Customer Reviews for

The Good, the Bad, and the Undead (Rachel Morgan Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 730 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(478)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Kim Harrison Created another Thrilling book

As a sequal, this one picked right up where the last left off. The chacters are all here for the next chapter of this thriling series. I finally figured out Trent before the book told me. I still am working on some of the questions. Like- Why is Tent scared of Rachel? W...
As a sequal, this one picked right up where the last left off. The chacters are all here for the next chapter of this thriling series. I finally figured out Trent before the book told me. I still am working on some of the questions. Like- Why is Tent scared of Rachel? Who is Nick really? And what is on the agenda next for Ivy? On my way to Barnes and Nobel to get the third book.

Even my son is liking this series!

If you are up for a great thriller, mystery and a funny book (Jenks is a hoot!) this is the series for you! Don't just take my word, read the first one and get hooked like I did.

Looking for another easy series to get caught up in? Try Marked or Twilight. They both are great, nonstop intrigue and fun, just can't seem to put them down.

posted by kimtiffani on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Clothing descriptions... AAAAHHHH!!!!

Okay so obviously this book answers a lot of unanswered questions from the first one and leaving a bit open for the next book. But I swear it aggravated me to no end that every five pages or so this author has to describe what people are wearing, like this is a fashion...
Okay so obviously this book answers a lot of unanswered questions from the first one and leaving a bit open for the next book. But I swear it aggravated me to no end that every five pages or so this author has to describe what people are wearing, like this is a fashion show and I need a play by play... It was almost so bad that it seemed like it was just filler to make the book longer than it actually needed to be. If you can get past all that, the story is interesting and as always Ivy and Jenks are probably the best part of this ongoing series. Rachel unfortunately is still really boring to me. Meh, I'll start in on the next book in a little while... think I need a break from the series right now.

posted by danBOOKe on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kim Harrison Created another Thrilling book

    As a sequal, this one picked right up where the last left off. The chacters are all here for the next chapter of this thriling series. I finally figured out Trent before the book told me. I still am working on some of the questions. Like- Why is Tent scared of Rachel? Who is Nick really? And what is on the agenda next for Ivy? On my way to Barnes and Nobel to get the third book.

    Even my son is liking this series!

    If you are up for a great thriller, mystery and a funny book (Jenks is a hoot!) this is the series for you! Don't just take my word, read the first one and get hooked like I did.

    Looking for another easy series to get caught up in? Try Marked or Twilight. They both are great, nonstop intrigue and fun, just can't seem to put them down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Any book named after a Clint Eastwood spaghetti western has to be good

    Kim Harrison must be a big Clint fan since she has based several of her titles in this series on Clint Eastwood films. There is even a reference in the book to a Clint Eastwood movie marathon. This second book in the Rachel Morgan series, The Good, The Bad, and The Undead, offers up a tighter crime drama than the first book, builds on the culture of this alternate universe, and hints at mysteries of the past. The writing has improved from the first book (though I still see typos) and the dark humor is laugh-out-loud funny. I love the lingo created by the "history" that predates the story. The romance between Rachel and her boyfriend Nick from the first book alternately heats up and cools down as they forge an unusual bond. Rachel's vampire partner Ivy struggles against her nature while Ivy's boyfriend makes a pass at Rachel, in a way that only a vampire can. Meanwhile Rachel warily partners with her enemy Trent Kalamack, whom she tried to bring down in the first book. There are grotesque scenes of death, a dangerous demon working more than one side, and a surprise romantic ending. The first book wasn't bad, but this one is an improvement that makes me want to know more. Some books read like a movie. This one reads like a cult-favorite TV show, episodic but with a back story that will keep building as it is slowly revealed.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Should be made into a movie. enjoyed it immensely.

    Great Book. Should be made into a movie. enjoyed it immensely.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful paranormal private investigative tale

    After being given terrible cases that she felt were below her talent, witch Rachel Morgan broke the cardinal rule by resigning from the human managed federal government¿s Inderland Security. EEO and merit promotion fail when it comes to the glass ceiling for witches and other assorted ilk. Rachel opens up a firm with Jenks the Pixie and Ivy Tamwood the ill-tempered Vampire, but though she loves the independence worries about the rent................. Her former agency contracts out an assignment to Rachel. In Cincinnati, a serial killer is murdering witches, which makes Rachel the perfect witch to stop the culprit. The preliminary evidence points towards Trent Kalamack, who would cherish feeding his black magical soul with the prowess of his victims. With her helpers not much help as Ivy still needs to cut her teeth and Jenk is stuck in polyester and her boyfriend is tied up with demons that he conjures up, Rachel patrols the night by herself knowing that she risks her life to stop an evil from feeding on her sisters.......................... This sequel to the delightful DEAD WITCH WALKING is a wonderful paranormal private investigative tale that in many ways will remind readers of the works of Kelly Armstrong and Charlaine Harris. The story line is terrific as Kim Harrison displays insider knowledge to the workings of a bureaucracy when they force Rachel to quit, but hire her back as a contractor for more money and full use of her skills. The key to the tale is the cast who will turn believers of skeptics that vampires, pixies, witches, and an assortment of other supernatural beings exist. That is the magic of Kim Harrison..................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Hooked in

    I remember reading yhe first book and saying it was good. However after reading the second and the third book I am now hooked. I liked the Sookie Stackhouse books and if you like those books you will really like this author. Someone really needs to get her a movie deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love This Series!!!

    I love the Rachel Morgan series. Kim Harrison has created a world that any reader would love to escape into. Incorperating most fantasy creatures into this series brings you into a world you could never imagin. This series puts you into the head of a snarky witch bounty hunter, Rachel Morgan. She's a kick-butt chick who gets paid to do dirty work for "Inderlanders"(the fantasy creatures in the book). Along the way she has interesting incounters with a vampire roommate who has the hots for her, a demon who keeps trying th kill her boyfriend, and a big shot inderlander she's trying to bust for selling drugs. If you want a story with a high power female, complicated plot to fallow, and an overall amazing read yyou need to read this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    LOVE THE SERIES

    i have read all of the hollow books and love the characters and all the predicaments rachel gets herself into

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This book was just as good as the first

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rachel, Rachel, Rachel................

    What can I say besides "love this series"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was a real page turner for me. I finished it in record time and intend to go right to the next book in the series. It is slowly being revealed that Rachel is magically stronger than she knows leaving the reader wondering just how much untapped power she has that even she has not discovered. I like the way the author lets some things remain a mystery at the end of one book but resolves some of that mystery in the next. I have just discovered this series so I am looking forward to reading the rest and discovering more answers with each book. The action, when there, was intense. I really enjoy the Rachel/Trent recurring storyline. Ivy is getting more interesting and Jenks always makes me laugh. I would like to have more Jenks, and I will find out shortly if I get my wish as I read through the rest of the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Terrific novel...

    Things begin going wrong for Rachel Morgan right off the bat, as usual. First, the fish mascot she rescues for a local baseball team from its rival turns out to be the wrong fish; the missing one wasn't really missing, leaving her stiffed for her fee. Then, she is drawn into an FIB case. Witches are being killed, and the common thread uniting the serial murder victims happens to be that they met with Rachel's nemesis, Trent Kalamack, the man who put Rachel and her current love, Nick, into the rat fights as a mink and rat destined to fight to the death. The victims are also ley line witches. The FIB sends Rachel back to school undercover, as it so happens under a teacher who is determined to fail her. Soon, Rachel finds that the way forward is the way back, as she must look into her own past to find answers to the present dilema. Then, things become confusing and dangerous for her. Nick harbors a deadly secret that could cost both of them their souls. Ivy Tamwood, Rachel's best friend, partner, and living vampire, teeters on the edge of going off her blood fast- with Rachel. Someone wants Rachel dead, which is really nothing new. A charming, almost, demon, is determined to draw her into the ever after, which would make death look like fun. The FIB and IS are bureaucratic dolts. The only people who really appear wholly on Rachel's side and have lied the least to her, if at all are Jenks, her pixie partner and Trent Kalamack, who is supposed to be her enemy. Life gets weird. ............................................. ***** If you like 'Dead Witch Walking', you will love this. Rachel combines Stephanie Plum's daffiness with Eve Dallas' toughness. Her world is vast and complex as that of Sookie Stackhouse or Anita Blake. Jenks is a hoot, plain and simple. Though I'm not sure what to make of Ivy or Nick yet, Trent is turning out to be a fascinating character. Though at first blush he's a villain, by book's end, you might want to change your mind. *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    The Good, the Better, and the Best

    Wow! Rachel, the earth witch turning ley-line witch, has got a serial witch killer to catch, a hormoned up vampire in her house, and a human boyfriend whose bargaining with a demon as his past-time. Not to mention, the mysterious Trent...she finally discovers 'what' he is. I thought the first book good, but this second book has secrets revealed, sub-plots developed, and twists and turns all the way to the end. This is definately the better, that leaves you wanting what promises to be hopefully the 'best' with a third installment due out this fall! Definately should read the first book to enjoy this one completely!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Good book

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Prim

    I heard dat pat was here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Paj

    Herre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Noah

    Im locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    Kim Harrison is a remarkable writer. She got me hooked on this series with "Dead Witch Walking." I intend to read all of this series until it comes to a finale. Currently I'm ready the 8th book and intend to purchase the remaining ones. If you're looking for a book with humor, drama, action and paranormal charcters, I highly recommend the Rachel Morgan series, it's a blast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Another good one

    Another great read. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    The FIB, or Federal Inderland Bureau asks Rachel Morgan for help

    The FIB, or Federal Inderland Bureau asks Rachel Morgan for help in catching a serial killer who is targeting key-line witches. Trent, who already is a corrupt councilman, comes up as a suspect, it isn't surprising that Rachel jumps at the opportunity to take him down.




    Rachel Morgan is still her bad ass self, living as a bounty hunter with her partner Ivy, who is a vampire with even more urges for Rachel. Then there is Jenks, the pixie assistant, who lives in the church with Rachel and Ivy, along with his whole pixie family. I really like reading about Jenks, he's got amazing spunk and will do anything for Rachel, always having her back not matter what.




    Kim Harrison's books seem awfully long, and I feel like I'm always dragging through the books. Well, the first two anyways. I will be continuing the series because I have fallen in love with each of the characters, and can't wait to learn more about them. 5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Favorite Series!

    LOVE IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24