Customer Reviews for

Good in Bed

Average Rating 4
( 768 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(424)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!!!

I read this book after reading 3 other books by Jennifer and by dar this is probably my favorite of her books so far. I love the characters and I loved the way the story was written. I like the fact that the book didn't end with the main character losing a ton of weight...
I read this book after reading 3 other books by Jennifer and by dar this is probably my favorite of her books so far. I love the characters and I loved the way the story was written. I like the fact that the book didn't end with the main character losing a ton of weight to get back at oranything like that. The story was relatable and I felt that it ws put together nicely. I am about to start another book by Jennifer tonight since I just finished this one (took me about a week, but that is between work and stuff like that). I think people will really enjoy this book and will identify with the characters.

posted by DivaPrincess28 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A waste of 2 hours

What a boring, uninspired, predictable little book. Don't waste your time with this - it's not even fit for the beach. The author is writing for teenagers, I think, not to any intelligent adult. Actually, teenagers are too smart for this drivel, too. I could feel br...
What a boring, uninspired, predictable little book. Don't waste your time with this - it's not even fit for the beach. The author is writing for teenagers, I think, not to any intelligent adult. Actually, teenagers are too smart for this drivel, too. I could feel brain cells dying from sheer bordom as I plowed my way through. Thankfully, the book was on loan from a friend (who probably could not wait to get it out of the house) and I didn't spend money to read it. The titalating title gives no clue to the truly awful book within.

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Not A Light Read

    I bought this book thinking it would be of the Bridget Jones variety. The normal plight of the average woman needing/hoping to drop a few pounds and ex-boyfriend drama. Well this book is about a woman who has severe abandonment issues and therefore is highly overweight (she joins a weight loss trial) and has many other depressing experiences. She struggles through most of the book. This was not the fun summer beach read I was expecting - more a psychological look at a woman who hasn't had it easy. There wasn't the levity that Bridget Jones had which made me laugh out loud.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Started out funny.....hard to finish

    This book started out funny but the main character just seem to get under my skin. She was so whiny and everything. I had no desire to keep reading and never did finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    I’m trying to justify a 3star rating here. To put it mildl

    I’m trying to justify a 3star rating here. To put it mildly this was difficult to get through for me because I didn’t fine Cannie (Lord I hate that name) sympathetic at all. For me Cannie was whiny and looking for someone to blame her lot in life on. Granted your formative years play into self esteem but at some point you are responsible for your own orgasms. I understood her “plight” but I didn’t understand why the book was at least 85% wallowing and whining – I kept hoping this would change. I did however enjoy the snarky humor in the writing. The mechanics of the books also seemed to work but this was overall not a pleasant read for me. I also knew from early in the book exactly what the ending was going to be. Not a series I would continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    So-so

    Not as funny or scandalous as I would've liked...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Interesting Story

    ...but it fell flat, for me. I feel like the "point" was to show that worrying about being a size 6 or size 10 pales in comparison to REAL problems..but there is too much focus on that "shallow" side and I didn't like the character enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Not sure how I feel about this book.....

    When I first started reading this book, it was hard for me to get into. I have mixed feelings about this book and was not all that impressed. It was my first book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First & Last by JW

    This was my 1st book by JW based on the many rave reviews I had heard/read about. Maybe I just have different tastes in books, but I found myself skipping through about 30% of the book. The characters were weak, the plot was weak, the whole story was weak. I spent most of my reading time asking "what the heck?!?" It just wasn't my cup of tea, unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Wasn't as good as I thought it would be...

    When I first started reading the book, I couldn't put it down. I thought it was great, but then the story just got out of control. I stopped sympathizing with the character and the events became pretty unrealistic. It's an alright book, but not one I could really finish. It just wasn't that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Disappointing

    I am shocked at all the positive reviews for Good in Bed on this website, and that it was a NY Times bestseller. This book started off ok, but the character of Cannie was so unbelievably pathetic I wanted to scream. She basically wallows in self-pity through the entire book, she goes through various scenes in her life that cause her a great deal of depression, befriends a famous movie star in a bathroom, etc. And then the author throws together a perfect happy ending for Cannie. Not my idea of recommended reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Pixie Dust and Fairy Tales

    I must say I found this book to be very disappointing. After hearing great reviews about it, I decided to give it a chance. The beginning part of the book started out pretty good. I was captured. However, as the book went on, it got more and more fantastical. I started to become unattached the book as it became more unrealistic. I finished the book because I had gotten so far into it but I was very disappointed. It best reminds me of these movies you see nowadays with reviews using keywords such as 'fresh', 'modern' and 'sassy.' Personally, I sum it all up as 'flaky.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Half good

    It is so disappointing to me when an author takes the time to create and motivate such a vivid character, only to give her up to completely unreal, silly wish-fulfillment scenarios. Cannie was such an interesting, palpably real character for the first half of this book. But then comes her impromptu meeting with a movie star who becomes her best friend in about five minutes, the conquering of her weight problem, and the all-too-obvious Mr. Right whom we're not supposed to see until the sappy, sticky-sweet ending. The second half got so tedious I found myself actually rolling my eyes and groaning at the new millenium style fairy tale plot developments. The tragedy that occurs that she must deal with had me so uninterested I almost didn't finish the book. Of course everything would turn out okay. There was no suspense at all because it was so obvious that the author was determined to make Cannie live happily ever after, realism be damned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    ~yawn~

    I found this book engaging in the first few chapters. After that I had to force myself to finish. And actually, I never finished the last couple of chapters. Frankly, I didn't care about Cannie anymore. Her whining and pining had finally taken its toll. I found this book predictable and trite. Thank you, but we've already seen around this corner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    A Good Idea Wasted

    When I heard about the premise for this book--a woman reporter named Cannie dumps her boyfriend, then learns he's begun discussing their relationship in a national magazine--I was really intrigued. Just enough wit and overall snarkiness got me hooked into buying the novel and reading it. However, the whole thing soon degenerated into the worst kind of revenge fantasy writing. We are expected to believe that when Cannie bumps into a famous actress in the ladies' room, this starlet instantly decides to become her best friend, shower Cannie with riches, and arrange for her screenplay to be filmed. Also, turning the ex's new girlfriend into a baby-endangering monster was quite over the top. Finally, Cannie thinks she so loveable because she's clever and protests prejudice against overweight women, but she lost me when she unabashedly dished out homophobic bigotry against a member of her own family; revealed a shallow, materialistic love of overpriced shoes, hairstyling, cars, etc.; and obsessed about her parents' divorce and neglectful father to the point of exposing an Electra Complex, especially when she took up with a guy who is a doctor, just like Daddy Dearest. If this book really wanted to address some meaty issues, the heroine would have explored her own flaws just a wee bit as she railed against those of others. For example, the book would have been much more interesting if Cannie had come to love someone she initially despised (say, a fat guy in her weight loss program) rather than a perfect dreamboat. A much better book about a Jewish woman dealing with obesity and the dating scene is the classic 'Sheila Levine is Dead and Living in New York' by Gail Parent (which is now out of print, but used copies are sold in many places).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    I am disappointed so far.....

    I can't believe this is a bestseller! I am only into the 3rd chapter and I am so frustrated. I keep loosing my concentration as Cannie keeps describing anything and everything in between her upsets over this article. Who cares about all these empty descriptions. It is so boring. I am going to try and finish it, but this is torturing me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    Obnoxious main character

    It amazes me that this is a popular read. I am an easy to please reader who is rarely critical. But, this book bored me to death. It has a great beginning -- and so much potential. However, I soon felt like Cannie was somewhat obnoxious and always complaining. I decided i didn't like her when I hit part about the first group meeting at the doctor's office (page 70)makes a complete fool out of the poor nurse. Yeah, the nurse was going over calorie control, protein and fiber portions, etc... and yeah, most of these women were very familiar with all that. But, she had to start off with the basics. All Canie had to do was say something. instead, she completely disrespects the nurse and turns all the group members against her. And thinks it's funny when the woman becomes frustrated and runs out of the room. There's a fine line between an amusing, slightly melodramatic character and a self absorbed, obnoxious one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    Aren't women deeper than this?

    I read this book in a couple of days. Although it does seem to grab the female reader's attention, I did not find it particularly believable. Some of the themes were touching, but I found myself bored by Cannie. Her humor was distasteful and bitter and she seemed always to be complaining about situations in her life that drove people to dislike her, without ever digging deep enough and changing. She is not a likeable character. I was embarressed for her most of the read. A library check out for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Comedy? I don't think so.

    There were some very hunerous situations and lines in the book that appeared mostly in the beginning. And since they were so original I thought it was going to be a wonderful comedy. But it soon became a book about a sad woman who had never recovered from her cruel father. Many of the situations then became contrived and totally unbelievable. It climaxed with a rediculous ending. The author has talent but perhaps she needs to decide if she wants her audience to laugh, cry, or just shake their heads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3