BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Goodnight Nobody

Average Rating 4
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Goodnight Nobody

I enjoyed Weiner's witty dialogue and wonderful voice. I also enjoyed the backdrop of suburbia, giving the novel a Desperate Housewives-meets-Susan-Isaacs feel to it, but things sort of go downhill about halfway through the story. Kate's life is underdeveloped. Her marr...
I enjoyed Weiner's witty dialogue and wonderful voice. I also enjoyed the backdrop of suburbia, giving the novel a Desperate Housewives-meets-Susan-Isaacs feel to it, but things sort of go downhill about halfway through the story. Kate's life is underdeveloped. Her married life is of very little consequence in the novel. Yes, her husband works a lot and is hardly ever home, and we all know that she's not in love with him, but some more scenes and interactions between them wouldn't have hurt. Most of the scenes center on Kate playing the amateur sleuth, leaving her kids under her friend's care for most of the novel. Her history with Evan McKenna is very interesting, and I would have liked to see more scenes with them together, but again, there is very little of that in the novel. It gave me the impression that even the author herself thought the heroine's life was boring and that is why she devoted most of the story to the whodunit storyline. The ending seems rushed. In the last forty or so pages, it seems that Weiner suddenly remembers that she's almost reached her deadline and has to wrap up the story, so she does a quick resolution regarding Kitty's murder and leaves the heroine's issues unresolved. The unresolved thing is fine with me in books. After all, literature mirrors life, and not everything is wrapped up in a neat little bow in life, but I feel cheated in this one. I would have liked to have known if she'd settle for Ben or risk everything and go for Evan, who is an interesting character in that he's flawed and not a perfect romantic hero (he, after all, is seducing a married woman with kids). It left me feeling as if the heroine's life hadn't been interesting enough to even give it a dignified semi-resolution. Instead of doing that, the author decides to resolve Kitty's parentage, which, to be honest, was of very little interest to me. (Maybe, just maybe, Weiner intends to write a sequel, or turn the whole housewife-slash-sleuth thing into a series, in which case I can understand the loose ends.) Ah, well. Goodnight Nobody is a great, entertaining read. Perhaps you'll enjoy it -- warts and all.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not bad

This is definitely my least favorite of all Jennifer Weiner's books. Its not exactly like her other books which made it hard to get into in the beginning, but I did become more interested as i kept reading. Weiner is a great author and everything she writes is just amaz...
This is definitely my least favorite of all Jennifer Weiner's books. Its not exactly like her other books which made it hard to get into in the beginning, but I did become more interested as i kept reading. Weiner is a great author and everything she writes is just amazing, so yes I would recommend this book. Even if it doesn't seem like much when you first start reading, stick it out because it really does get better.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodnight Nobody

    I enjoyed Weiner's witty dialogue and wonderful voice. I also enjoyed the backdrop of suburbia, giving the novel a Desperate Housewives-meets-Susan-Isaacs feel to it, but things sort of go downhill about halfway through the story. Kate's life is underdeveloped. Her married life is of very little consequence in the novel. Yes, her husband works a lot and is hardly ever home, and we all know that she's not in love with him, but some more scenes and interactions between them wouldn't have hurt. Most of the scenes center on Kate playing the amateur sleuth, leaving her kids under her friend's care for most of the novel. Her history with Evan McKenna is very interesting, and I would have liked to see more scenes with them together, but again, there is very little of that in the novel. It gave me the impression that even the author herself thought the heroine's life was boring and that is why she devoted most of the story to the whodunit storyline. The ending seems rushed. In the last forty or so pages, it seems that Weiner suddenly remembers that she's almost reached her deadline and has to wrap up the story, so she does a quick resolution regarding Kitty's murder and leaves the heroine's issues unresolved. The unresolved thing is fine with me in books. After all, literature mirrors life, and not everything is wrapped up in a neat little bow in life, but I feel cheated in this one. I would have liked to have known if she'd settle for Ben or risk everything and go for Evan, who is an interesting character in that he's flawed and not a perfect romantic hero (he, after all, is seducing a married woman with kids). It left me feeling as if the heroine's life hadn't been interesting enough to even give it a dignified semi-resolution. Instead of doing that, the author decides to resolve Kitty's parentage, which, to be honest, was of very little interest to me. (Maybe, just maybe, Weiner intends to write a sequel, or turn the whole housewife-slash-sleuth thing into a series, in which case I can understand the loose ends.) Ah, well. Goodnight Nobody is a great, entertaining read. Perhaps you'll enjoy it -- warts and all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    not bad

    This is definitely my least favorite of all Jennifer Weiner's books. Its not exactly like her other books which made it hard to get into in the beginning, but I did become more interested as i kept reading. Weiner is a great author and everything she writes is just amazing, so yes I would recommend this book. Even if it doesn't seem like much when you first start reading, stick it out because it really does get better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Great book

    This book had a very slow start, and I almost gave up on it. Once it pulled me in, I had a hard time putting it down. The author did a very good job with all the characters she wrote about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    fun book

    fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    To Nightbird

    My name is Stormpatch. I am a black shecat with ginger swirls on my pelt, white paws, ginger eartips & tailtip & electric blue eyes flecked with bright gold. I am very interested in having kits. If ur want me go to love first result.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great book!

    Great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Surprisingly Enjoyable!!

    The first book by Jennifer Weiner that I attempted to read for Good In Bed but I never finished it and never will. I was hesitant to buy this book after having such a bad read with her other book but I was pleasantly surprised. This was a wonerful book that I just could not put down. Finished it in two days because I could not stop turning the page to see what was going to happen next. I'm not hooked on Weiner yet but I will give another one of her books a try and hope it goes just as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    wat.

    these reviews are weird.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great read

    I totally enjoyed this book but was a little nonplussed at the ending. Im hoping a series is in the works because Id like to see more of this character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    To stonedream

    Thxxx im glad u are so how many kits do you have if u want to talk u should go to royut result one thats my tom!! C u there luvv uu 2!! XD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    To nightbird

    Hi im Greenstar the leader of color clan.i REALY REALY REALY REALY REALY REALY REALY REALYREALY REALY REALY REALY REALY............................ want kit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Emeraldlight to Nightbird

    I will be your mate i really want to have kits too!!! If interested go to shampoo all results

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Courtney

    Pulls away and sighs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    That song

    Erm...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Novastar

    MOSSCLAW!! I MISSED U!! WHERE U BEEN BRO?!~Novastar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Cole to Silvermoonstar

    Hey its me Mossclaw u know the rapper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    That song

    Didnt really have an effect untul i realized i just wasted my time....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    This song...

    Sucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Different in a good way

    Try it..... not my favorite by J.W but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11