Customer Reviews for

Goodreads

Average Rating 3.5
( 559 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Great app

This is a good way to keep track of the books I've read and the ones that I would like to read. The ranking of books also helps me remember whichnons I enjoyed enough to go beck and re-read.

posted by 7607495 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

98 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

No longer works...

This app worked well for the first few days. I can't remember if I had installed this before the 1.4.1 update for my Nook Color or after, but all I know is it no longer works. Launching the app shows the flash screen saying "goodreads" and then the screen slides away to...
This app worked well for the first few days. I can't remember if I had installed this before the 1.4.1 update for my Nook Color or after, but all I know is it no longer works. Launching the app shows the flash screen saying "goodreads" and then the screen slides away to the left and I'm left with an all-black screen. Even after waiting for a considerable amount of time, the app never gets past this point. If anyone ever reads these reviews, someone please fix this!

posted by patches_mcmatt on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Hang up

    Great app, only problem is when you try to go to a specific author the app has an error and force closes, hope this problem it fixed soon. Makes it hard to see all books by a author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Fun!

    Fun to see what my friends are reading. Good recommendations based on what I have read and rated. A nice social network for readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Love goodreads

    Good app, easy to navigate etc. I do wish my 'to read' books could sync with my nook wishlist somehow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great

    Great way to keep track of what you've read and to share with multiple friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Loves to Read

    This a a pretty good app but I am still learning how to use it. If you love books and would like to now what your friends are reading and let them know what you are reading or have read you will enjoy this app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Works great!

    I love using Good reads, so I am glad there is an app for it on the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Goodreads

    It opened very quickly and seemed to work just fine, but I don't have a profile so I have no idea how that could affect it. My only problem is that you can't search by genre. You can search by title, author, or both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    A Great Tool for Book-Lovers

    The only thing this app lacks is the ability to change things on your account. Otherwise, this app is a great way for the bibliophile to keep track of their reading progress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Love it!

    Great way to find a god book to read and see what friends are reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Colin Toibin, Brooklyn

    Excellent novel depicting move from small village in Ireland of the young Eilis Lacey to Brooklyn in late 1940's. With the help of the parish priest in Brooklyn, she gets a job in Brooklyn, and a place to live in a boarding house. She is cut off from all she knew, but meets a young Italian (Tony) at a church dance, and a romance builds. Then, when her sister Rose dies, she marries Tony before returning to Ireland. Complications ensue.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good

    Meh its okay better than most apps though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Goodreads

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Okok,

    Everyone, just so you know, this is an app that is based from a website,so if it says you can scan barcodes it probably means that you can if you have a computer or have the app on your phone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great app for organizing your reads!

    Easy to navigate and easy to use overall a great app

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book!

    I just finished reading The Wedding Gift, by Lucy Kevin. Really good book. I enjoyed it very much and am looking forward to reading more of her books! I loved the way the food angle was woven through the story!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No bad

    I've used it extensively for the past week and haven't encountered any issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Recommended if you use the Goodreads website

    I do the bulk of my GR account updating on the Goodreads website, however, this is a nice little app for quickly updating my status or checking out GR reviews on a book that the Nook store has recommended for me. The only function that has not worked well for me is the "My Books" listing, however, I have 200+ book reviews on GR, so this may work if you have a smaller book list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Glad it's available in the Nook Store

    I like this app. I forgot to add it before the great Nook lockdown of 1.4.1. Glad it's here. It works fine, but I installed after the update.

    It has the main functions of the site, reviewing, page updating and shelving. Those functions work great. One issue i have is editing shelve names. Also when adding books to a shelf, you can't specify editions and once a book is added, there is no intuitive way to go back to the main screen. The back button on the NT is tiny and can be missed. After a book is added it should return to a search screen or the book's page. This would be a good place for edition selection. Having George Clooney on the cover of the Solaris is embarrasing.

    Goodreads would be nice if it synced with the nook reader. Heck it would be brilliant if this app had a built in epub reader... Hear that goodreads?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    For True Readers

    Great to have a site to share with other lovers of reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Help!

    How do you get the app on your nook? How long does it take?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7