Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Moon (Board Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books ...
this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Children's Book I've Ever Read

All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and...
All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and the text is a yawn. Perhaps I just don't get it, but for my money, this will never be in my children's collection.

posted by 382380 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    INVITING AND CATCHY

    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE GIFT FOR SHOWERS AND FIRST BOOKS...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A favorite classic

    This was my sons favorite bedtime story. He has since outgrown it, but it has become my 2 year olds fovorite as well. I cant say how many times ive had to re-read it over and over to him at bed time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Goodnight Moon

    A most wonderful classic children's book, good to share with your children at bedtime reading. A fine book for any child's library. I nearly know it by heart from reading it to my daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good classic!

    Good book. Not one of those books my toddler like to read over and over though. He does enjoy it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The World's Best introduction to books & reading for infants and toddlers

    My husband and I memorized the entire text as we read and re-read this book to our two daughters.

    We started reading this book to them when they were 4 months old, and the words were soothing and appropriate right before bedtime (or at any time at all).

    As they grew, they loved to point to, and name, all of the things in each scene-- helping them develop vocabulary and the ability to take the time to scan a book's pages and focus on the task of reading. And for fun, they would always look for where the little mouse was hiding in each page as we turned the page.

    Then we started to point out simple words and pointing to each word as we read them, and they started to follow along as well!

    There are objects in the room portrayed on the pages, that reference other Margaret Wise books, which we got copies of, and the girls liked the connection to other stories when we went back to re-read Goodnight Moon!

    We have given a copy of this book to all of our friends who are about to welcome children into their lives. Our own copy of the book has been put away for safe keeping along with baby things, per our teen daughters' request.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodnight Moon is a Classic

    I never liked the illustrations. But 60 years ago that was probably acceptable. It was a book you didn't even need to be looking at the pictures, just looking around the room sort of speak. How can a child grow up without Goodnight Moon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    You will know this book by heart

    Small children will ask to have this book read and re-read so many times that you will know it by heart eventually. If you can handle that, it's a toddler/preschooler must-have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Has Stood The Test Of Time

    Goodnight Moon has been around for so long, it can't help but be ranked with one of the best children's books of all time. It's simple, soothing elegance is a hit with toddlers. The illustrations keep their attention while reading the short, repetitive phrasing. I great book for your children's home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome and engaging

    Excellent book for bedtime reading. My kid loves it. She is never bored of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic baby book and great gift

    I give this book to almost every new baby. It is the lovliest bedtime book out there for the nightly ritual. I gave this one, in the board book format for chewing by a little one, at a baby shower for mom and grandma. They got 2 copies as it happens, one for each house. The simple but colorful illustrations and the soothing words are just right for the youngest babies to grow up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    A long lasting classic for a good reason!

    This was my 18 year old son's favorite and the younger kids in the family love it as well. It's easy enough for the kids to memorize and read along with you but the illustrations and their detail (find the mouse hiding on the page) are the real treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I don't understand it, but ALL children love this story

    For the past 10 years I've been buying this book as a gift for all new grandmothers of my acquaintance with the advice to read to their grandchild and the assurance that the grandchild will love it. And they do!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    My favorite children's book!

    I read this book to my daughters over many years and still have the original. It is my favorite gift (along with a check) to all the new babies born to friends & relatives. I think that the beginning illustrations could be a bit brighter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    My little 17 month old brings it to me to read to her almost every night before bed. I'll read it to her again and again each night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Goodnight Moon

    This is an excellent book to read to babies and toddlers. It is a book that can be read and reread, and enjoyed every time. I have read this book to my grandchildren, and given it as a gift to several kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GOODNIGHT MOON

    I am a mother of 4 daughters and 10 grandchildren. Goodnight Moon is a book that should be in every childs library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Good Night Moon

    Every night my three year old daughter and I snuggle up together in bed and read "Good Night Moon". She has memorized the story so I read it once then we go through again and she says the words even though she can't read yet. It is a really good teaching tool because I am able to get her to recognize the word and its meaning. It's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Family Favorite

    My children loved this book and I often give it as a gift. The story is simple and memorable and even though my children are now in their twenties we reference the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    We love Goodnight Moon!!!

    I love this book and so does my 22 month old daughter. We read it everynight before bed. She loves to try to find the red balloon and the little mouse!!! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Great Book

    Classic children's book that's a must have for any child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7