Customer Reviews for

The Good Housekeeping Cookbook: 1,039 Recipes from America's Favorite Test Kitchen (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1838 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(224)

3 Star

(235)

2 Star

(200)

1 Star

(343)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

352 out of 459 people found this review helpful.

Some complaints resolved. Great cookbook with videos and links!!

I have the enhanced version with video and this is a great cookbook so far. I was looking at the reviews to see if anyone knew how to easily find the pages that have videos but instead found lots of complaints and thought I'd help with those. A. The sample book that can...
I have the enhanced version with video and this is a great cookbook so far. I was looking at the reviews to see if anyone knew how to easily find the pages that have videos but instead found lots of complaints and thought I'd help with those. A. The sample book that cannot be removed from your nook is a glitch and from what I've read, will be addressed in the next software update. For now, I think you can hide it on a separate bookshelf or just enjoy it for what it is -- you might actually want to make those chocolate curls one day. B. If you actually purchased the cookbook and did not get the enhanced version with video, contact BN. They will refund your nook purchase and you can repurchase the correct version. I know because this happened to me. The enhanced version has the videos and internet links and costs $4 more. I went online and contacted them via the nook chat and the problem was easily corrected. Beware: Even though the sample has video, if you purchase from the sample, it links you to the cheaper version which is not enhanced (again, that's what happened to me). You must be sure to purchase the enhanced version if that's what you want.

posted by MomNJ on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

B&N should offer a third option...

This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find o...
This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find out that not only did my version lack video, but that up until version 1.2 was released, the nook was not capable of playing an embedded video in an ebook as shown in their tutorial videos. I'm fine with paying an extra few dollars for the difference between the "enhanced" version and my "basic" one, (though I think B&N should have made it clear that the first version did not include video at all), but I am NOT going to shell out an extra $20+ for something that I thought I was getting the first time. It looks like I have about 4 other titles in my library that are now available in an enhanced version too. I get that B&N wants to make money off of me, but I don't think that pricing ebooks in this way is going to help build or keep customers around the nook platform when there are clearly other options out there, and after trying to get customer service to see things from my point of view it appears that is an exercise in futility.

posted by r1ck on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    B&N should offer a third option...

    This was one of the first books that I got when I got my nook several months ago and the reason I got it was that it was featured in one of the "how to" videos on the site. After paying for what I thought was a book with recipe videos in it, I was disappointed to find out that not only did my version lack video, but that up until version 1.2 was released, the nook was not capable of playing an embedded video in an ebook as shown in their tutorial videos. I'm fine with paying an extra few dollars for the difference between the "enhanced" version and my "basic" one, (though I think B&N should have made it clear that the first version did not include video at all), but I am NOT going to shell out an extra $20+ for something that I thought I was getting the first time. It looks like I have about 4 other titles in my library that are now available in an enhanced version too. I get that B&N wants to make money off of me, but I don't think that pricing ebooks in this way is going to help build or keep customers around the nook platform when there are clearly other options out there, and after trying to get customer service to see things from my point of view it appears that is an exercise in futility.

    67 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Too cumbersome for normal

    I found that this cook book was to cumbersome to use effectively and you also can't down load it to your PC! All my other books can be on my computer, but not the cook book. What gives.

    It would definately make it easier to use and more readible.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Poor Indexing

    This book works fine on Nook Tablet. The problem with the book is that its hard to navigate. I wanted to look for a recipe for hamburger. I went to the meat section and had to leaf throug the pages to see if they had any. I went to the index at the end of the book and again I had to leaf through the pages after I hit the "H" button. I ended up using the Nook search button and it was faster that way. Fix the indexing and this book would get a much higher rating.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Cool Video

    I'm in 3rd grade and I actually liked the sample video!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Ok

    Nothing too spectacular. Had a few good recipes.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Mystery person

    It is ok. i mean it cost waaaaaay tooo much.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Mmloppll,m..mj rwqqasxxcvgtyiipppufrreeewwwwtyyfvhjljvxxzasfgfgjkllljhnnnAjl,.mloidaqsguon nvx

    oosqsvvnm,,,.gascvbmmmnmnbz,,llpdsatoppoitfeqqHopm.geawyolkm.zwqqsghi.lbxzopowqgjllkkjggdsafv



















    Mkyffdewwqasdcvnlojgcxaaweyiopppouswwpppl.mppplm....nbvvvm
    Jkkm..ll..l
    Oouh
    Hjkppljhbjiollll
    !mmkk

    Cdd
    C
    Gi
    K


    J
    M
    J
    H
    U
    Yyyt
    Kikikkijjm.mlooihxsewwsdfhkk,m.m,lpoihgfddewwsfn,,m.vcxxcvhjipppiugyu
    M,,jjg
    Kkliyfb,lllm.llgdwqqhklhdafm,mvxzzioporqeghklksaaffn,,..zznnbcc.mhghjiool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Not impressed

    This cookbook is a little too short for my liking. Also, it skipped page 7 out of 8. I liked one recipie and that was it. If you were disapointed with this book like I was, I suggest Betty Crocker: Wiley Secrets. It doesn't have many vivid pictures, but it has amazong, delicious, appetizing desserts.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Ok book sample

    It had a few tips and the enhanced copy is NOT worth getting. Use an old cookbook. They work just as good. If you are making cookies, use an old recipe from your grandmother. Your grandmothers recipe will remind you of her and it is the best cookie recipe. The enhanced copy is worth a small fortune, and NOT worth getting. In the sample, though, it was a pretty cool video. It showed how to "spruce up" a simple dessert. I loved the narrators voice. It was clear, although fast. Only good thing about it eas the video! I reccomend not getting the enhanced copy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    It was okay didnt have much

    It was okay for what the sample showed

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Fcvj. Ujjkppl.. cxsssqaxsszzxbbxxcvvv,,,bjm,mn b

    LliupiifeszQerpoiiipottfyjiioocfrdyw

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Very yummy food

    The food looked very good but you all need to be more specific while showing the video.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Cooking books

    Hardto under stand without whole book with me !






    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Posting

    Im almost certain that its a great cookbook but I amcertain this is not for posting chat and personal stuff

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    not so impressed

    while this is a great idea, this book is difficult to navigate on the nook. i find myself pulling out my Joy of Cooking whenever Im looking up a recipe. I also thought there would be more videos and not just the same video of how to juice a lemon for pages and pages of this book... just a little disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Not great

    I love to cook and was excited by the idea of a cookbook with video tutorials, but overall I'm pretty unimpressed with the collection of recipes and lack of videos. May be worth it if the price goes down - a lot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Vids do not work

    Vids do not work....at least in this sample.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    M ..

    ! ! Viop
    Q xn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Wao

    Tttw
    ••7

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    B n

    Bhby

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10