Customer Reviews for

The Good Husband of Zebra Drive (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent addition to the Series!

    I thought The Good Husband was a great addition to the series. If you haven't read any other books in the series, I wouldn't advise that you start with this novel. In this story a majority of plot depends on the characters and their relationships that were developed in earlier stories. Alexander Smith does an excellent job of bringing out these characters and their relationships but in my opinion it still would be a cumbersome read if you have not been educated by the earlier books. This is just my opinion.
    This novel is another wonderful tribute to Botswana and to the values; loyalty, honesty, compassion that the characters hold dear. In summary I would say this is a very entertaining read that will keep you reading page after page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    What? Do we really need another review of Mma Ramotswe?

    This, the latest in the marvelous series by Alexander McCall Smith, is just as _______(fill in from other reviews, e.g. quirky, lovable, unique,universal...) as the rest. But if I might add a spin:

    What no one may have said before is what a great selection this may be for someone who is forgetful. My mother, at 90, loved to read before her short term memory betrayed her. This series she enjoys mightily, and looks forward to each new book. She can hold on to the memorable characters, so lovingly drawn and so vivid that they "stick." The stories are warm, expressive of values she holds dear, and the pace suits her just fine.

    Not much happening here -- just enough mystery to keep it rolling. In fact, the mystery is akin to those we find in our own lives: will she/won't she; you'll never believe...; well, what happened next?

    These are perfect stories for everyone who has little extra brain space or time for complex tales that depend on twists of plot for value. She loves them, I love them, and you and your beloved sage might, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Such a wonderful book. The writing in this Series is so beautifu

    Such a wonderful book. The writing in this Series is so beautiful. This is the 4th book in the series I've read (out of order!) and I feel I've gotten to know the characters well and love them. Grace Makutsi is droll in her interaction with the apprentices & Mr. Pulopetsi, and especially with her shoes. Precious Ramotswe is the loving, wise and strength of character aunt who enfolds you in her arms for when you need succor.

    The cases the Detective Agency takes on is a secondary story to the human aspects of how these characters interact with one another and their fellow man; their observervations & musings of the human tendencies and behavior; and the values they expound. And really, they make me reflect on living a simpler life. I love this series and look forward to reading more of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Excellent peek at the heart of Africa

    Mma Ramotswe is such a beautiful example of the best of Africa. Remembering & respecting the old ways & customs while standing strong for herself and others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Alexander McCall Smith

    I first bought "First Ladies Detective agency", and loved it. Subsequently bought entire series except #10. Excellent, exquisite, relaxing, touching. Loved them all. Love his writing. Enjoyed the characters. I now am buying other books by this author. I recommended these highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Characters With Charisma

    The Good Husband of Zebra Drive is one of the main characters who has charisma but yet is very ordinary and unassuming in his life. Mr. Smith's writing has a way of bringing him to life, turning this ordinary man into one the reader can appreciate and enjoy.

    His wife, also of Zebra Drive and the star of this series, is also an unassuming rather quiet person but with Charisma with a capital C!! She is a true heroine in a quiet dignified way. I'm glad that I've known her now for 8 books. She has reminded me to appreciate much that is easily taken for granted in life. As a detective I admire her caution and cleverness.

    The assistant lady detective who does not live on Zebra Drive is the other main character who also is unassuming but whose demeanor is not always quiet and dignified but that's part of her charisma. She's the one who can sometimes make the sparks fly with her actions and words. Like the other 2 main characters I can appreciate and admire her, especially after starting out with her in Book 1.

    I look forward to continuing on with them through books 9 and 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ENTERTAINING, REFRESHING

    If you have yet to meet Precious Ramotswe - treat yourself. As I said of her in a review of the first novel in Smith's series, she is 'Of traditional build and generous heart, she's the indefatigable, irresistible proprietress of Botswana's No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.' For this reader it was love at first page of Smith's initial offering and my enthusiasm for this endearing, surprising character hasn't wavered. Her story is as fresh and new with this, the eighth in the series, as it was in the first. By now many have become familiar with the characters and eagerly look forward to their latest adventures. I count myself among those readers. With The Good Husband of Zebra Drive several of our favorites find themselves facing momentous decisions just as Precious is presented with a confounding mystery by a doctor who has seen patients die in the same bed at the same time of day at Mochudi's hospital. Mma Makutsi may leave the Agency (Heaven forbid as I'll always remember her undulations of pleasure to say nothing of her perfect typing). And, there is a straying husband. As always Precious's life is filled with conundrums and challenges which she faces with wit and wisdom. Pages of The Good Husband of Zebra Drive flew by far too rapidly and I eagerly await a return visit to beautiful Botswana. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Delightful as always

    I have enjoyed the entire series and can't wait for the next one. I just love Mma Ramotswe and her love for a gentler Africa, her wisdom and insight into the human psyche also her honesty. Just sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire 'No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency' series. This one, however was a bit disappointing compared to the others. Something was missing. I was sorry to see that Mma Ramotswe's adopted children were not included at all. They were only mentioned once, more than 3/4 of the way through the story. I found that a bit strange. But I still love all the characters in these wonderful novels, and I always look forward to more...I wish they were longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Reassuring Adventure

    McCall Smith's novels connect at a human level, since the uncomplicated language uncovers revelations about daily life. These adventure novels have a comforting quality to them and you're always left in suspense. This eight book will please readers of Mccall Smith's other books. I have a special affection for Mma Ramotswe and that's why I love this book so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Like a shot of Serotonin

    I came to love the #1 Ladies Detective series about two years ago when my friend gave me Tears of the Giraffe to read. I then went back to the first in the series and I was hooked. I even had the pleasure of seeing Alexander McCall Smith when he spoke at Cooper Union last April. This was amazing because hearing Sandy is like hearing an old friend since I have read so many of his words. Now I am able to read the books as if he were telling me the story himself. Reading about Precious Ramatswe and her life is like a shot of Serotonin. I feel so calm and peaceful, and this latest is no exception. The Good Husband of Zebra Drive will leave you wanting more. Too bad we have to wait another year for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3