Customer Reviews for

Good Year

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice Book

The book is very different from the movie, which I saw first and was the reason I wanted to read the book. I enjoyed them both. The book was even better than the movie. I will certainly check out other books by Peter Mayle.

posted by 6966383 on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I saw the movie first & really enjoyed it.. Then I read the

I saw the movie first & really enjoyed it.. Then I read the book.. The movie has a nodding acquaintance with the book.. Same character names & places.. but the rest is a whole different ride. I liked both but wish the movie title was different..

posted by Kanne on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I saw the movie first & really enjoyed it.. Then I read the

    I saw the movie first & really enjoyed it.. Then I read the book.. The movie has a nodding acquaintance with the book.. Same character names & places.. but the rest is a whole different ride. I liked both but wish the movie title was different..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Really Nice Book

    The book is very different from the movie, which I saw first and was the reason I wanted to read the book. I enjoyed them both. The book was even better than the movie. I will certainly check out other books by Peter Mayle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Good read

    Too bad the movie wasn't as good as the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Fun to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Excellent

    I adore Peter Mayle's writing. He has a wonderful command of the language, creates fascinating characters, a witty way of expressing a situation. This is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of my favorite Peter Mayle books - a little different from the others. To be savoured.

    If you liked the movie Sideways, you'll love this book! I recommend taking your time reading this. It's light without being frivolous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Sad when it was over...

    It was a delight read. I was sad when I reached the end. Wished it kept going and going. You get pulled in after the first few pages, makes you want to tune in to see what happens to Max. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    A GOOD YEAR ONCE AGAIN

    This novel is superb. A great addition to Mayle's tales of Provence. This reader has read this book a few times, and now with t he movie being released, is going through it again. The greatness of this book (and the author) is in the simplicity. This book doesn't need to be lengthy or use large words, just the occasional French one, and it need not be too complicated. This is a cool tale by a cool writer. One who knows that a good read can be small and fun and light - like how wine makes you feel after a few too many. Readers and watchers of British authors and television will love the way this book reads and feels, like an episode of AS TIME GOES BY or THE LAST OF THE SUMMER WINE. Mayle's capers are meant to be fun and this book tops the list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Another Great Read from Mayle

    I loved this book. Another great, fun read from Peter Mayle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Easy Going Reading

    It's not rocket science, but it beats the costs of a trip to France to experience a little tad of the culture. It really is easy going reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Ack!

    This book was too light and predictable. If you want to escape with a book that includes food & wine , try A Moveable Feast by Hemmingway or The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    'A Good Year' is a good read!

    I'm a fan of Peter Mayle's, and over the years two things impress me. He is the dean of Mediterranean travel writers, and his quality is very consistent. 'A Good Year' is a good read. Mayle weaves his fiction in this book almost as well as his original travel narratives. He spins a nice fictional tale about a young British businessman who has principles and is willing to take a risk. The plot keeps you guessing, and the descriptions of life in Provence (as always with Mayle) are delightful. This is good light reading. I never felt like 'I want the book to be over.' Good entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Ah, the wine and the sunshine!

    Another stay in Provence with those delightful Mayle characters is hard to resist. And to again savor the delicious food and wine; magnifique! A Year in Provence opened the door, but I keep coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Wish I Was There!

    This book is written by a man, so guys give it a chance. This is a fun read as any man can relate to getting whacked in the noggin' by his better half. Take your shoes off, pour some wine and enjoy a truly delightful tale. It you can't go to France than let Peter Mayle bring it to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Very Enjoyable

    What a good book! I read it in one day. The characters are likable, the story was engaging and I was sorry to see it end. Here's to Max and Fanny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Grab a Bottle of Wine, a baguette,

    some cheese and some olives, and then sit down for a fine (although short) diversion! I didn't want it to end! In fact had to pull out A Year in Provence and Toujours Provence for a re-read because I just didn't get enough. Chasing Cezanne is next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2