Customer Reviews for

Good Poems

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    My favorite book on poetry ever written

    I saw this at work all the time and then one day I bought it and it is probably the best overall book to have in ones collection. I try to read a poem everyday. These really are good poems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended - The radio show anytime you want!

    I try to listen to The Writer's Almanac on NPR every day. Finding this book of poems is nice for days when I miss the program or just need an extra poem. Like the show, I read one poem a day. Savoring the book as long as I can. It is like a little devotional. A moment to reflect on someone's thoughts each day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great content--not the best formatting

    The intro alone is worth at least a dollar, and the lack of puffery content was a relief --but someone should fix how the poems run together: it gave this reader some grief.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    The title says it all

    For those of you who enjoy Mr. Keillor reading poetry on public radio, this is a great companion. I bought this book to read to a family member rehabbing from a stroke and it was a joy to see his reaction as I would finish a poem. A great selection of poems from a varied and impressive list of authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Wonderful Collection of Poetry

    This is a great collection of poems. What I like best about it, outside of some of the great poetry, is that they were collected from such various writers ranging from Bukowski to Shakespeare. So, it is great for people that are well educated in poetry and for those, like myself, that are just starting to read poetry. With the variety of writers, there is such a variety of styles and subjects. If you don't happen to like one poem or writer, turn the page, there is another that will be quite different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Waxing poetic...

    ...I love to get gifts of poetry. Keillor' collection is well-chosen. I also love his Writer's Almanac on NPR. There is something in this book for everyone. It will be in my personal library as long as I have one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Surpasses Expectations

    Poems presented in Keillor's collection illustrate that poetry should not be a dusty book inherited from your grandparents. Unlike the poetry shoved down our collective throats in high school, these poems have relevance and are able to breathe in today's world. If you are aching to discover voices that can simply connect with your life, this book is a wonderful introduction to the value of poetry. This collection may salvage some readers of poetry that would have otherwise been lost in the archives of other eras.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Excellent Anthology

    This collection by Garrison Keillor surpassed my expectations. The range of poets represented is quite broad and more diverse than the average anthology. I have listened to Writer's Almanac for many years and often thought it would be great to be able to access the poetry in print form. This collection does just that. In my opinion, these poems are always good and often excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Good poems for nearly everyone

    I love poetry. Some friends and family members can't understand why that is. I also enjoy composing poetry. Those same friends and family definitely cannot understand that endeavour. But for those of you who either write or love to contemplate good poetry, this is the volume you must have. This collection almost speaks aloud...about God's creation, about all of the human response to that divine creation and even now and then about how the experience of life, living and separation from that life and living must necessarilly be realized by all thinking people. From the introduction (which is almost poetic itself) to the very last entry, this is a look at life as seen through the eyes of all manner of people. Within these pages you'll meet old friends from high school or college. Beyond those memories you'll discover the illuminating recollections of many who lived long lives and are literally telling the reader without any shame or pretense. Some of these writers died all too young...in war or accidents or maybe heartbreaking suicide. They are here within these pages. Read, learn and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    This Book is Great

    I borrowed this bood from my english teacher last spring and It has become a personal favorite. I love listening to the writer's almanac and the poetry garrison keilor reads. This book is so cool. I love many of the poems in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Great Poems

    A passionate collection of poems with warmth, wit, and charm. Excellent and elegant. A must for any lover of great literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2