Customer Reviews for

The Good Son

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Wow! I loved this book.

    The book captrured me from page one. If Gruber's grasp of Muslim culture, particularly that found in Afghanistan is as solid as his observations about current American culture -- I learned a lot. While hardly a research or academic look at colliding cultures, it is very thought provoking.

    The book centers around unlikely characters: a bi-cultural, military-elite guy and an unbelievably gifted lady translator-linguist. I didn't care much about those two, because I was entranced with the third main character. She was a lady of many worlds: American poverty and abuse, Muslim privilege and wealth,'cowboy' adventure and travel; and topped by the intellectual capacity to synthesize the Catholic faith, Muslim culture and Jungian analysis. She was appealing through her faults and her strengths create an unbelievable heroine.

    I can't quite put my finger on why I feel so satisfied after reading this book. It is an entertaining and provocative novel. It is worth a second read just to absorb the beautiful poetry again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    An awesome page-turner - an international spy vs. spy thriller w

    An awesome page-turner - an international spy vs. spy thriller with multi-layered insight into diverse cultures! Well-developed characters, with brutality and violence that definitely fit the plot, more realistic than sensational. Well-done, I want to read more from this author. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Wonderful suspenseful contemporary story

    This book was recommended to me by a friend who had read a Stephen King review of it. It does entertain and teach at the same time and the language is lyrical. You might need an up to date dictionary to catch why Gruber uses some of the words.

    There are spots that you can tell were edited and it can be a detriment to the story because it changes into a formulaic spy novel towards the last quarter. However, don't let that stop you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Excellent read!

    Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Increadible Book

    I loved this book so much I gave several away as gifts. Intelligent, unique, creative, nothing else out there like M. Gruber's books. Can't wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting Tale of Suspense

    My first experience reading Michael Gruber was without any doubt a enjoyable one.. The author has delivered a taunting, multilayered and riveting tale of suspense.

    "The Good Son' is the believable story of Sonia Bailey Laghari who while on a peace symposium in Pakistan was kidnapped along with eight other associates and held captive by armed terrorists. Sonia a highly religious and celebrated psychologist took lead of the group . With her background and her familiarity in the culture, she was able to work her way into the kidnappers' mind and interpret their dreams, at the same time trying to keep her own group in good spirits and alive throughout this tremendous ordeal. The hostages worst fear was the terrorising prospect of being killed one by one by their captors....

    When Sonia's son Theo, a professional assassin by trade, hears of the kidnapping he sets out to rescue his mother on one of the most daring plots ever undertaken, a plot that could set a new precedent in U.S. and South Asian policies...

    At the same time, Cynthia Lam, an analyst for the national Security Agency in D.C. has her attention piqued while monitoring the airways. It appears their has been a theft of Pakistani nuclear material, this further heightens the state of alarm....

    This novel is powered by the many twisted plots and action scenes throughout, and proves to be an ambitions work of fiction. The huge cast of characters have depth and portray a wide range of human behaviours: cowardice, cruelty, courage etc... The narration is brilliantly done it exploits the Westerner's perception of corruption in the politics of Central Asia ....Although some passages in the dialogue may seem to slow down the action , they simply serve to enlighten the reader on various religious beliefs and ideologies. This is a well-written and totally engrossing novel I enjoyed immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Best of Gruber!

    Page turner! Ought to be made into a movie in my opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Naughty Author

    No book or author has aggravated me as much as the Good Son and Michael Gruber. After 50 pages, I stopped reading, sure that I could not get into this tale unfolding in Pakistan. Then I read more about the book, saw how many people really loved it, so I continued to read and finish the book. Several times I did not like what the author was doing, but further reflection in each case won me over. This novel is nothing short of amazing. And the author's bio tells us nothing about how he could have written it, where he got the information, or how his life experiences could have led him to this novel. I suspect his bio is as fake as the resume of the good son's mother in the book. No doubt Gruber was a CIA analyst assigned to Pakistan, Afghanistan, or any of the stans. He has learned the culture, the Koran, the little ways that make their lives unique in that part of the world. He knows how to bring this world to life on the printed page in ways that astound me. But he didn't learn this from octopuses or cooking, as his bio says. And he admits to being the ghostwriter for the author Robert K.Tanenbaum. It always annoyed me that Tanenbaum claimed credit as the author when he didn't write the books. I refused to read another one of them. So you can see my frustration here. I liked and admired this book and would gladly read it again. But I do feel a bit suckered, that something is not on the surface here and we are still being misled by a young all-knowing Pashtun boy or some evil CIA programmer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1