Customer Reviews for

The Goose Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Magical!

This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one...
This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one! Princess Academy is the only other book in Shannon Hale's novels that I would suggest. The other books have suggestive content. I think girls who love farytales will love this book ! - I suggest ages 12 and up...

posted by pinkfairytale on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have not read but would like if...

Is this a long book ? Is it a chapter bookk ?

posted by 18970334 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Pretty Good

    I think this book was pretty good. The beginning kind of got me worrying. I had to read this for school. The first chapters are a little boaring. But when you get into it it gets better. Shannon Hale is a great writer. Thats what makes the interesting. She uses metaphores and simalies. The ending I liked but it was a little rush. I think more could have been added. Every time Ani was in trouble. You sometimes really thought she would be killed. I think you like a book with good writing, fantasy, and romance, this is the books for you. I also recomend the Warrior series, Harry Potter series, Inkheart series, Percy and the Olympians series, and the book The Sea of Trolls. BYE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book that everyone is going to enjoy

    I thought Goose Girl was a great book! It was a fun easy to read book that had a lot of emotional depth. You really feel for the main character as she makes her choices. She has a hard life growing up and as the stroy goes on it was great to see her change from someone who is very timid to a young woman with confidence. You really do fall in love with the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    cute

    this book is really cute..its not the best but i would reccomend this book to people who like fantasy and a little bit of susppense combined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute.

    The Goose Girl was nicely done, it was my first Shannon Hale novel, but I can see why she is such a popular author. The lively characters and settings kept me reading even when the story ran a little clichéd. Goose Girl¿s ending has everything a fairytale reader enjoys and I suspect fans of Gail Carson Levine will also love this story and its companions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Swan Girl

    Awesome book! Shannon Hale made me feel like I was Ani. My fave part is where she meets Geric! Can't tell you any more, YOU HAVE TO READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Fun read for all ages!

    This is the first of Shannon Hale's books that I have read, but I'm excited to read more! The story had fun and unexpected twists, relatable characters, and enough adventure, humor, sweetness, and romance to satisfy everyone. My younger brother recommended this book to me, and I enjoyed it just as much as he did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Goose Girl

    hey, this was a pretty good book, no question. i liked it for the most part. to me though, it was kind of slow in the beginning. sometimes, you just get hooked on a book and you can't do anything until you finish it. this, ladies and gentlemen, is not one of them. sure, i love the story line and all the characters (especially Razo and Finn). i think you should read this book if you're into fairy tales and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Goose Girl

    hey, this was a great book, no doubt. even so, it was still slow in the beginning. it didn't grab my attention like some books. it started slow, but when it did pick up the pace, i couldn't put it down. i had to read it. shannon hale is one of fantasy's best story tellers right now. anything by her is worth picking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    nice fairy tale

    i think Shannon Hale has a good grip on the imaginary mind for a good tale. I read it in three days mostly because I had a couple of days off from work. A good book for the real 'princesses' to read and think about what you would do if you were in Ani's place. Ani had to servive her situation and get ready to be a real princess. She would learn to speak and say the right things to move ideas that would make changes for her kingdom and what would keep the peace for two nighboring nations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Magical

    The storytelling's so rich and lush it made me feel like a kid again, with its power to truly let your imagination rise and expand along with it. A fairy tale that people of all ages should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Good Book!

    This was a really good book! The characters were really well-defined and I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Goose Girl

    I loved this book, I read it when it first came out. The characters and the plot are both superb, and it never drags. Unlike many fairy tale remakes it stays true to the original, everything that is in the original has been included into the book. My only quarrel with it was that the fire/Enna subplot (of a sort) was never brought about or concluded in any way. I was so happy when I found out there is going to be a whole other book on Enna. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4