Its all about the ups and down in life and the struggles one may have to go through. A theme being grief, and happiness. I liked how the story was played out with all the different events you wouldn't expect, it was touching. I thought it was sad that a great amount of the stories Sophie told about Ethan were how he was so sick. I would recommend this book to others because it has a good message and may actually relate to other peoples lives. Overall it was a good book and I enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    A good story-

    I liked this story, it was a good book. Not the best but also not the worst. If you need a quick read, this is good for that. This is the story of Sophie who loses her husband to cancer. She is a young woman without children (thank goodness). She now has to re-invent her life. It is a fun and funny story that is heartwarming and heartbreaking. If you are having a hard time, read this story. You will love Sophie. This is a good book, you will enjoy it. A quick read that you will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Good Grief, it's hilarious!

    A great book about a recently widowed, young, woman who needs a fresh start with her life, and along the way finds friends who can do just that. The stages of grief that she goes through are real, and some just make you laugh, some just make you cry. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great book for a hard subject

    I had been having a cruddy day and I needed a pick me up. I ran across this book at the store. The best book I have read in a long time. I am a widow and never thought I would laugh with a "Widow book". I highly recommend it for everyone, especially widows who are a few years out.
    My only negative thing about the book I thought the ending was cruddy. BUT the rest of the book was so great that it didn't matter!
    Enjoy the read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    What a Read!

    This is one of the most delightful books in years. It is funny, sad, outrageous, hilarious and unforgetable. It is the way she handles grief that sticks in your heart and mind. A great read and a great writer. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Starry ✧ Night

    No offense, love, but it doesn't take a full month to figure out how to not godmod. Change those months to weeks, and get an actual pro-roleplayer to write the courses for you. It concerned me that you wrote you were semi-advanced publicly. Hodpitals don't allow semi-advanced doctors perform surgeries.<p>Don't bake a cake if you don't have the eggs, basically. You might be proud that, 'Hey, l know some stuff. I can share it with other people'. That's perfectly fine. Make a page of some of your tips, just don't make a school unless ypu know every nook and cranny of what you are going to do; because this usually results in it not working out. Taking a whole, entire month for one topic will tire many people. Let's face it; unless you do one course a week, you'll run out of ideas on how to improvise.<p>Here's a tip MagiKKal missed: ALWAYS spell-check. Once you are done typing, scroll all the way up and review your writing. Take time to correct punctuation, spelling, and grammar. Be realistic. If you have second thoughts over something, make it better or fix it.<p>&#10023 Roar like a lion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    MagiKKal here, with some roleplaying tips

    1. Use proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling at all times. Text talk is not cool when you're roleplaying. I myself do not know half of it. <p>

    2. Make long, detakled posts. This prevents the roleplay from turning into a chat room. Give the feelings of the character! Show their reactions, their thoughts, the general aura that they're giving off. If they're angry, they won't be talking with no tone of voice. Rather, they'll sound more concentrated or like they're kicking up a storm. <p>

    3. Try to relate things to your life. If it actually happened, it's realistic. However, you can change things. For instance, I was once having a long-term argument with a classmate. It went a bit far, but if I tell you the whole story I'll start crying because it brings back bad memories. (Oh, come on. Hold yourself together, KK. [I kinda started crying anyway.]) Anyway, in a Hogwarts rp I made it so that my American character was bullied a lot, making her insecure and resulting in being transferred to Hogwarts from an American school. <p>

    4. Let the other roleplayers react. In a fight, this is VERY important. Givethem a chance for defense or to say something in return to your comment, the continue. Most of your post will not be dialogue usless your character is reciting a monologue or something similar. <p>

    5. Don't be a jerk when conversing with others in OOC. Stay out of other people's business and try not to argue too much. <p>Those are just a few tricks that I learned on WCRPG. It takes a bit longer on Nook, but it'll be worth it, trust me. When you write stories, looking back at roleplays can give you some great ideas. After all, roleplay is pretty much writing a story with multiple people without any one person controlling what happens. <p>Thank you!<p>~MagiKKal &starf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    WELCOME TO THE SCHOOL OF RP EDUCATION

    Since this isn't really an rp, the only things here are what you need to know! <p> This is an introduction/refresher to RP for noobs, beginners, godmodders, powerplayers, and people whouit and have come back! We explain everything that you should and shouldn't do. <p> Next result is the school. <p> For the first month, we will go over impostering. <br> The next month, godmodding and powerplaying. <br> Then, what makes you a noob. <br> We will then explain about drama and how not to be a chaos causer. <br> After that, we will teach you how to make great characters. <br> Finally, we will go over rulebreakers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Rose

    "Something.."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Nicholle

    "Oh ok.I have to go to Transfiguration I will see you later!"smiles while waving goodbye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Headmaster quarters

    Hogwarts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Kristy

    Absolutely loved this book! Very relatable! Looking for a sequel ..... to follow Sophie and Crystal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Great summer read. This story brings you along the path of recovery after the loss of a loved one. It is also a journey of self-discovery and new beginnings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Reading it!

    I love this book! Highly reccommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED LOVED THIS BOOK!!

    this book made me laugh and cry...it was a wonderful story that draws you in and you never wanna leave...great great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Loved it

    Recommended highly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    really was a GREAT book; highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    A winsome look at loss

    What a lovely book! Not only is Lolly Winston a brilliant wordsmith, but she's also captured the reality of grief with enough humor to keep the reader from despair.

    This book is filled with vibrant characters, an engaging plot and enough hope to get its readers through whatever life throws at them. There's wry humor, genuine romance, a gritty main character, quirky sub-characters, fun locations and a bakery scene that is movie-ready.

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a simple read written with deep complexity and thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Not what I expected

    It starts out with funny quips and so you think you are going into a light hearted book about grief. You are not, it's one more book about faith and God and all the things that as a new widow I don't care about. For me the old adage of "If there's a God, why did he do this", "if Faith can move mountains,why did my faith disappear? I realize it could not have been that strong (according to some) but I did believe in God and the church and all of that until the love of my life was gone in a flash. I really did look to this book as being uplifting and light and funny...............it's not. It's just another one of the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7