Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    A must for every new baby!!!!

    My children still have their own copy from their children's library. It is a must for each new baby. I had to get my new grandson his own. I read it to my daughters every night at bedtime. The story and the illustrations are beautiful and it is a timeless treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the best bedtime stories ever written!

    Both of my children enjoyed this book. Finding the little mouse on each page was great at keeping them engaged. It was also very useful in learning to read the rythym and rhymeing made it easy for them to memorize and they picked up quite a few sight words.I will forever have good feelings when I read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Big Size Good Night Moon - a classic...

    This is one of my daughter;s most loved bedtime stories...The words are simple, rhyming & repetitivie...The illustrations are bright, cheerful and easily identifiable..She still loves it at 3 years old. It's like her blankie tried & true and familiar & comforting. This is an excellent first baby gift. Give it early though, before someone else does!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good Night Moon Remains the Gold Standard

    I received Good Night Moon at my baby shower when I had my first child, and it continues to be the first gift I purchase for pregnant friends and relatives. The story line is uncomplicated yet filled with enough detail and colorful illustrations for the growing brain of a little one. I have never found another book as perfect as this for bedtime. I was read to as a child, and I am a strong believer in reading to your babies -- it makes a huge difference! Start with Goodnight Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    Very nice book for all ages, my grandson can almost read the book to me and he was 3 at the time.

    Great book, great author, great everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A classic and must for any child

    I read this book to my three daughters over twenty years ago each night. They loved it and couldn't wait to get ready for bed. I bought it to read to my new grandson and hope to be able to begin reading to him soon. Very colorful so even an infant can see (partially) the shapes and colors. Great for any age. Wonderful classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    mandatory for every child's library!!!

    All parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc. should own a copy of this bedtime book. It is perfect in the beginning stages of reading when the child begins to read it to the adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    best bedtime story ever

    This is a fabulous to read over and over to your children at bedtime. The rhyming, rhythm, and soothing story are thoroughly enjoyable. We shared it with our children night after night for years and never tired of it. We still love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Love it

    I am a nanny and the little boy I take care of loves this book. We can't leave the libary without reading Goodnight Moon so this was a perfect book to get him. He loves the pictures, and that every other page is color, the others black/white. I also love this book as I have fond memories of having this book read to me when I was a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    A Great Book for Toddlers

    My two year old son loves this book. He loves pointing to all the things in the great green room. His favorite part is the old lady whispering hush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Goodnight Moon

    Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown is an entertaining bedtime book for children of all ages. It takes place in a great green room late at night while Mama Bunny is putting Baby Bunny to bed along with all of the other objects that are in the room. Margaret Wise Brown¿s rhymes throughout the story will really hook your child. Each rhyme will bring your child one step closer to reading on his or her own. The illustrations by Clement Hurd are exceptional. The way that Hurd projects the light off the wall late at night, and the way that he makes the images go from colored to black and white will bring amusement to your child¿s eye. Goodnight Moon was my most adored story as a child. It was the first book I learned to read. When I was young my mother would read this story to me every night until I could finally read it by myself. This book will create memories that both you and your child can value endlessly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    exxcellent

    wonderful book. a staple in our bed time routine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    i love it

    when i was little my grandma would read this book to my cusion and i and we loved it. she read it almost every night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Best book that I have ever bought

    I bought this book for my nephew when I took care of him and now I read it to my two little boys(4 and 2). They can't go to sleep without it and now I am buying a new one since the current one we have is tattered. I can't wait til my boys grow up and I can read it to my grandchildren.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    A Guaranteed Sleeper!

    My son is only 9 weeks old and when I read him this book it calms him down and he goes to sleep, he loves hearing the way the words flow as I read to him. Words like 'hush' and 'mush' are so soothing for a baby to hear. And yes, I too discovered as you go along and look at the pictures that the room gets darker, and even the time on the clock changes and so does the position of the mouse and the bunny. It's neat to notice these things as I read to him, and I hope he will always treasure this book. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    A perfect first book!

    I bought this book for my 10 month old niece and she just loves it! This book is a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    My kids love this book

    My daughter has me read this book regularly to her...I just bought it again for my niece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    A SURPRISE IN AN ALL TIME FAVORITE

    As a Pre-School Teacher, I can certainly say this book is a favorite of children and parents too! After reading it for years, I became aware of something remarkable in this book....as you read along and turn the pages, the great green room becomes darker...bit by bit until that little bunny goes to sleep. It's so much fun to look at the book with a new light. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Memories

    I remember this book from chidldhood . . . wait, that wasn't too long ago. Anyway, I loved this book and read it whenever I could. It brings back the memories of when life was so much simpler. A word to the wise: Do not skip this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    A Riveting Work of Literature

    As a child my boyfriend's mother would tuck him in by saying goodnight to the moon, stars, etc. Now we close each night by doing the same... clearly a thoughtful gift...for all ages...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4