Customer Reviews for

Goodnight iPad: A Parody for the Next Generation (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very cute book

I am giving this book to my grandchildren at bedtime on Christmas night after they have received their IPads from us for Christmas so they will know they have to put them down at bedtime Cute short sweet colorful book I think I would even list it as an easy reader f...
I am giving this book to my grandchildren at bedtime on Christmas night after they have received their IPads from us for Christmas so they will know they have to put them down at bedtime Cute short sweet colorful book I think I would even list it as an easy reader for a young reader like my Grandson is

posted by cablegal837 on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Very good book hahahaha!

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    Very cute book

    I am giving this book to my grandchildren at bedtime on Christmas night after they have received their IPads from us for Christmas so they will know they have to put them down at bedtime Cute short sweet colorful book I think I would even list it as an easy reader for a young reader like my Grandson is

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    I will be looking for a mouse.

    I have three girls, and to this day they still said that good night moon is one of there best loved children books. I know that santa will be putting this new book under each of there christtma trees if for nothing else but nostalgia. I do hope they read it to my grandchildren though, and it becomes one for them to love

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Looks good

    I love good night moon so this looks funny.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I absolutely love this book! It's for sure a book for the next g

    I absolutely love this book! It's for sure a book for the next generation, which is my son! This book is so much fun to read!!!!
    Easy read also.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Hilarious!

    LOL!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    A modern technology take on a bed time classic, this parody make

    A modern technology take on a bed time classic, this parody makes an excellent gift for young and old alike. Aspiring techies will delight at references to their favorite app based past times, from "birds launching over the moon" to "Netflix streams." Older generations, of course, will love the overall gist of the book: Put down the electronics and go to bed! A silly read that is highly recommended.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Good book

    Very good book hahahaha!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Fun and Timely

    After having read Good Night Moon on a regular basis to my children, this was a delightful change for my grandchildren. My how times have changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Last Christmas when I was four days away from giving birth, my y

    Last Christmas when I was four days away from giving birth, my younger brother gave me Darth Vader and Son, and my older brother gave me Goodnight iPad (it was a truly awesome Christmas). This book is absolutely hilarious. I wouldn't say it's a mockery of the original, Goodnight Moon, I'd say it's more a mockery of modern life and a tribute to Goodnight Moon. This is a perfect gift for plugged in parents, or parents with plugged in children who are fed up with all the craziness that is our world. This book is just great. It keeps the cadence of the original while thoroughly skewering all the signs of our times.

    ** This review originally published at Lector's Books **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Humor for all ages

    I lovew everything about this little parody, even the name of the author. I read it with my techie daughter and we laughed out loud. Based on Good Night Moon, it makes you realize how silly the original book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Recommended highly or techies and their kids

    The classic has modern competition. Today's children, who week to be born with tech skills, will relate to this wonderful bedtime story. Parents will also relate to the modern tale which evokes memories of their own childhood classic. A truly modern classic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Funny and Perfect For Today's Families

    We gave this parody to two families at Christmas. They found it to be funny and a good description of what goes on in families today. The children also enjoyed it, because they are familiar with the original Goodnight Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved It

    Witty and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Well

    If this exsits, i don't want to live on this planet anymore

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In this high-tech age of iPads, iPods, iPhones, and iEverythings

    In this high-tech age of iPads, iPods, iPhones, and iEverythings, is it any wonder there is now a book putting all these gadgets to bed?




    In a parody of - what else? - Goodnight Moon, author Ann Droyd first introduces all the electronic devices that are in use in one home. In light-hearted prose:
    In the bright buzzing room
    There was an iPad
    And a kid playing Doom
    And a screensaver of - 
    A bird launching over the moon
    So much humming, so much buzzing, so much...NOISE! Poor old granny needs to get some sleep but with all the beeping, clicking, and clacking, how can she? "That's it!" she declares and sets about to shut down all the gadgets:
    Goodnight remotes
    And Netflix streams
    Androids, apps,
    And glowing screens
    Goodnight iPad is a delightful, silly look at today's crazy world of electronics and how they have invaded our lives. While written as a children's book, it's really teens and adults who will appreciate this book the most. And the best part of this book? At the very end, two of the stars of the story cuddle in bed and use a flashlight to read...Goodnight Moon!




    Quill says: Put down the iPad and read a book! If you feel anxiety while doing this, try reading Goodnight iPad first to help you transition to the land of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Lol

    Lol the authors name is ann droyd ..lol likr,e android lol looks funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sad

    Sad to turn a good classic into electronical stories. Apple stuff is taking pover good old books. They will go away. NO BOOKS?!? (Says the girl with a nook) BUT SSSTTTTIIIIIILLLL! :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Tttttt

    Great cute book, I read it in a store and liked it. It's wonderful for little kids that like Good Night Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Story

    *note* this story began at the book "dead on the island". To see beginning of story, go there.
    ***********

    "Anno, stop it. Im just a little sad, you know, because she was so little, only 12. I mean, shes still alive. She will be for a while. But she really trusted me. But...."
    "But what?" boomed Anno. "What? I cant believe you are taking the little twerp's side when she will eventually try to kill us! Pull yourself together, Dare. We have to survive here!"
    Dare's face flushed with anger. "You know what, Anno, you're right. I do have to pull myself together. But not in the way you want me too. Sorry, Anno. Im going back to the ally that didnt reprimand me like i was their child. Screw you."
    ***********
    I hear a rustling in the trees. I become scared. These games have done that to me. I look up and become more terrified. Dare! She's probably come to kill me!
    "Hey..." she says. "Hey, Rebeca! Im sorry. I really am. I ditched Anno! I...I..." Then she did something really suprising. She sat on the ground and...she cried. I couldnt help it. I dashed out of my hiding place and ran up to her. "Dare!" I cried, but not too loud. If she wasnt lying to me, Anno was probably out for blood.
    "Rebeca? Oh, where were you? Im so sorry! So, so sorry! I was so thoughtless, and mean, and a bully, and-
    I laughed. "Its okay! Just dont try to kill me again, alright? Or i will have to kill you too!"
    We hugged. It was nice to have an ally again.
    ***************-
    *to be continiued on the book "entwined". Thanx for reading!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2