Customer Reviews for

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Average Rating 4.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(435)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Two of modern literature's best writers

I would be wasting your valuable time if I were less than direct. Good Omens is one of the funniest and most engaging books I have ever read. Now take the time you've saved by my brevity and use it to start reading this book that much sooner.

posted by 10256070 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

You might want to scrible boring on some pages

There are things and really liked about this book and things I personally got annoyed with.

Things I didn't like were: Rambling, unfunny unnessesary whole pages of writing. Besides Aziraphael <3, Crowley <3, and the four horsepersons I didnt care at all for any of th...
There are things and really liked about this book and things I personally got annoyed with.

Things I didn't like were: Rambling, unfunny unnessesary whole pages of writing. Besides Aziraphael <3, Crowley <3, and the four horsepersons I didnt care at all for any of the other switching muiltiple and often random fleeting characters point of views with their rambling usually not quite funny and, except for a few key lines you might miss that add something to the plot, very skippable sceens. There were funny and interesting bits but overall an annotated version of this book would rock.

Only Aziraphale and Crowleys parts are worth reading all the way through. These two are interesting for being a not quite pure Angel and a not compleately evil in fact has a good side Demon. Besides them I wanted almost everyone elses part to be annotated for me.

Adam(a very central character) and his Them gang are a compleate bore. The author even admits through one of the characters saying it that their 'conversations' ramble (I cant use that word enough). Its more like 6 year old chatter chatter debate chatter, boring!

I guess it was a sort of a whos to say what some might find funny and others dont so they left all the rambling that would appeal to different people? I just did not like the 'voice' of the authors throughout this. But besides that, I was really into the plot and I wanted to know what was going on. I even stoped halfway and told myself to stop skipping and restarted the book so I could get it. And of course some of the characters were very very memorable and I want to hear more about. I picked mine you can pick yours.

posted by hermy on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 435 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Two of modern literature's best writers

    I would be wasting your valuable time if I were less than direct. Good Omens is one of the funniest and most engaging books I have ever read. Now take the time you've saved by my brevity and use it to start reading this book that much sooner.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A classic

    This is a great book seamlessly written by 2 authors in a way that you are unable to tell who has written what. The characters are interestingand fun, and the details are compelling and entertaining. I love this book so much that I have purchased 4 copies of it over the years and have had to repurchase because someone has borrowed it and has not returned it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to read an offbeat book that does not talk down to the reader.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I am thrilled to own this in eBook

    I keep having to buy it again and again because it's so good I keep loaning it to my friends and I never get it back. They refuse to let it go! But now it gets to stay with me and be mine forever :)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Funniest Mistake Ever

    This is one of the funniest books I've ever read. It's one of those books that has you laughing so hard people start to stare at you. Gaiman and Pratchett together are unstopable!

    One word of advice: Don't skip the footnotes!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant, funny favorite

    I first read this book when I was 13, much too young to appreciate every reference, and I liked it then. Every re-read has made me like it more. The fate of the world is at stake, and still I laugh at the humor, the absurdity, the *humanity* that shines through.

    It's not a simple book - the language is smart and the plot has several lines that do tie together nicely. But it's enjoyable to read, not snooty or dense. The characters are fabulous and unique.

    I've given this book as a gift for a huge range of people - my mom, my husband, my minister, my best friend's new girlfriend. They adored it. You should know, though, that any humorous book that takes on the anti-Christ, witches, the four horsemen of the apocalypse, angels, demons, and Armageddon is not going to appeal to everyone. Especially not those who have an extremely literal take on Biblical matters and an underdeveloped sense of humor. For everyone else, this is highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    I had heard about this book and thought i might try it out, and thank goodness i did! Its a wonderfully funny storyline and dramatic at the same time. And as some reviews say, "The Apocalypse couldnt be any funnier!" Heck, who wouldnt want the end of the world to be funny? Its fun, and a must read! I know that i'm going to have to buy more copies since i read it so much! *wink*

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Quite possibly my favorite book. I've read it three times and pi

    Quite possibly my favorite book. I've read it three times and pick up on new things with each read. Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett have created something truly exceptional and wonderfully witty.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Quirky, cerebral, amusing, and damn funny

    If it weren't for both authors' further writings and illustrious careers this would be a "one hit wonder" showing a "flash of brilliance." Alas, they went on to write copiously and sell obscenely (not vice versa!) so it is just a damn good start to a fine vocational pathway. Lucky us, the readers. There are pithy theological jests, and protracted post-modern diatribes that delight those who are comfortable challenging religious fundamentalism. Oh...and we finally get the answer to "how many angels can dance on the head of a pin." Brilliant and deceptively challenging while highly entertaining.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I love books that take place

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I love books that take place in
    England, it's such a charming country. Plus the story put a funny spin
    on the Apocalpse. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys
    fantasy novels or a good comedy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    The best book of al time

    I'm a avid reader and have read plenty of books in my day but this one continues to be my favorite. Thos book not only makes you think but makes you laugh at nearly every page. The characters are just too likeable and this is book portrays a wonderful view of Armaggedon. If you don't believe me just look online and I guarentee you will find millions of people raving about this awesome book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Hands down, my favorite book ever!

    I stumbled upon this left of center book while browsing in the clearance bin. Little did I know I was picking up what would easily become my favorite read. I've lost count of how many times I've read it and every time, I find myself laughing out loud. I bought an extra copy just for lending; I wasn't about to risk my original! If you like clever, British humor, you have to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A truly entertaining book that is so funny. If you have never r

    A truly entertaining book that is so funny. If you have never read Gaiman or Pratchett take the plunge you will be glad you did. I am a HUGE Discworld fan but this is one of my favorites, I too have had to buy several copies because no one wants to give them back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books. Humorous, thought-provoking, and intel

    One of my favorite books. Humorous, thought-provoking, and intelligent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Do you need a good laugh? Read this book!!

    This is a very funny book that will literally have you laughing out loud. It has hard to describe it without giving too much away.. but I wish they would make it into a movie because it would be just so much fun to watch. Every needs a good laugh!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    Fun read

    Great book, high energy, fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    A

    Wonderfully funny, drole, clever and extremely well written. Fun to read aloud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    GOOD OMENS? GREAT OMENS!

    This is my all time favorite book. I wore out the paperback version!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    You won't be able to put it down

    One of the best books i have ever read. Its hilarous and incredibly well written. I can' t recomend this book enough

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    One of the funniest takes on the apocalypse there is! Hysterica

    One of the funniest takes on the apocalypse there is! Hysterical premise, funny and quirky characters, uplifting message, and just too funny to miss. A must for every bookcase! Gaiman and Pratchett at their best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    One of the few books I read over and over again!

    One of the few books I read over and over again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 435 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22