Customer Reviews for

The Goose Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 511 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Magical!

This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one...
This is one of my favorite fairytale books ever! Even though it does not pass Ella Enchanted on my chart it is very closely following. It is a very sweet tale, a bit sad in parts , and heart racing in others. None of Shannon Hales books are even half as good as this one! Princess Academy is the only other book in Shannon Hale's novels that I would suggest. The other books have suggestive content. I think girls who love farytales will love this book ! - I suggest ages 12 and up...

posted by pinkfairytale on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have not read but would like if...

Is this a long book ? Is it a chapter bookk ?

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Goose Girl

    This book is absolutely fabulous!!!! Great read and I find myself unable to stop reading it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Aaaaahhhh

    It rockes best book ever read it!!!!! Ani is the best careter im not going ti tell u what the book is about because i xont what to spoil it plus it is chepe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Awesome book

    I loved this book so much. Shannon Hale is one of my best authors. I couldn't stop reading this book and stayed up till midnight to try and finish it! I love fairytales and action mixed together and this book has it all! Thank you Shannon Hale for creating this masterpiece!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    I LOVE this book!

    This is a version of the fairy tale, "the goose girl". Personally, however, I think Shannon Hale does a better job with the storytelling. There are four books in the series: The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born. All 4 are wonderful, though I like The Goose girl and Forest Born the best. I would deffinetly reccomend this series to anyone and everyone, especially because they are so easy to relate to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is one that goes straight to your heart! I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    HELP

    Does anyone know what order you are supposed to read these books? I know you read The Goose Girl before Enna Burning and Forest Born, but what order do you read them in, and when do you read River Secrets. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!
    Oh and great bok to. ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Great book

    Really enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    LOVE IT

    Love it a lot!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    DW

    Next book: search Deep and Dark and Dangerous by mary downing hahn. This is by far my favorite book by this amazing author, an intense ghost story about a 13 year od named Ali. The next clue will be in those reviews, named MDH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    AWESOME BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Kanaya 2:47

    Aaaaaaahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! I miss you!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Soooooooo...... here to start. We stayed at my dads cousin Shellies the first few night we were in Oklahoma. And I got to ride a motercycle!!!!!! Its actually called a mini bike because its a little bit shorter than a regular motercycle. So, my size ;) It was so mich fun!!!!! Than we were at U. Kevin and A. Michelles. Me and September slept in the living room. We watched the croods. She has tons of books!!!!!!! Tons!!! I want them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She has an awesome taste in books. Its cool, she has them color cordinated :) On friday we came to Bro. Wes and Sis. Michelles. Isacc said he needs to write Chance back. The Hayride was so fun!!!!!!! The actual hayride wasn't till 8 but everybody came at two. I hung out with september sometimes, Derek alot, Carlie (usually with Derek), and sometimes Kylea. Also I talked to Brandon a bit. I haven't seen him for quite a few years. Hes my second cousin and hes sixteen. I also breifly talked to Jared. Silass cousin. Derek asked Carlie on the hayride!!!!! :P They both like eachother. She's pretty nice. Oh and shes thirteen. On the hayride we sang kinda and than deciaded we wanted to make the other trailers here us so we all fake laughed really loud amd than howled and than sang happy birthday and than etc. Etc. :) It was rely fun :) There was a ton of youngkids! Me and Kyleas estimation is 200? There were people from a lot of places. I found out that it is the hayride that has been on the bourd. Oh and Uncle Kevin and Aunt Michelle left Saturday night. Like at midnight. On Sunday there was church of course and than we played volleyball and had dinner and I took more pictures. I have taken a ton of pictures. And videos. Mostly of Derek :P One if them is hilarious!!!!! I'll have to show you when I get home. Right now I'm up at Kylea and Isaccs. It's just us up here. Have you read eventine? Its pretty good. I read it on friday. Kylea has it. Isacc is atempting to suck out our brains with a stool at the moment while Kyleas playing poptropica. It's slightly comical. Oh. And I'm on the floor. The sundy you tols me about sounded fun. I was on the road for most of it -_- How was last sunday? Did you have a ton if fun without me? Wish I could have been there :,,,,(,,,,,, 'raindrops are falling in my head' ever heard that song? Its in one of the old spidermans. Its retarded. So how far are you on your quilt? Finihed? We ended up not bringing ours. Mom didn't want to have to worry about packing them along. Tomarrow I think we're planning on going to U. Kevin and A. Michelles in the morning. I'll most likely be able to get on tomarrow. Unless are plans get changed. I hope they don't. I jist thought of something. What if this doesnt post! :O I hope it does!!!!!!! I'm crossing my fingers.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Karley9:54

    Sorry i havnt got on here yet. I tryed to post on the hot list but it wouldnt let me and neither did as i wake. So your in oaklahoma now right? What have you been up to? Saturday i worked on my quilt, ate food, then we went to the library and i turned in 3 books that were weeks laye and i checked out the second michael vey book. Chanve is already finished with it and is ready for the third book! Then mom and i went to town while the boys hunted. ( chance killed a doe!) Mom and i went to TJ max and old navey and i got a couple of sweatshirts and shirts for school. Then we went home and mom and i ate dinner and chance and dad went to my boys and watched the duck game. Since the boys were gone i rented In Time!!! That movie is absolutely amazing, although there are some iffy parts. What movies have you been watching on your trip? Sunday the youngkids ate at a variety of places. Taco bell, kfc, amd panda express. Uncle jerry, rylan, taggurt, and rhiannon were down also so that was awesome!! They left monday. After we ate we went to gateway mall and then at 4:00 we went to silas's. We talked for a long time, and at some point we ate hay stacks and then icecream.... also some people played a game called jungle speed. Bailey was terrible at it ;) have you ever played it before? Silas definately acts different when your nit there....he doesnt talk as much....hes not shy, but hes quiet. Now when you get back you cant tell him i said this >:[ monday was just boring school, and at 4:30 i had a game against elmira. We vreamed them!!!! Tonight was quilt night and there was actually a lot of people there!! I didnt get much done......but..... have you been working on yoir quilt? How far are you in it? You should probably right down my questions..... i finished along for the ride. It was pretty good, but it wasnt amazing..... know what i mean? I also finished i heart you, you haunt me. It was ok. Now im reading dragons keep. Have you ever read it? Have you been reading anything lately? Oh... no i have never been on a plane but i want to.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    QUESTION

    Is this the second or third book in a series or something??? Please tell me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Beginning....

    Beginning boring but I let that slide and the next thing I know, i cant even put the damn book down!!!! Honestly. Its the best book in this genre i've read...and I think Geric is a hotty and i'm happy selia got what she deserves! I mean c'mon! Goose girl is definatley the princess and a pretty damn good one at that. Go girl and keep on talking to them geese. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    If you are elevan years old and looking a friend

    Find us in magic girl go to res 4 then chat awsy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    PLEASE READ

    Very good book...but the beginning is pretty sad. Dont take my word for it. Ive read like fifty or sixty pages and own the real thing not the ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Love this book! It's one of my favorites. So detailed, and so di

    Love this book! It's one of my favorites. So detailed, and so different from all the other popular books right now. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    It seems I have a fairy tale remix theme going on here but again

    It seems I have a fairy tale remix theme going on here but again, we find ourselves with a twist on a classic.  This time we introduce The Goose Girl (Books of Bayern) by Shannon Hale (one of my favorite authors), a Brothers Grimm story with twist.  Hale won a Newbery Honor Award for this novel and for good reason.  This coming of age journey is beautifully told and holds true to the test of time, even read as an adult. 

    The Goose Girl is a story about Princess Anidora-Kiladra (Ani for short) who is born a little different and is outcast from the very start.  We learn early on that she, like her outcast aunt, has a magical gift of speaking with animals, particularly birds.  This gift is dismissed as Ani grows and we come to find that her mother, the Queen, makes a political decision to betroth Ani to a neighboring Kingdom's Prince.  Half-way through her journey, her lady-in-waiting, Selah conspires with some of the guard and is overthrown.  Ani then goes into hiding and becomes a servant (the goose girl) to the kingdom that she is supposed to become Queen to.  Ani meets all sorts of characters while in disguise as she is trying to find her way to her rightful throne. 

    Hale does an excellent job of story-telling.  Her words paint a wonderful picture of the surroundings and colorful characters sprinkled within this tale, even the smaller characters have a flavor all their own.  Ani is a character you can really root for.  She is flawed and naive but grows in herself and with her abilities and becomes a confident young lady ready to stand up for what she believes in and finds her inner power.  I of course love the twists and revealing moments sprinkled throughout the chapters! A very thrilling, fun and adventurous twist on a classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    OMG !!!

    This is my absolutely favorite book and i recomend to all who like good stories that mess withyour emotions. This is really a greatt read and worth your money!!:) ps it deserves more stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Love It...

    Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21