Customer Reviews for

Goodbye, Columbus and Five Short Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Typos

    Fix many typos that detract from Roth's brilliance!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    The brilliant debut of a major American writer

    This is Roth's first book, a collection of stories including the novella which gives its title to the collection. Along with the sharp social observation, and quick ironic intelligence there is a real feeling for the American Jewish world and characters . Here already too is his famous moralizing and implicit criticism of the world and people he writes about . A large imagination and a brilliant feel for language are already present in this enjoyable and readable debut work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    evocative writing

    So much beneath the surface here! Vivid story-telling, there is much to make one smile wistfully or laugh outloud! Irony and humor abound. Recommended by a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    This is a good book

    Good to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great Writing. Horrible Editing/Production

    The writing is great. Obviously Roth is an excellent author, and other, more qualified people have reviewed his work so I'll forgo that, and instead address the actual production of this book.

    The publisher should be ashamed, and the editor fired. This version of the boom is rife with misspellings, errant capitalizations, and incorrect grammar. So much so that it's a slap in the face to Roth.

    It pains me to pay the $10 bucks, or whatever it was I paid, and have to deal with the fact that the publisher seems to have hired an editor who has not yet completed elementary school.

    In short, the book is worth reading, but maybe get the print edition as I imagine slightly more attention was paid to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Even Better than I Remember from Years Ago

    This book was required reading in high school. I remember thinking, "OK, but so what? Why did they make us read this?" While I still don't have much of an answer, I did like the book even more the second time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    very good

    Roth is a great stylist and his stories are quite good... and the characters in "GB Columbus" are ver interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I<3Goodbye Columbus

    I love this collection of short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    upset

    it was a ok written book. the story was very dissapointing. i would tell people to read it but i will never read it again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    It is sad

    Goodbye Columbus is a book that shows reality about love. I really recommend it to everyone, specially the teenagers who want to learn a tough lesson about life. I think the deal with Neil and Brenda is that they were in love at some point of their lives but still their relationship was not so strong to handle a long distance relation, neither a problem with parents. Both were still immature, especially Brenda who could not take her own decisions because, as a little child, she was influenced by her parents, no matter what she felt. On the other side, Neil ran out of love so, at the end, he was not interested on fighting for their love. I believe that the idea of the story is sad but is still has some humorous parts that will make you enjoy the book at the same time it teaches you a lesson.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Apage in everybody's book of life.

    It¿s a literary masterpiece, realistic as it can be, Goodbye Columbus makes you feel as if you were 19 again. Neil¿s way of looking at life makes him a very interesting protagonist. Roth really scored a hundred whit this book, he makes the reader relates to the selfish feeling of a typical collage student, like Brenda. It makes you laugh going into two different mentalities such as Neil¿s and Brenda¿s. Intriguing enough not to let the reader know every detail, but to give him the opportunity of drawing your own conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    A Story That Can Remind You of any old summer love.

    Indeed a book worth reading. Neil and Brenda `s love affair is a clear example of materialism in love affairs. They also show a great amount of common sense as developed by Roth, which is very representative of his own life. Although brief, the characters are well developed, their attitudes are representative of the temporal setting (around the 60¿s), which sets the mood effectively. At first, we thought that the story was a bit slow, but near the end, the finale is magnificently narrated, showing the characters more humane than in any other part of the novel. We would recommend this story because you might feel connected to any of the main characters. Finally, don¿t forget to take a look at the title¿s symbolism; this can be a key factor in determining the true meaning of the novel (Tahiti-Gaugin-The Patimikin¿s fridge filled with exotic fruit-Christopher Columbus?-New World?-Neil¿s New World?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    A Page in everybody's book of life

    It¿s a literary masterpiece, realistic as it can be, Goodbye Columbus makes you feel as if you were 19 again. Neil¿s way of looking at life makes him a very interesting protagonist. For example the way he relates to the little black kid of the library. Roth really scored a hundred with this book, he makes the reader relates to the selfish feeling of a typical College student, like Brenda. It makes you laugh going into two different mentalities such as Neil¿s and Brenda¿s. What makes it the best is that at the end the reader can make his own conclusions about what happened in the story and why it is name like that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Great Book, Great themes

    Goodbye Columbus is a good book about love, the lack of love and the gaps between society. It talks about the relationship between a middle class Jew and an upper class Jew. Phillip Roth exposes the differences between classes and uses the characters to show in a great manner the way of living and thinking of each part of the society. It also shows the lack of commitment that some teenagers may have and the problems that this may cause. Not to spoil the whole book for the readers the last thing that should be said is that the book is entertaining, even though some of the characters are not likeable; especially Neil. Everyone should read this book if they want to pass a good time and if they want to know about social conflicts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2001

    Good enough

    I think this is a good book even though I enjoy reading other kinds of books (like science fiction.) However, what I found special about this one is that it is very realistic. The characters and the situations in the novel makes you feel this happened in real life. The book is about the summer romance between two teenagers: Brenda Patimkin (one rich girl) and Neil Klugman (a poor boy). Neil sees her for the first time swiming in a pool, and falls in love with her. After that, they begin to love each other romantically; but after awhile they start having problems with each other, which will make you wonder if they'll stay together as a couple (but that's for you to read.) I'd say it is an entertaining book; it has funny parts, sad parts, happy and romantic. I haven't read other Roth novels, but this one is well written. If you enjoy realistic novels, then it's a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2