BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Good Owners, Great Dogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Simply The Best

    Before we got our rescue dog 9 years ago, I spent weeks researching dog training books. Good Owners, Great Dogs is hands-down the pick of the litter, and it continues to be the best book I've read. I've used it on my own dogs, and always give it as a gift to anyone who is getting a dog. Use these methods for a happy, healthy, great companion animal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    The Bible for Pet Owners

    This book is essential for anyone with a dog. It not only provides training guidance but also helpful tips, like be happy when you go to the vet for the first time and don't touch your dog because they will feel your nervousness --- both of my dogs LOVE the vet because of this simple tip. The authors just put together their common sense and years of training experience. I recommend it to anyone I know who has or is getting a dog and I credit it with my happy pups!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Practical Information for Day to Day Dog Training

    This book had been helpful in the day to day training of my dogs. I have one dog who always lags behind on the leash, this book gave me a quick trick to make him keep up -- it was worth the purchase price just for that advise! It is designed so that you can just go to the specific training problem you are having and look up "how to" information. A great addition to your library if you have dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Good Owners, Great Dogs

    A wonderful book for anyone getting a new puppy or dog. Recommended to me by the vet. Good tips and tricks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great information, common-sense training

    I received this book as a gift from a friend that trained his puppy with this book, he called it his puppy-training bible. I was very impressed with the progress he made with his puppy, that when i got my puppies, he gave me his book after he finished reading it. I love the trainer's approach to teaching a puppy basic good manners and it is very easy to follow and understand. I highly recommend it! I kept my copy and sent one to a friend as a gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    The BEST Dog Training Book Ever Written!!!!!

    With the help of this book I was able to turn my horribly abused, fearful shelter dog into a confident, loving, well-mannered dog that could go anywhere with me. I was also able to train the most stubborn, obnoxious, and destructive 4-year old beagle (who had been kicked out of numerous training classes) into an obedient, wonderful pet that can now walk into Petsmart without causing a riot. I was able to do all this without yelling, hitting, or going insane. This is the only dog training book that you will ever need. The authors should receive a Nobel Peace Prize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Read it over and over!

    This remains the one book I turn to for insights into MY training lapses for my older dogs and reminders for my new pups. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read! Very Helpful!

    The Second i received the book in the mail i started reading it. Right away it was very helpful. I couldn't put it down! I am very grateful someone recommended the this book to me and i recommend it to anyone getting a dog, especially if it's your first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    A definite must for all dog owners

    My problem was in this book. In using the author's techniques, I solved it right away. So very helpful. It should be read by anyone before they get a dog. I am going to recommend it to all who adopt dogs from the shelter where I volunteer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Best Help With Training

    I have read several dog training books and this is still my top choice for overall training. Like earlier reviews; it's a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Not exactly a 5 star book.

    Have read most of book and do find interesting information but find the author keeps taking you back to previous lessons and then with a little different view. Not sure why purchasers are granting 5 star reviews for this low to mid book. Just my thoughts. But real thoughts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Don't own a dog without this book

    Kilcommons' book is terrific and funny too. Anything our dog does wrong can be traced directly to instances in which we didn't do what the book says ... and everything she does right (which is 98%, bless her heart) is because I trained her with the book. One invaluable command (see book for details): "Enough!" There are excellent sections on biting, and very important advice on the food bowl (take it away without warning periodically while she's a pup, or risk biting / snarling problems when she's grown). Excellent advice on jumping up -- never allow it, even though it's cute when she's a puppy, it's a disaster when she's grown. (Kilcommons is funny here: "dogs don't have fashion sense"). Great advice on names -- every dog needs two. The best overarching philosophical points I got from the book: 1) Never give a command more than once. Enforce it if she fails to follow the command. 2) Never give a command you aren't prepared or are unable to enforce. 3) Remember that you, the owner, is the alpha dog. She will "try out" for alpha dog from time to time. These tryouts must be squashed. Kilcommons tells you how to squash alpha dog behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Don't even think about owning a dog without first reading this book!

    This book was the key to the success in choosing and raising ASPEN 'The Best Dog I've Ever Owned'. I¿ve recommended this book to numerous friends and I¿m here to purchase it once again for my sister and her fiancé. I laugh at those who have disregarded my suggestion and have had difficulty understanding why my dog is so well behaved while theirs is simply out of control and reply with ¿You should have bought THE BOOK¿. I have owned this book for several years and still use it as a reference guide to understanding what ASPEN is/was thinking, when the typical response would have been simply that he¿s being a bad dog. Once again I would strongly urge anyone who is considering owning a dog to pick up a copy of ¿Good Owners, Great Dogs¿, it will be one of the best choice that you could make for yourself as well as your dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Highly recommended

    I would recommend this book to anyone looking for training tips. The author not only outlines training methods, but explains problem behaviors as well. This was particularly useful for me. I'm glad I found this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Good Author, Great Book

    From the puppy selection guidelines to dog training, we consider this book our bible for understanding dog behaviour and ensuring our dogs are content and well behaved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    The Best Money You Will Ever Spend on Training!

    I can¿t begin to express my gratitude to these two authors. I have 5 dogs now and finally with the last two puppies I have been able to apply these excellent tools for training. Everything clicks after you take this information in, and puppy training becomes a much easier job. In fact it makes sense with other animals too. Knowledge you will never forget that sinks in easily. Anyone can own a puppy with the help of this fabulous creation. Many Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    The Quintessential Training Guide

    We could never have brought up such a truly wonderful pet without this book!!! Training was easy and we (us and our dog) handled little things, like the first visit to the vet, in stride. The authors really care, as evidenced by the anecdotes in this book as well as their website and email newsletters. If you have a dog you should own this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Great Book!!

    I got this book quite a few years ago when I got my dog. I cannot believe how much I learned. I would not recomend any other dog traing book...this one is the best of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1