Customer Reviews for

A Good Horse

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book is 175

This book is 175 pages long:) i loved it and cldnt put it down

posted by 10515813 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Kids Review - I Love Horses - Pretty Good Book

I live on a ranch in Texas and love to read books about horses. I know how hard it is to have to sell a horse that becomes a great friend for what ever reason. In this book, Black George is a really cool horse that has awesome jumping ability. This story is a lot like o...
I live on a ranch in Texas and love to read books about horses. I know how hard it is to have to sell a horse that becomes a great friend for what ever reason. In this book, Black George is a really cool horse that has awesome jumping ability. This story is a lot like others I have read where the daughter is in a big shot horse show to make more big money people want to pay high dollar for the horse that her dad wants to sell. Of course she doesn't ever want to sell Black George. There is the struggle of wanting the best for the horse; but, not wanting the horse to look to good. Then there is a problem with another horse on the ranch, Pearl. Turns out this is a suspected stolen horse from a big ranch in Texas. It is a cool story. You will love Abby and it has some mystery with the stolen horse case. It is an easy read and moves good. Sarah (Tex's friend)

posted by TexRogers on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kids Review - I Love Horses - Pretty Good Book

    I live on a ranch in Texas and love to read books about horses. I know how hard it is to have to sell a horse that becomes a great friend for what ever reason. In this book, Black George is a really cool horse that has awesome jumping ability. This story is a lot like others I have read where the daughter is in a big shot horse show to make more big money people want to pay high dollar for the horse that her dad wants to sell. Of course she doesn't ever want to sell Black George. There is the struggle of wanting the best for the horse; but, not wanting the horse to look to good. Then there is a problem with another horse on the ranch, Pearl. Turns out this is a suspected stolen horse from a big ranch in Texas. It is a cool story. You will love Abby and it has some mystery with the stolen horse case. It is an easy read and moves good. Sarah (Tex's friend)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    This book is 175

    This book is 175 pages long:) i loved it and cldnt put it down

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    The Love Between a Girl and Her Horse

    Good Horse by Jane Smiley is a must read. Jane Smiley is a fantastic writer she is a very good describer but knows when to stop. Abby Levitt lives on a ranch with her mom and dad she had a brother but he left the family about a year or two ago. She owns a foal named Jack and loves Black George. Mark Levitt is Abby¿s dad he is very strict and caring. Then there is Mrs. Levitt, Abby¿s mom she is very religious and almost wouldn¿t let Abby ride in the show, but she changed her mind. Sophia is a rider at the barn Abby trains at and she buys Black George. Jim Jarrow teaches Abbey how to train Jack to learn to behave.
    Abby Levitt lives on a Ranch she loves waking up to the rolling hills of her ranch and the sounds of the horses in the pasture. She is in seventh grade she has many ups and down at home, she writes a play and performs it and eats food she has never eaten before. She has a foal named jack. Rides black George and wins! It all started when she got a letter that said Jacks mom Alabama Lady was stolen property and you bought her. They want her back but she died. They realize that Jack was her son and she was bred with a very important racehorse. The people who wrote the letters come and try to take Jack away, but do they? When Sophie first got on Black George for the first time she fell in love, they bought him for a very big amount of money. So the Levitt¿s couldn¿t refuse. At first Abby was sad than she realized that he was going to a good home.
    Over all I give this book four out of five stars. I give this book four stars because it is a little confusing in the very beginning but then it starts to make sense soon. This book is very good and interesting. It has a very good plot and Abby has many ups and downs but she over comes them all. To like the book you have to be interested in horses or at least want to learn about them. The book is part of a sequel the first book is The Georges and the Jewels, and this is the second book in the series.
    Abby Levitt is a seventh grader who has many ups and downs. She loses some horses and wins some. She wins many shows with Black George. She learns she has a fear of something she has already done and she has done more and higher. She has experienced many things in her life that will create many emotions. She will laugh, cry, go to church, ride some horses, and just anything she can do to get her mind of things. Even though she doesn¿t want Jack to leave she is very supportive of her family and her friends. She is a very strong and passionate person. She loves all horses but is very responsible when she has to sell them.
    My final review for this book is very good. It is very descriptive and realistic. This book is a great book for any horse lover to read. I think this book is one of the best books I have ever read. I will definitely read more by Jane Smiley.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Awsome

    I read the sample and i couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Omg one of the best books i read!!!!!:)

    I have a paper copy of this. This is a great book for ages (7-12) who loves horses. I have horsrs and this is a heart touching book and btw im only 12!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Pretty good

    I judt started the sample and so far so good :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good book!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Not my favorite

    I thought that this book was really borung so i read 175pages

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Question

    How come they never tell you how many pages long a book is? I keep buying books but they are almost always short stories then I have to delete them when I am finished with them. But this book doesnt sound bad nor does it sound like a short story. I will more than likely end up bying this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Love it!!!!!

    I have read this book before and i cried my heart out at one point!!!!!!! I totally recommend it im putting this on my wish list!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    interesting horse book

    gets confuzing towards the end!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Pretty good

    I like the discriptive words and i like watching porn!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Asome

    VERY GOOD BOOK !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Hate it could not read it if making out having sex with boyfriend

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good

    I read macbeth last month n im in 7th grade so... nyway good book but only if u ride n understand horses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Sad!

    Why does Sophia have to end up with Black George?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Chosen by a horse

    Omg every one has to read this book because its so tuching and it really tuched my heart and well its about how this one girl has a horse and she has lived on that land her whole live and well she gets this one jorse and it almost dies but i cant tell u if she did but if u want to know u have to read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Loved it!!

    I totally loved this story, although hard to follow in one part. But other wise I loved this book so much that I couldn't put it down!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!! LOVE THIS BOOK!

    this was a great book and i totaly recomend it to anyone who loves horses and animals! i loved this book! i also recomend the canterwood crest series they are also really really good! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    I have a qustion

    Is it the same people in it or is it different?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4