Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Moon (Board Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books ...
this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Children's Book I've Ever Read

All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and...
All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and the text is a yawn. Perhaps I just don't get it, but for my money, this will never be in my children's collection.

posted by 382380 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    love this book!

    this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Worst Children's Book I've Ever Read

    All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and the text is a yawn. Perhaps I just don't get it, but for my money, this will never be in my children's collection.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    good book-but its a hard read

    i really enjoyed this book but it took a few months to finish and understand. good pictures, to many words. If the author could edit something it would be the word size. Also, the font was too small. I am 13 years old and have a hard time reading. maybe the that's why the girl of my dreams doesn't dig me. thanks for your time it must have taken a while.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    One of my Favorites

    Goodnight Moon has been one of my favorite books for as long as I can remember. Its simplicity is what makes it so fascinating. It's perfect for first time readers, and one of the best bedtime stories of all time. I got this book at my baby shower and I love reading it to my son. He loves looking at book and words and this book is perfect to cuddle up with right before bed. Everything these days has to be big and spectacular. I really like the simplicity of this book and the soft, warm colors that are perfect for a bedtime book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    A classic

    Every parent and child loves Goodnight Moon, it's an absolute classic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Doesn't Have This Book?

    It's hard to imagine anyone who's not familiar with Goodnight Moon. Simply a classic, because of it's simple and repeatable message. Baby gets to say goodnight to a myriad of things on the way to slumber. Get it for your home library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A true classic

    This is a classic must have for all kid's book collections. An excellent bedtime read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who Doesn't Love This One

    It is perfect. Sweet, simple, easy to read, perfect length for bedtime. My children love finding the mouse on all the pages. It is a wonderful part of our nightly routine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Find the Mouse

    This was one of my daughter's favorites. Finding the mouse on each page is the best part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    My daughter's Favorite

    We got this as a present a month after my daughter was born. It was actually a gift to my mom as part of her 50th birthday present so she could read it to her first granddaughter. We have been reading it to her since then. She is 9 months now, and gets very very excited even if I mention one line from the book. I've memorized it after reading it so many times. It has actually become a security blanket for her. When she sees it or hears the words, she always smiles and laughs. She will always pick it out of the line of about 10 books we have for her. Hope everyone enjoys it as much as we do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Bedtime Story

    Margaret Brown probably never expected this charming little book to have such a following over the years, but it's a classic bedtime story in all the best ways. Simple, yet powerful images and bold colors keep this book as one of my favorites (and my sons like it too!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    A Great Book

    Every child should have this book and every parent should read it to them at bedtime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    A book children will remember

    There are two small boys in our church and we gave each one of them our favorite children's book., "Goodnight Moon". Their mothers were very happy to get the surprise gifts and are using them at bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    We love this book in our house, mainly for the words - I have to

    We love this book in our house, mainly for the words - I have to admit that the pictures freak me out a little (the old lady whispering hush, mainly). It's a lulling lullaby of a book, and we have fun finding the tiny mouse on each spread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Bedtime Book Ever

    It's bedtime for a little bunny, and one-by-one, he says goodnight to everything in his room. The illustrations are a marvel, and if you look closely you can see the little mouse in every picture. Goodnight Moon is a classic that almost every parent has read to his or her child at some time in their life. For good reason. It is a magical picture book that will entrance the little ones for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    oh my gosh!!!I loved this book when I was two!!

    This is a MUST HAVE for any child, I would have my parents read it to me before I went to bed almost every night. I missed the book so much, and I'm almost 16! your children will love this book, it is so much fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Appropriate bedtime book

    Good book for setting the tone for bedtime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Best childrens book ever!

    My children loved this book at bedtime reading. Time now to pass to the next generation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Great Classic for Toddlers

    My 3 yr old loves goodnight moon and knows it by heart. The pages are colorful and engaging. I remember this book from my childhood and know my son will remember it as well. I think every child should have this book on their bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Perfect Night Time Classic!

    My 18 month old daughter just learned to say "night." So I immediately added this to out night time routine.

    She loves to say "night" to all the pages! It is great classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7