Customer Reviews for

Good in Bed

Average Rating 4
( 768 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(424)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This book is a good read, like all of Jennifer Weiner's other books. I caught myself thinking, "Yeah, right" quite a few times throughout the book, but that's what makes it a book, right? Cannie is a strong character, someone I would want to be friends with! The book go...
This book is a good read, like all of Jennifer Weiner's other books. I caught myself thinking, "Yeah, right" quite a few times throughout the book, but that's what makes it a book, right? Cannie is a strong character, someone I would want to be friends with! The book goes deep into personal, body, and family issues, but it never gets too heavy. You will always be laughing again by the turn of the page.
I also recommend "Certain Girls", the sequel to "Good in Bed".

posted by 1671662 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A waste of 2 hours

What a boring, uninspired, predictable little book. Don't waste your time with this - it's not even fit for the beach. The author is writing for teenagers, I think, not to any intelligent adult. Actually, teenagers are too smart for this drivel, too. I could feel br...
What a boring, uninspired, predictable little book. Don't waste your time with this - it's not even fit for the beach. The author is writing for teenagers, I think, not to any intelligent adult. Actually, teenagers are too smart for this drivel, too. I could feel brain cells dying from sheer bordom as I plowed my way through. Thankfully, the book was on loan from a friend (who probably could not wait to get it out of the house) and I didn't spend money to read it. The titalating title gives no clue to the truly awful book within.

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    A waste of 2 hours

    What a boring, uninspired, predictable little book. Don't waste your time with this - it's not even fit for the beach. The author is writing for teenagers, I think, not to any intelligent adult. Actually, teenagers are too smart for this drivel, too. I could feel brain cells dying from sheer bordom as I plowed my way through. Thankfully, the book was on loan from a friend (who probably could not wait to get it out of the house) and I didn't spend money to read it. The titalating title gives no clue to the truly awful book within.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Why

    This book is $10,83!!! Why is it in the under #2,99 category!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Garbage.

    Trite and cheap and forgettable. The author likely slept with the publisher in order to have this put on the market.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Annoyingly Trite

    Book got off to a good start but steadily devolved from there. There's nothing wrong with a little wish fulfillment but the celebrity BFF, post-partum weight loss, glamorous new career and free home remodel were just over-the-top fantasyland. A writer has to successfully suspend disbelief before attempting this type of storyline! I struggled to finish and was annoyed after reading. Its popularity mystifies me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    unrealistic, trite, bad story line

    Imagine, the crowded Hollywood bar and in walks the fat women and all the male movie stars are rivetted by her, ignoring the models that crowd the room. HMM? I think this book feeds into the neediness of women w/ low self esteem, that is why it is a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    such a drag

    i read good reviews for this book but i don't know why! the plot just drags on and the ending is bizarre... took me forever to finish this boring book! i recommend books by janet evanovich for chick lit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    terribly disappointed

    This book got great reviews so I gave it a shot. The book started off great but fizzled out fast. I did not like the main character and found it very hard to sympathize for her. I finished the book just to see if it would pick up but I just wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Horrible.

    Started out good....but the plot was horrible, the main character pathetic. At times I wanted to shake her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Boring

    I read up to Chapter 5 after I convinced myself it would get better. It didn't. I skipped to the last few chapters for the ending and it was quite predictible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    condescending drivel

    Please give us chick lit that's moderately intelligent! This book's small dose of self-deprecating sarcasam don't make up for it's lack of true wit or humor. I wasn't expecting Margaret Atwood -- just something entertaining for a weekend at the beach -- but I left my copy in a trash can. Novels sometimes require that we suspend our disbelief but this one asks us to hang-up our brains for the duration. Let's see -- she gets pregnant, decides to have the baby and then, wow, everything great just happens. She becomes best friends with a famous actress, sells her script for oodles of cash, gets a new apartment...ooh there is a tragedy but of course, that trauma causes her to lose weight whereupon she discovers that she's really beautiful as a larger woman. Save your money and your brain cells for something worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Very disappointing!

    I picked this book because it was recommended to me as similar to Jane Green's books. NO WAY! I haven't read any other books of this author and I most likely will not. I expected this book to be funny, but instead I got so annoyed by the constant whining of the character, Cannie. Not only does she whine about her weight at ALL times, but also just can't get over her ex-boyfriend, that seriously treats her like dirt, and her father, that left the family when she was young. WHINE WHINE, WHINE!! It was so dreadful that I had to force myself to finish it. Nothing of that fresh, hilarious, sarcastic, and self-ironic humor of Jane Green!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    DONT BOTHER!

    This book was not at all what i expected. It had no real point to it, I would not recommend reading it. Frankly, i dont know how it became a NY times bestseller. I continued reading just to get it over with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    mean-spirited and lazily written

    The main character is selfish and humorless, and the plot relies on unrealistic twists and crutches. Everyone who doesn't cater to Cannie--to the point of spending thousands of dollars redecorating her apartment--is vilified. Our heroine, however, can be nasty to everyone (such as her mother's seemingly kind yet annoying lover) and the reader is supposed to empathize. We're supposed to agonize with Cannie over her weight problem, but not mind when the writer uses a drug overdose as a plot device to further Cannie's romance. This book has no redeeming qualities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Complain, Complain, Complain!

    All Cannie, the main character, did in this book was whine and complain and seem pathetic. Someone compared this to Bridget Jones, but they must have forgotten how cute and adorable and normal Bridget was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2