Customer Reviews for

Goodness Gracious Green (The Green Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Goodness Gracious Green

Now this was an enjoyable read. Lois is the owner of the local newspaper in Louisiana. The newspaper building catches fire was it an accident or was it on purpose by a few people Lois has made or fired lately. The community comes together in many ways and teaches us...
Now this was an enjoyable read. Lois is the owner of the local newspaper in Louisiana. The newspaper building catches fire was it an accident or was it on purpose by a few people Lois has made or fired lately. The community comes together in many ways and teaches us all that we can make a big difference in our lives as well as others. I so enjoyed reading this book and the characters were all wonderful and so believable. The ending is one of my favorite parts of the book. I so look forward to reading more books by this author.

posted by babslighthouse on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Deleted review

I am very disappointed that my review was deleted obviousy because it was negative. Be aware this book is rooted in religion and is not described as so in the summary. Please do not delete this. Its the whole point.

posted by 5621474 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Goodness Gracious Green

    Now this was an enjoyable read. Lois is the owner of the local newspaper in Louisiana. The newspaper building catches fire was it an accident or was it on purpose by a few people Lois has made or fired lately. The community comes together in many ways and teaches us all that we can make a big difference in our lives as well as others. I so enjoyed reading this book and the characters were all wonderful and so believable. The ending is one of my favorite parts of the book. I so look forward to reading more books by this author.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Deleted review

    I am very disappointed that my review was deleted obviousy because it was negative. Be aware this book is rooted in religion and is not described as so in the summary. Please do not delete this. Its the whole point.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Goodness Gracious Green

    Lois Barker, has someone with a grudge against her. It is very obvious, that someone does not want her in Green Louisiana. It seemed like everytime she turned down an offer to sell her newspaper, The Green News-Item, something bad would happen. Two fires at the newspaper office, a fire at her house, burning down the old garage, and she is starting to second guess her decision to stay in Green.
    However the bad far outweighs the good, her new friends are family, plus the fact, that she is finding herself falling in love. Yes, she will stay in Green, and she will figure out who is trying to ruin her and run her out of town.
    A cute story that will keep you reading from front to back, you will not want to miss this book. I enjoyed how the author showed us the steps of how Lois's faith was tested, and how she responded to that testing. This book truly is a must read. 244 pages US $13.99 4 stars.
    Learn more about this author and this book series at her website
    Thanks to Abingdon press for providing the ARC copy, that this review was written from.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    agendas

    This book seemed to start out as a cozy Southern mystery, but was soon overpowered by racial diversity and Christian witnessing agendas. Perhaps stronger writing could have pulled it off. About page 160, a section of text is out of place in the eBook, making the story difficult to follow.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Boring boring boring

    After reading 100 pages of this Christian mystery or whatever - I gave up. This is a totally boring story with nothing going on. There seems to be no plot at all. With all the praying going on, someone should pray for this story to pick up and quit putting readers to sleep. I'd give it zero stars if I could. Thank heaven this was a free book.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Love this Series

    Christian Series! Love the whole Series. Must read. Funny

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Love this story - its as true to life as fiction can be

    struggles and triumphs all rolled into one - just another day at the paper, and they way the author shows that even if you have a problem struggling God is always there, maybe not the way you think it should be but He's always there none the less. great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Better than the first

    Maybe because I knew the characters I could follow the story better but this book was better than the first. This is an easy, stress free read to pass the time. Yes, it is written by a Christian author...hint, hint. ;-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    No Matter What Happens, There is Light At the End of The Tunnel

    This second book in the series is as good as the first. Lois
    has a tough road keeping the paper running as others try to
    sabotage her efforts. Add a possible love life and hassle over
    ownership and things get really mixed up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    love this series

    Easy, fast, fun read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Goodness Gracious Green is Great!

    When I first picked up this book to read I didn't realize that it was the second in The Green Series, I had no problems jumping right into the story, because the author gives enough information that you don't feel lost. That being said I plan on going back to read the first in the series because I enjoyed the characters so much.

    Lois lives in the town of Green and runs a small town newspaper, when the building catches on fire that houses the newspaper, Lois wonders if it was an accident or was it arson. When things start happening that make Lois wonder if someone is out to get her,she starts second guessing her decision to stay in town.

    I loved this story. The characters seem very real, and the sense of community was great. Lois has some great although quirky offbeat friends that are there for her when she needs them. It seems like her faith is tested often, and she wonders if she is following God's direction for her life, a normal question we all often face. Lois also wonders if she will ever find love and romance, and will her neighbor Chris be the one?

    The mystery holds your attention and the light romance woven in makes it a great story, smoothly written it will hold your attention to the last pages. I am anxious to read the next book in the series to see where the story between Lois and Chris will go!


    Even though I was provided a copy of this book by Netgalley it in no way alters my opinion of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Very Good!!

    I love this author,and would highly recommend this book.It has a good

    story like,not just a romance novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Absolutely delightful

    Cannot wait to read book 3...story keeps getting better and better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Fun read!

    Inexpensive NOOK download and it looked cute. I was surprised how quickly I was drawn into the story. Small town, feel-good story. Light reading and you're finished before you know it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty boring

    The characters have very little depth, so they are doing things that make no sense to the reader. Even the faith refrences are shallow and poorly explored. I was never able to get in to this book and it definitely doesn't make me want to catch up on the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Kind of a snorer!

    This book never really got me engaged in the characters.
    The story line seemed choppy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Daisy

    Look at my post in survivor result one and do what I said to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    This is my 3rd one and I have enjoyed it. It is a quick easy rea

    This is my 3rd one and I have enjoyed it. It is a quick easy read and has entertaining qualities. This series has been entertaining for an easy read. Now on to the fourth and last one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Goodness graciius green

    Enjoyed reading. Will be willing to read another book in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Ariana

    Im back!!!! -Danielle

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9