Customer Reviews for

Goodreads

Average Rating 3.5
( 570 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Great app

This is a good way to keep track of the books I've read and the ones that I would like to read. The ranking of books also helps me remember whichnons I enjoyed enough to go beck and re-read.

posted by 7607495 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

102 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

No longer works...

This app worked well for the first few days. I can't remember if I had installed this before the 1.4.1 update for my Nook Color or after, but all I know is it no longer works. Launching the app shows the flash screen saying "goodreads" and then the screen slides away to...
This app worked well for the first few days. I can't remember if I had installed this before the 1.4.1 update for my Nook Color or after, but all I know is it no longer works. Launching the app shows the flash screen saying "goodreads" and then the screen slides away to the left and I'm left with an all-black screen. Even after waiting for a considerable amount of time, the app never gets past this point. If anyone ever reads these reviews, someone please fix this!

posted by patches_mcmatt on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No longer works...

    This app worked well for the first few days. I can't remember if I had installed this before the 1.4.1 update for my Nook Color or after, but all I know is it no longer works. Launching the app shows the flash screen saying "goodreads" and then the screen slides away to the left and I'm left with an all-black screen. Even after waiting for a considerable amount of time, the app never gets past this point. If anyone ever reads these reviews, someone please fix this!

    102 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Cannot Scan Barcodes with Nook!

    I don't know why it's listing that you can scan barcodes and add books to your list. You can't scan anything with the Nook as there's no camera. They should at least remove that claim, even if it is a free app.

    19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    My Books not working

    This app is wonderful on my Android phone, but I am having the same problem as others with My Books just kicking me back to the home screen. I use My Books to decide what I want to purchase, and if this app is fixed on my Nook I will be more likely to buy my books through it.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Eh

    App is extremely limited. I couldn't find any way to add or move books on my shelves. I can browse books and reviews, but I can do that on my nook without any apps whatsoever. I can browse my shelves...

    The only useful thing about it is that I can view my To Read shelf, which might help me pick a book to purchase. But I like my apps to have some amount of interactive functionality beyond simple browsing, and this app simply doesn't provide that.

    On the other hand, I highly recommend their website, where you can create shelves of books you have read, or want to, or that you recommend, or your best-of lists for specific genres... you can write reviews and blogs, interact with other members, and generally have a bibliophilic old time... all things that the app currently lacks.

    If they improve functionality in the future, or if I'm just dumb and have missed it all somehow, I will happily write a better review. I really hope to, as Goodreads is one of my favorite websites, and I would love to see that reflected in their app,

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Want to intigrate with nook library

    I dont like that it wont intigrate my current nook libray.. waste of time to have to enter everything twice

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Can't get to My Books

    My Books doesn't work just like others. Please fix.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Poorly designed

    Using this app is nearly as time consuming as fiddling with the website itself with your device's browser. For one thing, you cannot even update your progress through a book without an internet connection. For another thing, each page takes FOREVER to load. This especially becomes a problem when adding books to shelves, because you have to wait for the app to communicate with the site after every single button-push. If you are like me and like to put one book in at least five different shelves, for example shelving it as a notable example of a particular genre or trope, adding a book to your shelves can take at least five minutes, if not ten.
    This app is clunky, ugly, and hard to navigate. It is organized completely unintuitively and lacks access to certain parts of the desktop site completely, the most noticable of which would be Listopia. I use Listopia far more extensively than I do recommendations, so this little omission is particularly annoying to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Idk

    This worked for the longest time now its just says installing and wont let me delete so i can reinstall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Easier to use the website

    I like Goodreads and find most of my new reads through the website. Thought I'd love the app but it doesn't have the features I use on the site. Where are my reccomendations? Don't use it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Disapointing!

    I was excited about this ap, but find it difficult to navigate. I have shelves but can't figure out how to put books on them. I can't find a way to get recomendations. Sadly I don't recomend thus ap.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Once again an app that wont work

    This app worked fine at first but now it wont update even after archiving. This same problem is happening with almost all my other apps as well. When are you going to fix this problem?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I have found this app very handy to track what I have read and w

    I have found this app very handy to track what I have read and what I want to read.
    Contains reviews from others. You can also see lists from friends or book club members.
    Alerts when wish list books are available. I also have this on my iPhone and it allows you to scan the barcode to add a book to your to read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Okay

    This is okay for keeping track of the books you want to read or have read. As a "social app" it would be much better if it integrated with facebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Won't work

    I can't get this to come up on my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Ugh

    It used to be great then all of a sudden it wouldnt open. No matter how much i archive it and unarchive it, nothing works! At least it was free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Needs improvement

    This app is ok if you only want to access your books and see what friends are reading. It is much easier to explore and navigate with the iphone app, so I usually skip using the nook app and go straight to the iphone app.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Consistently crashes

    Ever since the latest Nook software upgrade, the app crashes all the time! I'm forced to use my phone or computer to post updates.

    Come to think of it, it would BE REALLY COOL if this app could somehow connect into the SHARE functionality on Nook so I wouldnt have to do any double entry. That, or all my friends could buy Nooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    To delete

    You have to hook your nook up to the computer to remove books and apps off of your nook

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Uggh-missing Goodreads!

    Should have read reviews before i did update! I use this daily- hope it gets fixed soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Good read bad app

    It will not allow you to access your shelves, very frustrating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3