Customer Reviews for

The Good Housekeeping Cookbook: 1,039 Recipes from America's Favorite Test Kitchen (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1895 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(866)

4 Star

(232)

3 Star

(241)

2 Star

(204)

1 Star

(352)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

368 out of 479 people found this review helpful.

Some complaints resolved. Great cookbook with videos and links!!

I have the enhanced version with video and this is a great cookbook so far. I was looking at the reviews to see if anyone knew how to easily find the pages that have videos but instead found lots of complaints and thought I'd help with those. A. The sample book that can...
I have the enhanced version with video and this is a great cookbook so far. I was looking at the reviews to see if anyone knew how to easily find the pages that have videos but instead found lots of complaints and thought I'd help with those. A. The sample book that cannot be removed from your nook is a glitch and from what I've read, will be addressed in the next software update. For now, I think you can hide it on a separate bookshelf or just enjoy it for what it is -- you might actually want to make those chocolate curls one day. B. If you actually purchased the cookbook and did not get the enhanced version with video, contact BN. They will refund your nook purchase and you can repurchase the correct version. I know because this happened to me. The enhanced version has the videos and internet links and costs $4 more. I went online and contacted them via the nook chat and the problem was easily corrected. Beware: Even though the sample has video, if you purchase from the sample, it links you to the cheaper version which is not enhanced (again, that's what happened to me). You must be sure to purchase the enhanced version if that's what you want.

posted by MomNJ on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

69 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

B&N should offer a third option...

This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find o...
This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find out that not only did my version lack video, but that up until version 1.2 was released, the nook was not capable of playing an embedded video in an ebook as shown in their tutorial videos. I'm fine with paying an extra few dollars for the difference between the "enhanced" version and my "basic" one, (though I think B&N should have made it clear that the first version did not include video at all), but I am NOT going to shell out an extra $20+ for something that I thought I was getting the first time. It looks like I have about 4 other titles in my library that are now available in an enhanced version too. I get that B&N wants to make money off of me, but I don't think that pricing ebooks in this way is going to help build or keep customers around the nook platform when there are clearly other options out there, and after trying to get customer service to see things from my point of view it appears that is an exercise in futility.

posted by r1ck on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1895 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 95
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Some complaints resolved. Great cookbook with videos and links!!

    I have the enhanced version with video and this is a great cookbook so far. I was looking at the reviews to see if anyone knew how to easily find the pages that have videos but instead found lots of complaints and thought I'd help with those. A. The sample book that cannot be removed from your nook is a glitch and from what I've read, will be addressed in the next software update. For now, I think you can hide it on a separate bookshelf or just enjoy it for what it is -- you might actually want to make those chocolate curls one day. B. If you actually purchased the cookbook and did not get the enhanced version with video, contact BN. They will refund your nook purchase and you can repurchase the correct version. I know because this happened to me. The enhanced version has the videos and internet links and costs $4 more. I went online and contacted them via the nook chat and the problem was easily corrected. Beware: Even though the sample has video, if you purchase from the sample, it links you to the cheaper version which is not enhanced (again, that's what happened to me). You must be sure to purchase the enhanced version if that's what you want.

    368 out of 479 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    B&N should offer a third option...

    This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find out that not only did my version lack video, but that up until version 1.2 was released, the nook was not capable of playing an embedded video in an ebook as shown in their tutorial videos. I'm fine with paying an extra few dollars for the difference between the "enhanced" version and my "basic" one, (though I think B&N should have made it clear that the first version did not include video at all), but I am NOT going to shell out an extra $20+ for something that I thought I was getting the first time. It looks like I have about 4 other titles in my library that are now available in an enhanced version too. I get that B&N wants to make money off of me, but I don't think that pricing ebooks in this way is going to help build or keep customers around the nook platform when there are clearly other options out there, and after trying to get customer service to see things from my point of view it appears that is an exercise in futility.

    69 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Addendum

    To delete the cookbook, first go into your library. Press and hold the cookbook and the option to delete it will be there.

    54 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Not worth the price

    Buy the hard cover instead. Minimal picture example. Titled chapters with no list of contents and index too long to see what recepies are in the book. Disapointing videos, show tips only not how toos.

    54 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great cookbook!

    I dont understand all the negative reviews. This cookbook is great! There are several short videos. Each one is about a minute and a half. Examples: how to peel shrimp, how to poach an egg. Yes this cookbook is expensive, but it has tons of great recipes. The videos are helpful. I love cookbooks, and it is fun to be able watch videos with tips, tricks, and how to. It also has red text throughout that you can click on to jump to related sections. I think this very handy. If you're looking for a really well rounded cookbook, this is it! I would like to see more videos or a lower price, then i would give it five stars.

    48 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Where are the videos

    I just bought this ebook and there is no where in the contents where it easily shows you where the videos are.

    47 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Not Impressed At All

    Those of us with Color Nooks are forced to endure the presence of a 6 page sample of this ebook - it cannot be deleted without going into the root or similar action. Seems this forced method of advertising is a very poor sample of the publisher and/or the bookstore ethics-I paid a small fortune for my NOOK and should not be forced to have a sample I didn't authorize auto downloaded. The sample isn't something that I would cook, and the 'ehanced' ebook is definitely not worth the price.

    34 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Read this before buying

    Although this is a great book (I have the actual physical book in my home) do not buy this one. Yes, it does have very great tips and helpful hints, it shouldn't be $20! That is way too much. I bought the actual book at a local bookstore for just $10!

    32 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    It's Great!!

    It's a wonderful cookbook and not hard to navigate at all. A really good all around reference. The videos are also very helpful!! I noticed that most complaints are coming from people talking about the sample. A sample is meant to be only a "slice" of the pie.......and that slice was free........ Not to mention, all this coming from people who could not spell nor put a sentence together correctly. Hmmmm.......think about it....

    32 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Everyone complaining, shut up!

    Obviously this book has poor reviews because of the idiots writing them. This sample comes with the nook color along with others to see if you are interested in purchasing it. So for the people writing one star reviews because you are confused, take a look at your library before you instantly make false accusations. So stop writing questions instead of reviews because you are stupid. This book seems pretty great with delicious recipes and helpful videos. If you like to cook, i recomend you buy this book.

    29 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    videos?

    My question is how many recipes are in videos?

    17 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Too cumbersome for normal

    I found that this cook book was to cumbersome to use effectively and you also can't down load it to your PC! All my other books can be on my computer, but not the cook book. What gives.

    It would definately make it easier to use and more readible.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    COOL

    This book is so cool

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Kasey

    Wonderful

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Do NOT buy this as a Nook Book!

    This is not a bad book as far as its content goes -- that is, the *recipes* -- but I bought it for my Nook Color solely because it claimed to be "enhanced," and it is NOT. It has no video, no audio, no links to anything, and only a handful of pictures -- which don't even display properly, showing up as tiny thumbnails that you can't even zoom in to see better. Worse yet, the e-book is also horribly organized: The contents list only chapters (such as "Pastries" or "Meat") and not a single recipe is listed by name *anywhere* except on the page where it appears; clicking on any of the few (and lousy) picture links takes you to a separate page from which you cannot return to the recipe you were just looking at, and must therefore go back to the Contents and re-navigate; charts that were evidently printed on two pages appear in the digital edition on only one page, too small and with the ends cut off; the layout is sloppy and frequently misaligned... the flaws are innumerable, and inexcusable. I would return it and demand a refund if I could, but B&N does not allow returns on Nook Books. This may be a worthwhile book in its printed form, but the "Enhanced Nook Book" is an insultingly overpriced piece of GARBAGE. Don't waste your money on this!

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    H

    The video makes me lick my lips.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Chocolate

    Wow i never ever new bout that. Now I will be able to make sweet party treats. Wow i can do that tonight for my parenys friends that r coming over awsome!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    One in a million

    Great book for desserts and good dinners

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    B

    Wanna get it tryed the sample samples awesome

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Ok book (sucks really bad)

    It is to much money domt buy it is a wast of money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1895 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 95