Customer Reviews for

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Average Rating 4.5
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(433)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Two of modern literature's best writers

I would be wasting your valuable time if I were less than direct. Good Omens is one of the funniest and most engaging books I have ever read. Now take the time you've saved by my brevity and use it to start reading this book that much sooner.

posted by 10256070 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

You might want to scrible boring on some pages

There are things and really liked about this book and things I personally got annoyed with.

Things I didn't like were: Rambling, unfunny unnessesary whole pages of writing. Besides Aziraphael <3, Crowley <3, and the four horsepersons I didnt care at all for any of th...
There are things and really liked about this book and things I personally got annoyed with.

Things I didn't like were: Rambling, unfunny unnessesary whole pages of writing. Besides Aziraphael <3, Crowley <3, and the four horsepersons I didnt care at all for any of the other switching muiltiple and often random fleeting characters point of views with their rambling usually not quite funny and, except for a few key lines you might miss that add something to the plot, very skippable sceens. There were funny and interesting bits but overall an annotated version of this book would rock.

Only Aziraphale and Crowleys parts are worth reading all the way through. These two are interesting for being a not quite pure Angel and a not compleately evil in fact has a good side Demon. Besides them I wanted almost everyone elses part to be annotated for me.

Adam(a very central character) and his Them gang are a compleate bore. The author even admits through one of the characters saying it that their 'conversations' ramble (I cant use that word enough). Its more like 6 year old chatter chatter debate chatter, boring!

I guess it was a sort of a whos to say what some might find funny and others dont so they left all the rambling that would appeal to different people? I just did not like the 'voice' of the authors throughout this. But besides that, I was really into the plot and I wanted to know what was going on. I even stoped halfway and told myself to stop skipping and restarted the book so I could get it. And of course some of the characters were very very memorable and I want to hear more about. I picked mine you can pick yours.

posted by hermy on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    You might want to scrible boring on some pages

    There are things and really liked about this book and things I personally got annoyed with.

    Things I didn't like were: Rambling, unfunny unnessesary whole pages of writing. Besides Aziraphael <3, Crowley <3, and the four horsepersons I didnt care at all for any of the other switching muiltiple and often random fleeting characters point of views with their rambling usually not quite funny and, except for a few key lines you might miss that add something to the plot, very skippable sceens. There were funny and interesting bits but overall an annotated version of this book would rock.

    Only Aziraphale and Crowleys parts are worth reading all the way through. These two are interesting for being a not quite pure Angel and a not compleately evil in fact has a good side Demon. Besides them I wanted almost everyone elses part to be annotated for me.

    Adam(a very central character) and his Them gang are a compleate bore. The author even admits through one of the characters saying it that their 'conversations' ramble (I cant use that word enough). Its more like 6 year old chatter chatter debate chatter, boring!

    I guess it was a sort of a whos to say what some might find funny and others dont so they left all the rambling that would appeal to different people? I just did not like the 'voice' of the authors throughout this. But besides that, I was really into the plot and I wanted to know what was going on. I even stoped halfway and told myself to stop skipping and restarted the book so I could get it. And of course some of the characters were very very memorable and I want to hear more about. I picked mine you can pick yours.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good Omens

    You will never hear me complain about Neil Gaiman¿s imagination or creativity. I would not know much about Terry Pratchett, author of Discworld, because I have never really been interested in reading his stuff, but I simply had to give this book a try, based entirely on the irony of its subject.<BR/><BR/>For all intents and purposes, this book is an apocalyptic one, albeit shot up with a good amount of humor, where a satanic nun accidentally hands the antichrist to the wrong family and the kid ends up growing up as¿just a normal kid. The four riders of apocalypse are actually four motorcyclists (Hell¿s Angels), and a not always competent angels and demon are handed the task of keeping good and evil in balance until the end of days. With witches, witch finders, celestial and hellish creatures cut loose, this book counts down to the day that will end it all in a big war for which both Heaven and Hell have long been preparing for.<BR/><BR/>There is no question that this was a very fun read, the humor in it more than laugh out loud at points, however, it lacked the depth that Neil Gaiman¿s other books have had. Perhaps it is the fact that so many characters enter the story, from the Metatron (the voice of God) to Newt, a young man who thinks he is enlisting for the army, only to find out he has enlisted for an army of witchfinders composed of no more than two people¿and that is including himself. The characters are very colorful, but at the same time not very deep. The potential for greater exploration is there, but instead this book is kept light, meant to be much more comical than serious about its subject and that is not necessarily a bad thing, simply something you need to be aware of.<BR/><BR/>All in all, it was a fun read and would recommend it to anybody just looking for a good laugh and something to pass time with. But not to anybody looking for a serious read about the end of days.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett but I Didn't Like this Ti

    I Like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett but I Didn't Like this Title

    I really wanted to like this title but after reading it I was disappointed. It was mildly funny, the scenes that involved Aziraphale, Crowley, and Warlock were laugh out loud funny. For example the angel saying the eff word or heaven and hell trying to influence Warlock in kick-starting the apocalypse. It's a shame there wasn't more with these characters because the other cast were lame as hell (or heaven, whichever side your routing for). Good Omens isn't all bad but it isn't very good either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Armegeddon ala Monty Python style

    I read this book because it sounded interesting, and it was. With a dry British humor throughout, you'll enjoy the interesting characters. Crawly who was the snake from Eden loves his Bently car, Queen's greatest hits, and the Earth in general. Along with an angel, he wants to stop the Battle of Armegeddon for two reasons; he loves the Earth (except for the boring 14th Century) and the alternative is Hell of course and he's trying to avoid it.

    The Witch Hunter Sergeant is a hoot and by far the most colorful and funny character. With phrases such as "How many nipples ye got laddie?" you can't help but love him.

    The anti-Christ named Adam was switched at birth at the Satanic order of the Chattering nuns hospital, but it was a botched job. You really got to read the book to appreciate this part.

    Of course no book about Armegeddon would be complete without a visit from space aliens, Tibetans tunneling through the earth, a high speed chase through phone lines, and a 'nice' book that tells the future.

    Of course it was genious for the Four Horsemen to trade in their horses for Motorcycles. War (a hot babe), Death, Famine, and Pollution (Pestellance retired) now wear Hell's Angels jackets. But can they really get to the nuclear power plant before a floating moped carrying a prostitute possessed by an angel and the

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Sapphire

    Thumbs up Breo! Five stars. ^~^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Extremely funny!

    Good Omens is one of the funniest books available. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    The writing is great. The story line flows effortlessly. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying Good Omens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2