BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Good Guy

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A fair outing but not his best

In my opinion, Dean Koontz is usually at his best when writing in a realistic vein. This novel has none of the other-worldly overtones or supernatural elements so prominent in much of his work. This is a straight-up thriller. Dean gives us a quirky serial killer, a Hitc...
In my opinion, Dean Koontz is usually at his best when writing in a realistic vein. This novel has none of the other-worldly overtones or supernatural elements so prominent in much of his work. This is a straight-up thriller. Dean gives us a quirky serial killer, a Hitchcockian premise, a nail-biting chase, some witty (but cliched) dialogue, and a bit of preaching (his libertarian political views are clearly on display). The story is, however, somewhat predictable and is very similar in its themes and plot to other recent Koontz novels (Velocity and The Husband come to mind). For a light and breezy way to pass a summer day, it's worth checking out.

posted by 227800 on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not His Finest

Usually I'm intrigued by the characters and their thrilling journey. This, however, was slightly disappointing. Although the male lead character was engaging, the female lead was not as engaging and at times irritated me. I was unable to connect with her and sometimes w...
Usually I'm intrigued by the characters and their thrilling journey. This, however, was slightly disappointing. Although the male lead character was engaging, the female lead was not as engaging and at times irritated me. I was unable to connect with her and sometimes wished the killer-for-hire would just get her already. He definitely has better books to represent him.

posted by TulaneGirl on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    A fair outing but not his best

    In my opinion, Dean Koontz is usually at his best when writing in a realistic vein. This novel has none of the other-worldly overtones or supernatural elements so prominent in much of his work. This is a straight-up thriller. Dean gives us a quirky serial killer, a Hitchcockian premise, a nail-biting chase, some witty (but cliched) dialogue, and a bit of preaching (his libertarian political views are clearly on display). The story is, however, somewhat predictable and is very similar in its themes and plot to other recent Koontz novels (Velocity and The Husband come to mind). For a light and breezy way to pass a summer day, it's worth checking out.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not His Finest

    Usually I'm intrigued by the characters and their thrilling journey. This, however, was slightly disappointing. Although the male lead character was engaging, the female lead was not as engaging and at times irritated me. I was unable to connect with her and sometimes wished the killer-for-hire would just get her already. He definitely has better books to represent him.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Disappointing for Koontz

    As a Koontz fan, I found this to be a disappointing read. It was very predictable and the end made me wonder if he was close to a publisher's deadline and wrapped up in a hurry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I have to say that I enjoyed THE GOOD GUY a whole lot more than THE HUSBAND, which I didn't even finish. Although there's no paranormal elements to this book, like my favorite Koontz books have, this is a pretty good thriller. <BR/><BR/>Tim Carrier is the quiet, stay-out-of-the-way-and-disappear-into-the-shadows type of guy. That seems to be working fine, until a customer walks into the bar where Tim's at and mistakes him for a hired killer. Before he can rectify the mistake, another man enters, and it doesn't take Tim long to figure out that THIS man is the REAL killer. It also becomes quite clear that offering the hit man money to not kill anyone isn't going to work. <BR/><BR/>What follows is Tim doing what Tim does best -- taking on the problems of others as if it were his mission. As the humble mason tracks down Linda, the woman the hit man was going to be hired to kill, the story turns into a book version of the TV show "24." <BR/><BR/>There's action-adventure here, and well-drawn characters (the villain, by far, is the most interesting character in the book), and a plausible story line. I really enjoyed THE GOOD GUY!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    dragged out

    I usually enjoy Kean Koontz books, but The Good Guy was very dragged out and did not keep my interest. I got bored with it and only read half the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Didn't even finish the book

    I should have known not to read this book. Koontz writes best when he writes sci-fi. And I LOVE the Odd Thomas character. And I love dry humor but not in more than one character. This book may be suspenseful but I quit reading after a few chapters. If I buy Koontz, it's to read believable sci-fi with great characters. Gone are the good 'ol days apparently. Sorry Dean

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Thumbs Down

    The Dean Koontz formula was too clearly recognizeable in this story. The story line lacked originality and at times unrealistic. It the main character can climb a Joseph's Coat Rose, he's made of steel. 'Not Realistic' The protagonist's deep dark secret that was hinted at throughout the story was not what I might think of as something to hide. The ending was rushed and not very realistic.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had hoped for more, but like Stephen King, Koontz's vintage work just isn't there any more. The characters were very shallow and underdeveloped. The big secret that was so elusive was really nothing that interesting. It was just a giant chase scene with a very quick, undramatic ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Whatever...

    This is just one long chase scene, and there are no clues as to why that would keep you interested. The whole story is just ridiculous and the ending a farce.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    Reminded me of tick tock by Koontz

    thought it was OKAY. I really like the killers character. Would have like to see more of him. Thought the ending was way over the top. Loads of annoying charactors. Finished it because I started it. Not one of his best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Below Par

    Usually love his books, but this one was a real disappointment. Never made me like the characters and was totally clueless when it comes to describing how a woman thinks. Read half of it and was relieved to put it down. Hope he gets back to his old self because I wouldn't read anything else like this. Bring back Christopher Snow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    After work mason Tim Carrier drinks beer at his friend Liam Rooney¿s bar, Lamplighter Tavern. Tim prefers routines so although Liam wants to set him up with his wife¿s cousin, he makes it clear that he prefers being alone or perhaps having his testicles cut off instead. However, he also enjoys quiet conversation so when the stranger with the manila envelop sat next to him, he thought this might prove an interesting discussion as the man with a beer seems like a fellow ¿wet nurse¿ nursing a drink or two for the night. --- The stranger tells Tim his stomach is in knots just like skydiving for the first time. He then gives Tim the envelop stating 'Half of it's here. Ten thousand. The rest when she's gone.' Not sure where the man is going, Tim pretends to listen until the stranger abruptly leaves. Stunned Tim opens up the envelop to learn the target is writer Linda Paquette of Laguna Beach when a second stranger sits down and says to Tim ¿you¿re early¿. For not heeding mom¿s advice of never talk to strangers, Tim finds himself as target number two from an invincible killer with government connections. As the targeted pair meet and flee together, they struggle to learn why even as the hit man keeps coming. --- No writer today takes an everyman and places them in scenarios where they die or adapt better than Dean Koontz consistently does. His latest thriller hooks the audience from the moment Tim meets the two strangers and never lets go as Tim and Linda struggle to elude a killer out of the Energizer Bunny mold. Suspense fans will want to read Mr. Koontz's action-packed thriller starring two sly everyday people and a cold blooded terminator. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Haven't we seen this before?

    As much as I love Dean Koontz, a story of an ordinary guy dodging a psycho-killer backed by the government is territory he's covered before. Let's hope it doesn't disappoint,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    I couldn't even finish reading this

    Disappointing, boring, characters I couldn't even care about. Yes, we have seen this story before, and it's been done too many times. Let's get back to some original story lines from Koontz.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I loved this book - It needs to be on your list of next things to read...

    Dean Koontz is known for really frightening, scary stories fill with all manner of supernatural ugly things - that are always vanquished to happy endings. This is a Koontz book with no supernatural scaries at all - It's a wonderful mystery, with plot turns and a lot of action. The mystery is defined in the first few paragraphs and as usual, Koontz develops his characters in a way that makes you really know - and care about - them. I always read whatever Dean Koontz writes and my sister, who does NOT like ghosts/aliens/supernatural beings - told me that she really liked this book (I gave it to her for Christmas).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nope, not for me

    It took Koontz almost ten chapters to really get into an interesting plot, and by that time I couldn't take it anymore. I put it down. Unbelievably boring and the characters were irritating. The dialogue sounded fake/forced, like a made-for-TV movie with C actors. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Great Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I liked the characters, and I liked the plot. I highly recommend it.<BR/><BR/>I also recommend: Bliss to You, Watchers, Lightning, Midnight and Darkfall. Actually, I recommend almost every book written by Dean Koontz.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    did he just write it to write it?

    i was unimpressed. bored. it took over a week to read. i usually finish a koontz novel in two or three days. i wanted to throw it away b/c it just didn't do anything for me. it was like the husband and velocity, both of which were pretty decent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    A Thriller Clinic

    ¿Good Guy¿ Tim Carrier, a mason by trade with a body 'and head' like John Wayne, finds his low-key lifestyle interrupted by a bizarre barroom encounter, during which he¿s handed an envelope full of money and kill instructions intended for a contract killer. Forced to make the first of what will be many quick life-or-death decisions, Tim removes the target¿s photograph and address from the envelope and attempts to call off the kill minutes later, when the real assassin arrives at the bar, by posing as the buyer and offering up the $10,000 as a no-kill fee in consideration for his change of heart. As Tim suspects, however, this ruse buys him only limited time, which he uses to alert the intended victim, the physically lovely but psychologically fractured Linda Paquette, of the murder plot. In short, an opening hook that I found every bit as irresistable as the one that kicked of last year¿s ¿The Husband.¿ What ensues is a classic cat-and-mouse thriller, in which Tim and Linda must draw upon all of their physical and mental reserves to stay a step ahead of an assassin for whom the term psychopath doesn¿t begin to do justice. What¿s worse, he seems to, almost magically anticipate Tim and Linda¿s every move, giving the impression that he¿s acting under the direction of a group with law enforcement connections and daunting technological capabilities. As always, Dean Koontz finds clever ways to build suspense, telling the story from several points of view and propelling the story line forward in bite-sized chapters that could easily be visualized as scenes in a blockbuster movie. Here Koontz uses another interesting technique to build suspense that I found particularly effective. While we gradually learn, through Tim¿s incredible skill in evading the killer and his unflappable grace under pressure, that he must harbor a past profession in which he cut things other than stone, Koontz withholds this secret from the reader until the final pages of the book. He does the same with Linda and her past, contributing not only to the suspense but also to the extended first-date-type-thrill of romance that blossoms amidst the carnage. Other than one creaky floorboard in the plot structure 'the explanation behind the contract on Linda¿s life', ¿The Good Guy¿ is, cover to cover, one of the finest thrillers I¿ve ever read. Some professional critics have faulted the ending, something that Koontz has struggled with in some of his books, but I thought he nailed this one perfectly. In Tim Carrier, he has also created a humble hero for our times and seemingly left open the possibility for a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Good Guy by Dean Koontz is about a serial killer who has met

    The Good Guy by Dean Koontz is about a serial killer who has met his match.
     
    Timothy Carrier is an unassuming man minding his own business when he is approached by a stranger who thinks he is someone else. Before he knows it he has been hired to kill the lovely Linda Paquette. This is a most fortunate circumstance for her because he is the Good Guy. He sets out to find her and help her. Linda is a unique person, a book writer, and doesn’t have any enemies. The real killer finds out the Tim has inserted himself into the situation and the chase is on. Tim and Linda keep one step ahead of the killer for most of the story. As they keep running and hiding they start learning about each other and like what they learn. We learn a lot about the killer, also.

    While seeming to be lazy and flowing, the story actually moves along quite swiftly. I love the dialogue between Tim and Linda. And they aren’t alone in their peril. Tim has a friend who can help them and he fits right into the flow of the story. I recommend this book. It will be a satisfying read especially for those who like suspense and serial killer stories.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10