Customer Reviews for

The Goose Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(420)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Magical!

This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one...
This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one! Princess Academy is the only other book in Shannon Hale's novels that I would suggest. The other books have suggestive content. I think girls who love farytales will love this book ! - I suggest ages 12 and up...

posted by pinkfairytale on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have not read but would like if...

Is this a long book ? Is it a chapter bookk ?

posted by 18970334 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical!

    This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one! Princess Academy is the only other book in Shannon Hale's novels that I would suggest. The other books have suggestive content. I think girls who love farytales will love this book ! - I suggest ages 12 and up...

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved it!!!!!!!
    This is the first book in the series
    The second one is Emma Burning
    The third is River Secrets
    And the last one is Forest Born

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Well Written Young Adult Fairy Tale

    I started reading Goose Girl at my son's middle school while waiting for him to get out of class so I could drive him home. I was engrossed after the first few pages, and when it came time to leave, I wanted to check out the book, but discovered that they don't let adults/parent volunteers check books out of his school library, only the kids are allowed to do that. Since I know my son would be embarrassed at having to check out a book that looks like it was geared toward girls, I relented and bought my own copy.
    It was a fast read, with a plot that ran swift and true. The prose is clean and understated, yet beautiful enough to frame a fairy tale. I was surprised at the darkness the author managed to slip in, but was glad of the ending, which was good but not sticky sweet.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I absloutely adore this series!

    Shannon Hale is an awesome writer. I've read all her books, and I have to say, this series is the best thing ever! I despise all the paranormal romance junk that clutters up the bookshelves today, and this series is great. It has sweet romances, and it's not inappropriate at all, and there's no deep, incredibly boring junk either. It's fast paced, and I promise you, it's so worth buying. I've read and reread it at least four times in the past few months! I would reccommend this series for any girl who likes strong willed girls fending for themselves, and falling in love. :)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Great Use of the English Language!

    I read this book for an English class once and it did not disappoint. Hale writes with a unique richness and utilizes the English language with such skill and aplomb and uses words that fit meaning and make the reader enjoy the sounds that the language has to offer. Her use of simple similes and metaphors tops of this ice cream sundae. Not only is the language beautiful, but Hale creates a great tale that emphasizes themes of love, friendship, the essence of a human, and secretly shows us the "real" meaning of social class. The twists and turns come at the perfect time and Hale makes you ask for more. Definitely a great read no matter who you are!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it!

    I loved it so much! It was full of suspense, adventure, and romance. Those are the main traits I look for in books. I couldn't put the book down. I really loved how Shannon Hale put it in Ani's point of view because you can see what's really happening in the book like you're really there!There're also parts when her maid and other servants betrayed her which I really hate, but i'm glad Ani handled it well! I am so sad for her horse though, but atleast she got her happy ending. Plus, her talent of controlling wind is very useful. Shannon Hale is a great author, she si one of my ultimate favorite authors. I also read the sequels of Goose Girl. I give this book a thumbs up!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    The Best Book Ever

    The only book I have ever read that is better than this is the 4th book in the series. Need I say more? The book is filled to the brim with action,love,murder,and suspence(all if which I love).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    THE FIRST TIME I READ THIS BOOK I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN EVEN TO EAT!!! I THINK THAT SHANNON HALE IS A MARVOLUS AUTHOR AND I JUST LOVE ALL HER BOOKS!!! NOW I HAVE READ IT OVER 7 TIMES AND HAVE JUST BEGAN TO RE-READ IT. EVERYTHING IN THIS BOOK IS WONDERFULLY EXPLAINED WITH DISCRIPTIVE DETAILS THAT KEEP YOU HOOKED UNTIL THE END!!! ANI'S LOVE WITH GERIC IS SO CUTE!!! AND THERE IS SO MUCH SUSPENCE AT THE END!!!
    P.S. I HAVE THE FIRST 2 PARAGRAPHS MEMORIZED!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Awesome book

    Ok this book is like my kind of book it's so, fun and anventurous it's just awesome.... you have to read it if you haven't already. =D

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Dear shannon

    OMG!!!!one of the best books ever

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

    Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, the first-born princess of Kildenree, didn't open her eyes for three days after her birth. Ani was born with a special gift for listening. She also has a gift with the wind she does not discover for a time. Her aunt taught her to talk to animals when she was young. But because of this gift, Kildenreans do not trust her. They do not trust anything different. Ani's mother, the queen, sends her off to marry the crown prince of another country, Bayern, instead of letting the Crown Princess eventually inheirit the crown. Along the way, Selia, Ani's greedy lady-in-waiting, convinces half of Ani's guard to rebel in an attempt to kill Ani and tell all the Bayerners Selia is actually Ani. Ani escapes the attempt on her life, but not the identity theft. She gets a job in the capital keeping geese, and learns of Selia's evil plan to conceal her misdeeds. Selia has convinced the king and prince Kildenree is planning an attack, and that Bayern should attack first. Kildenree will be butchered! In the meantime, Ani has become friends with some animal workers, especially Enna, learned to use her gift with the wind, and met- and fell in love with- Geric, supposedly a servant of the prince. Can Ani stop Selia? Read the book to find out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    The Books of Bayren

    Ani lives a unique life. She is crown princess of Kildenree. Her aunt taught her to speak to the birds. She can speak telepathically with her stallion Falada. All because of the three gifts. The first animal speaking, the ability to understand the languages of animals. The second nature speaking, able to speak to elements of nature such as wind or fire. Third people speaking, the ability to talk people into just about anything to convince them with clever spoken words. When her father dies her mother decides to break it ro her that she is no longer next in line to the throne her brother will rule after her mother and Ani will have to journey through the mountains to Bayren to marry the prine there. Ani's lady in waiting Selia ( a people speaker ) convinces half of Ani's escort she should really be princesss, they revolt but Ani escapes. Everyone thinks Selia is the princess. Left on her own having no idea what life is like outside a palace Ani has to fend for herself, so she becomes a goose girl called Isi. The question is not only, how will Ani stop Selia and get her prince, but how will she survive Selia's henchmen who are out to kill her so Selia's position as princess is secure.

    I love this book. Its really good. It has action, romance, and a tinge of magic that makes it other worldly yet not so far from reality.
    There are 4 books in The Books of Bayren series I have read them all and declare their amazingness. This is the first book The Goose Girl. The second book is about Isi's friend Enna ( an animal worker in the Goose Girl who looks after the chickens ) it is aproprietly called Enna Burning. The third book is about Isi's and Enna's Razo ( an animal worker in the Goose Girl who takes care of the sheep) it is called River Secrets. The fourth and sadly last book is called Forest Born and is about Razo's sister Rinna.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read!

    It's a perfect balance of princess and adventure! Definately one of my all-time favorites!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EnnaIsMyHero

    Shannon Hale's books are the best books i have ever read, i can read them over and over again without getting bored or tired of it. I love how she describes everything so well, it is like a movie that is playing in my mind. In Shannon's books, I like to put myself into the characters position and try to feel exactly how they feel. I just wanted to thank Shannon for being an author and writing wonderful books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    This is by far one of the best books I've ever read. I love read

    This is by far one of the best books I've ever read. I love reading books in the fantasy/fairytale/fiction genre, and this is the best one I have laid eyes on yet. I was first introduced to Shannon Hale's work in 6th grade when I was required to read Princess Academy for my English class. I fell in love immediately with the way that Shannon Hale wrote her stories. It was so magical and romantic, yet practical in a way. After discovering the sequel to Princess Academy; Princess Academy: Palace of Stone, I looked for more of Shannon Hale's work. I then discovered the Goose Girl. I admit to being a bit skeptical of the book at first, since I normally don't like how authors now days re-write classic fairy tales, but I was proved wrong. This book was AMAZING!!!! I was instantly wound-up in to Ani (Isi)'s world along with all of her pains, and joys, and love, and hurt. It was beautifully painful to feel as though I was Ani on her journey of not only discovering who her true friends were, but of who she really was. And constantly throughout this book, and throughout this series, she finds out more about herself, who she is, and who she can become. I HIGHLY recommend this book, as well as the series and all of Shannon Hale's books!!!!

    Note: I would suggest being in at least 5th grade before reading this book. This is mostly because of the reading level, but also because there were some moments that younger children may not be able to handle the image in their mind of. I for one have a very vivid imagination, and found it a bit hard to read past this moments due to the image I saw. But this, of course, is for the reader, or reader's parent to decide.

    I hope that this was a helpful review!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Best book in all hystory of books!!!!!!!!!

    This book was so thrilling,yet sweet,mystical,and overall just amazing!! I am in love with this book i would recommend it to any one. This is the best book i have ever read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Hi

    Amazing book. Love it so much!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Im in love!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Tie with Enna Burning as fav. I was taken by this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    best book ever!

    This book is so amazing. Trust me on this. I am not one of those crazy people that just say that it is good to write a review for attention. I am actually nineteen...not. U love cake

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    To the review 4 below and a review

    This is actually the first in a group of books tht ar not really a series but they go together. They have the sam character and place and things but its a different book! (Kind of like Gail Carson Levine's boks) An amazing book at that! The next book is Enna Burning I believe an that so is definatly a must read as a follow up of this one! I hav read thus book almost 10 timed and I enjoy avery minute of it! Goes slightly slower at times but makes up for it right away! Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27