Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Moon (Board Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books ...
this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Children's Book I've Ever Read

All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and...
All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and the text is a yawn. Perhaps I just don't get it, but for my money, this will never be in my children's collection.

posted by 382380 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    our favorite

    My kids love this book. I bought it for all my friends and family's kids. We've read it every night for the last two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Well-known with my kids

    I often read this book to my kids with the light dim so they can go to sleep with this on their minds. This is really a nice go-to-sleep book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Great Book

    Goodnight Moon is a wonderful book for children just starting to read. It's such a great classic. Children will enjoy this cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    'A true classic'

    This book is heartwarming and is great fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Daughter's favorite

    This is the first story I ever read to my child. A couple times a day she will bring me the book to read. Since she was about 10 months old she has been able to pick out the cats, bears, the fireplace, stars, and the babydoll in the book. She has learned a lot from this story. I now find her sitting on the floor with her bottle flipping through the pages. A great gift for a child!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    a reviewer

    i just read this book yesterday when my nuffue had reading time he's 1 1/2 years old any way this book is so great for about 22 months - 4 years old i would say well frist it talk's about who live's there and then it talks about goodnight every thing who lives there well you should read it. it's a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    This lovely little tale of bed time ritual is never tiresome. Even after reading it night after night to my third child, every time is as enjoyable as the first. The rhythem is comforting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Great 'before-bed' book

    Goodnight Moon is a splendid book for a child to read before calling it a night, or for a parent to read to their youngster before the sandman comes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    A Family Favorite. Beautifully written and illustrated

    My daughter is two years old and she has at least fifty board books. She reaches for this book every day. She loves the soothing cadence of the words and the artwork is perfect in its gentle simplicity. I enjoy reading this book as much as she does. In fact, she has memorized many of the passages. If you only give your child one book, make it this one. I keep a few on hand at all times for gifts and they are always well received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Cute Story

    It's a good bedtime story with colorful illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    I don't know what the fuss is about

    I know this book has been around a while but I can't understand why it is so popular. It's dull. The least they could have done was updated it. They talk about mush. I don't think anyone even eats that anymore! My son won't even pay attention to it. Maybe when he is older he will like it but I really doubt it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Classic

    This is a classic that every parent should read to their child. - Noga Delshad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Baby knows it's bedtime!

    This book is so cute. The story is easy to follow, and the illustrations captured my baby's attention just enough, but not too much to rile him up. The message comes through loud and clear 'It's time for bed, kid!' It's part of our routine, and it's a godsend for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Favourite book thus far!!!!

    My little girl '2 1/2' loved this book from the first time I read it to her. She knows it now word for word in just a mth!!! A definite must have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    ALL TIME CLASSIC!!

    my teacher in kindergarten first read this book to our class. after she read it i wanted to read SOOOOOOO badley. i thought that it was the BEST book i had ever heard, partly because it was the first book sumone had read to me and partley becaue it really is a great book. i still have a copy of it in my library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    My grandson won't let go!

    I bought this book for my daughters, who are now buying it for their sons. My grandson who just turned two will not put this book down! He carries it around like a security blanket. When he can't find it he asks for the 'fireplace book', because for some reason the fire in the fireplace is what he first noticed in the book. Now he looks at the various pictures of the moon rising and says 'little moon' and 'big moon!' He loves everything about this book. I am online now to buy two more copies, as his constant attention has already started wearing this wonderful little board book out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    A CLASSIC!!

    My mom used to read this book to me all the time when I was little. It was my all time favorite book. And to this day, I still remember it. I occassionally pick it up when I am in the bookstore just to take me back. Every child should have this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    A wonderful book!

    My 3 year old has loved this book for over a year now! There is a little mouse on each page, and we play 'find the mouse' as an added game!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    This Book Has Been Around for ......

    ...Almost 20 years and it is still ranked 95! That is remarkable not many authors can say that their books have been up in the top of the top that long, (except the authors of Bible and Dale¿s ¿How to Win Friends And¿¿. --- My daughter was about 4 or 5 when I bought this book for her and she just turned 20! I swear to you moms, it was just yesterday I bought that book and I promise you will ¿ it goes that fast! She remembers the book, it¿s till around here some place I am sure¿ but moms, I truly recommend this book ¿ it is very worth your money and the time you spend at night reading it to your children. There are realities in life that this book will foster now and your child will use later, (like a tools saving¿s bank). It is important in life to feel a ¿part¿ and connected, many people cannot feel that connection and sadly, will go though life feeling like an outsider. I realize it is hard to see this book as a tool for that concept in the future, but you will after you buy it and read it on a regular basis. Once you feel more a part, you cannot feel as deeply lonely in many ways as many others. However, that is later, down the line, we can only plant seeds and bond at first and then later trust all we did to help them in life, like the little things, like this book, works for them. ----- For the beginning, the book had her mysteriously interested, very interested. I really could not see why, because she typically was more `involved¿ even at the age of 4 or 5. I do not know if it was the soothing, the beautiful illustrated pages or perhaps, the simplicity. She often requested this book over others on a more regular basis and for a longer time that most other nighttime books. If I were to guess, it was all three (the soothing, the illustrations and the simplicity) as well as the way it made her feel, (and that guess would be a good one on my part). The book was new and there was no online book reviews, we bought it together on one of our monthly book buying trips. It was displayed and sitting up, she saw it and decided it was the book she wanted that trip. ---- Now we are close, although she lives closer to work and school¿ I think I am going through major ¿empty nest syndrome¿ symptoms. I saw this book here as I was browsing the best sellers books and just `had to click and take a look¿ ¿ and then the memories came rushing back. Like I said, she does still remember the book and no doubt will read it some day when she has her own child. ---- Any way, since this is a recommendation or review section and not the history of my life with my daughter, I will conclude by saying that if you are considering this one, you should go ahead and buy it. It is a small investment for all the good it does, all the memories it can make, all the comfort it can give in the long run and I am certain you will feel that way too. Do not take my word for it though it has been on the best seller¿s list for several years now¿ I suppose the word is getting out without my help! God bless and remember to treasure every moment and value it all, because these years go by incredibly fast¿ - I know you have probably heard that and really did not give it much thought, I didn¿t way back then, not a whole lot, but I sure do now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Memories

    If you are looking for action, go somewhere else. The point of this book is that it is meant to be calming or -as other reviewers call it- 'boring.' Goodnight Moon is meant as a first book, a book that teaches through repetition and a book that a child memorizes before they can read. It is also a book of memories. I remember my mom reading it to me and that's what makes the book special. It is timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7