Customer Reviews for

Good Stuff: A Reminiscence of My Father, Cary Grant

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A loving tribute

Those who thought they knew and loved Cary Grant through his movies and other books about him, need to add this book to thier collection.
This is more than just observations of the man, but a experience of his heart. Jennifer Grant's book is a long love letter to, and...
Those who thought they knew and loved Cary Grant through his movies and other books about him, need to add this book to thier collection.
This is more than just observations of the man, but a experience of his heart. Jennifer Grant's book is a long love letter to, and about her father. What the book also shows is how much her father, did and still does create love in his daughters heart.

posted by RMelgar on June 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not such good stuff...

While Jennifer clearly loved her high profile father and went on and on about her elite education and college at Stanford - this book would have been better served if she had majored in literature and possibly writing. Why she needed to mention, several times, that her ...
While Jennifer clearly loved her high profile father and went on and on about her elite education and college at Stanford - this book would have been better served if she had majored in literature and possibly writing. Why she needed to mention, several times, that her financial legacy from her father might be lacking because he remarried, I can't figure out. But clearly she intended to add to her financial situation by throwing together what memories she had and slamming them onto paper. I think his memory would have been better served if she had used a ghost writer, the book would certainly have been more interesting and in some kind of coherent order instead of the haphazard ramblings, interspersed with pleasant thoughts and extremely idealized recollections of her father. I'm sure he was a lovely guy, but really, he was just a human being. Not the god she describes. Don't look for any insights or anything new. This is just the way most daughters feel about their dads. Pure fluff.

posted by 7804698 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    There is so much value to this book.

    Thank you, Jennifer, for sharing your relationship with your Dad and giving us a peek into the personal life of such a fascinating man, Cary Grant. Ahhhh, Cary Grant, one of the most amazing actors ever, is portrayed from the point of view of a father figure. What a significant human being, such a wonderful role model. Jennifer Grant has a great recollection of what a wonderful father he was. Cary Grant retired from movies in 1966 to raise his only daughter. He remained active in business but made being a devoted Dad his top priority. Jennifer shared tales of the glamorous world of jetting to Monaco, and watching ball games from a prestigious owner's box and creating alphabet games to help with school. She also tells of parental traits, private jokes, and dining at home together, all the while, instilling work ethics and values. Jennifer Grant has written a heartwarming and enchanting book of her lovely memories of her childhood with her beloved and highly respected Dad. There is so much value to this book, not just the privileged celebrity child or the celebrity lifestyle, but the insight into the wonderful human beings they are.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Must read!

    I read this book over the father's day weekend. What a beautiful tribute to a father from a daughter. What a lucky girl to have such a wonderful father who loved her so much. This is a great read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A loving tribute

    Those who thought they knew and loved Cary Grant through his movies and other books about him, need to add this book to thier collection.
    This is more than just observations of the man, but a experience of his heart. Jennifer Grant's book is a long love letter to, and about her father. What the book also shows is how much her father, did and still does create love in his daughters heart.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Good Stuff: A Must Read

    I'm sixteen, and only a couple a years ago, I "discovered" Cary Grant and classic films. The moment I saw him, I thought, "Wow, he's amazing." And he was. He was tall, dark, and handsome. And he made me laugh. I was hooked on him, and classic films. I immediately wanted to know more about him. In this memoir, I did learn more about him. I learned that he was far more than just a wonderful actor, funny, and exceptionally handsome: I learned that he was a wonderful man, and a wonderful father. Jennifer Grant made me wish that I had knew him only more. If any daughter remembers her father the way Jennifer Grant remembered hers, then he should rest easy because he would know that his daughter loved him, and that she knew he loved her. The love between the two of them is that obvious.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Recommend for fans of Cary Grant

    I loved this book becuase it was about the love Cary had for his daughter, Jennifer. It gave me an insight to the movie star I have admired and loved for years.
    Good read if you are a fan of Cary's or want to see how much a dad can love and treasure his daughter.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Another Amazing Man

    My Dad was "The dentist to Broadway" & he was very good friends. All his friends grew up through hardship and succeeded. Dad grew up in an orphanage, and as life got in the way, he still kept in touch. I ate lunch with Cary and Dad, he never let stardom get in the way, and Jennifer demonstrates how human he really was. A great read and insight ino another great man.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    A bit disappointing but expected

    Ms. Grant definitely wrote from her heart. However, this book is more for herself than for Mr. Grant's many adoring fans. I can relate to Ms. Grant in many ways, having had a father I adored who was in his 40s when I was borm. I was the apple of my dad's eye, as was Ms. Grant, and can definitely understand her need to write this book. However, the book didn't reveal anything that fans of Mr. Grant wouldn't already guess or figure out after a chapter or two. The photos are charming and delightful; the personal notes are lovely. However, the context leaves the reader a bit bewildered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Wonderful love story !

    What a gift Cary Grant gave his daughter . . . Showing and telling her how he valued her every thought, action and deed. And to save all her notes and drawings for her . . . Very special.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Not such good stuff...

    While Jennifer clearly loved her high profile father and went on and on about her elite education and college at Stanford - this book would have been better served if she had majored in literature and possibly writing. Why she needed to mention, several times, that her financial legacy from her father might be lacking because he remarried, I can't figure out. But clearly she intended to add to her financial situation by throwing together what memories she had and slamming them onto paper. I think his memory would have been better served if she had used a ghost writer, the book would certainly have been more interesting and in some kind of coherent order instead of the haphazard ramblings, interspersed with pleasant thoughts and extremely idealized recollections of her father. I'm sure he was a lovely guy, but really, he was just a human being. Not the god she describes. Don't look for any insights or anything new. This is just the way most daughters feel about their dads. Pure fluff.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Fans of Cary Grant will want to read this

    Only as a daughter could this book have been written. Forget all the rumors and enjoy this book. Always a Cary Grant fan, now a Jennifer Grant fan, also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Love it!!!!

    One of the best heartfelt reads in a while!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    I recommend - a great insiders view

    It came through as sweet and authentic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    An endearing memoir from a devoted daughter. Not many girls woul

    An endearing memoir from a devoted daughter. Not many girls would have a father that retired so he could spend time with them, but that is exactly what Cary Grant did. I think his role as a father meant far more to him than his acting career ever did. I doubt that he thought that he would ever have a daughter and that seems to show up in this book. She is sharing her anecdotes about her father in what would seem to be an attempt to keep him in her life somehow and alive in her memory. It is an emotional tribute to her father. It is not great literature, but it never claimed to be. How many of us would be willing to allow the public to take a peek behind our treasured memories about the first love in our life? I read this because I not only like Cary Grant very much, but as a daughter of a man that was troubled and abusive, yet loved us, I often wish we had had the time to bond the way she had with her dad. I envy her that, and I enjoyed her delightful glimpses into her past - how lovely to see such love between a father and his only child. One gets a look at the private man, even though we certainly do not deserve it, or need to know, in the end, it was nice to see the doting dad behind the sophisticated image. A very human look at Archibald Leach, the man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Gemma

    Hey. My parents r kinda suspecting something so i wont be on anymore. Sorry! :(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Bill

    Okay.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    I grew up watching Cary Grant and yes, like the book says, he definitely was the epitome of elegance. Jennifer Grant's portrayal of her Dad was very endearing. The reader was left with a deep sense of knowing a personal side of the man on screen. What a great world this would be if we all had a Dad who was so doting as he was. The rest of the world is now fortunate to know Jennifer's wonderful memories, as well as those written by her Dad, of her childhood. The reader is left with wanting to know more. Very enjoyable! KatyKQ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Aptly titled; apt book to purchase. I don't know how she does it

    Aptly titled; apt book to purchase.
    I don't know how she does it, but Jennifer Grant manages to write a wonderful tribute . She writes a tribute to a man who arguably could be ridiculed (he's known to have worn women's panties), but who also happens to have been a wonderful and kindly father to her. The book is a tribute through and through, without one hint--not one whiff, not one iota--of animosity toward her father. I don't think I've ever heard of anyone staying so true to another individual. I think it just goes to show how wonderful a father and family life Carey Grant was able to provide to his only daughter. The book provides wonderful insights into her upbringing. There are some nice photos. It also provides surprising information on the detailed mementos Mr Grant saved of the love of his life -- the author, his daughter, Jennifer Grant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3