Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Moon (Board Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books ...
this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Children's Book I've Ever Read

All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and...
All I've heard is rave reviews for this book so I borrowed a copy from my library. Perhaps it is just that I have no nostalgic attachment to this book, but I found it to be uninteresting and my 2-year-old daughter agreed. The pictures did not engage her whatsoever and the text is a yawn. Perhaps I just don't get it, but for my money, this will never be in my children's collection.

posted by 382380 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Has Stood The Test Of Time

    Goodnight Moon has been around for so long, it can't help but be ranked with one of the best children's books of all time. It's simple, soothing elegance is a hit with toddlers. The illustrations keep their attention while reading the short, repetitive phrasing. I great book for your children's home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome and engaging

    Excellent book for bedtime reading. My kid loves it. She is never bored of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic baby book and great gift

    I give this book to almost every new baby. It is the lovliest bedtime book out there for the nightly ritual. I gave this one, in the board book format for chewing by a little one, at a baby shower for mom and grandma. They got 2 copies as it happens, one for each house. The simple but colorful illustrations and the soothing words are just right for the youngest babies to grow up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    A long lasting classic for a good reason!

    This was my 18 year old son's favorite and the younger kids in the family love it as well. It's easy enough for the kids to memorize and read along with you but the illustrations and their detail (find the mouse hiding on the page) are the real treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I don't understand it, but ALL children love this story

    For the past 10 years I've been buying this book as a gift for all new grandmothers of my acquaintance with the advice to read to their grandchild and the assurance that the grandchild will love it. And they do!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    My favorite children's book!

    I read this book to my daughters over many years and still have the original. It is my favorite gift (along with a check) to all the new babies born to friends & relatives. I think that the beginning illustrations could be a bit brighter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    My little 17 month old brings it to me to read to her almost every night before bed. I'll read it to her again and again each night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Goodnight Moon

    This is an excellent book to read to babies and toddlers. It is a book that can be read and reread, and enjoyed every time. I have read this book to my grandchildren, and given it as a gift to several kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GOODNIGHT MOON

    I am a mother of 4 daughters and 10 grandchildren. Goodnight Moon is a book that should be in every childs library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Good Night Moon

    Every night my three year old daughter and I snuggle up together in bed and read "Good Night Moon". She has memorized the story so I read it once then we go through again and she says the words even though she can't read yet. It is a really good teaching tool because I am able to get her to recognize the word and its meaning. It's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Family Favorite

    My children loved this book and I often give it as a gift. The story is simple and memorable and even though my children are now in their twenties we reference the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    We love Goodnight Moon!!!

    I love this book and so does my 22 month old daughter. We read it everynight before bed. She loves to try to find the red balloon and the little mouse!!! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Great Book

    Classic children's book that's a must have for any child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    our favorite

    My kids love this book. I bought it for all my friends and family's kids. We've read it every night for the last two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Well-known with my kids

    I often read this book to my kids with the light dim so they can go to sleep with this on their minds. This is really a nice go-to-sleep book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Great Book

    Goodnight Moon is a wonderful book for children just starting to read. It's such a great classic. Children will enjoy this cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    'A true classic'

    This book is heartwarming and is great fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Daughter's favorite

    This is the first story I ever read to my child. A couple times a day she will bring me the book to read. Since she was about 10 months old she has been able to pick out the cats, bears, the fireplace, stars, and the babydoll in the book. She has learned a lot from this story. I now find her sitting on the floor with her bottle flipping through the pages. A great gift for a child!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Great 'before-bed' book

    Goodnight Moon is a splendid book for a child to read before calling it a night, or for a parent to read to their youngster before the sandman comes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    A Family Favorite. Beautifully written and illustrated

    My daughter is two years old and she has at least fifty board books. She reaches for this book every day. She loves the soothing cadence of the words and the artwork is perfect in its gentle simplicity. I enjoy reading this book as much as she does. In fact, she has memorized many of the passages. If you only give your child one book, make it this one. I keep a few on hand at all times for gifts and they are always well received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6