Customer Reviews for

Gorgeous

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was goi

When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was going to be like. Books like this can go in so many wrong directions.
The beginning was just a little boring for me but once Prince Gregory came along I fell in love!! This is easily one of my favorite books....
When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was going to be like. Books like this can go in so many wrong directions.
The beginning was just a little boring for me but once Prince Gregory came along I fell in love!! This is easily one of my favorite books.
The messages that it sends are, to me, fantastic!
I really enjoyed Becky/Rebecca's interactions with the other characters in the book.  
I definitely recommend this book for everyone. 

posted by 18744436 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book was so poorly written. The plot was hugely flawed, the

This book was so poorly written. The plot was hugely flawed, the characters were shallow and underdeveloped (and I didn't care about them enough to want to know anything deeper anyway), and there was almost no logic in the way some of the transitions between events occu...
This book was so poorly written. The plot was hugely flawed, the characters were shallow and underdeveloped (and I didn't care about them enough to want to know anything deeper anyway), and there was almost no logic in the way some of the transitions between events occurred. Frankly, I'm surprised I even took the time to finish this sad excuse for literature. Thankfully I purchased this as an e-book so I didn't contribute to any additional environmental damage that this book would have caused by wasting all that precious paper.

posted by 6340287 on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was goi

    When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was going to be like. Books like this can go in so many wrong directions.
    The beginning was just a little boring for me but once Prince Gregory came along I fell in love!! This is easily one of my favorite books.
    The messages that it sends are, to me, fantastic!
    I really enjoyed Becky/Rebecca's interactions with the other characters in the book.  
    I definitely recommend this book for everyone. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I'm really critical on books and I was a bit reluctant to buy it

    I'm really critical on books and I was a bit reluctant to buy it seeing that it sounded a bit cliche but as soon as I began reading, I was swept into the story! I liked the Prince Gregory thing (he's like a mirror of the Duke William of England), and the family story behind it all. Now, I can say that I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who likes thier good dose of romance and comedy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Rags to Riches Tale that Tackles Real Issues Who doesn't love a

    Rags to Riches Tale that Tackles Real Issues

    Who doesn't love a great retelling of a classic fairytale? A unique spin on an old-time classic tale. That is exactly what Paul Rudnick did with Gorgeous. On the surface this story might feel very Young Adult (rags to riches), but when you start to peel back the layers, Rudnick really creates a story for all ages with lessons in self discovery, social media, influence and the dissection of wealth, power and beauty in a way that is very accessible to those young and old.

    Imagine living an ordinary life, having an ordinary job with ordinary dreams and aspirations. Then you turn 18 and find yourself with a rude life awakening when you come home to find you only living parent dead. With nowhere to turn and just a mysterious phone number to follow, Becky Randle beings her journey in this coming of age Cinderella-like story.

    Becky meets influential designer, Tom Kelly who offers Becky the deal of a lifetime, one she could not possibly decline: he’ll design three dresses to transform Becky from a nothing special girl into the most beautiful woman who ever lived - Rebecca Randle. Rebecca soon finds herself on the cover of magazines and starring in movies and falling for the heir to the British Throne, Gregory, Prince of England! This newfound beauty of course comes with perks as well as disadvantages and of course there is a catch: Becky needs to fall in love and get married within a year to retain her beauty. But what happens when Becky finds herself in love but wonders if the love in return is for kind-hearted Becky or gorgeous Rebecca?

    From the comedic Rocher and the outrageous Tom Kelly to the eccentric Queen of England (and her pack of corgis) and everyone in between, Rudnick does an amazing job building an outstanding cast of characters who all play a role in shaping this unique story. The plot is delicately mapped out and the stories intertwined to create a perfect web that is set to entangle your interest. The pace is just about right, maybe a little slow out of the gate but certainly picking up speed and setting a racing pace for the end that will keep you guessing how this Cinderella story will unfold. This is a perfect read for that trip to the beach or for an upcoming book club to discuss some very real issues that we all face in today's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Satisfied

    I realy wasn't feeling the story at first, but as I continued reading I felt a connection with Becky. A connectionI think most girls can relate with. Am I pretty? Do people even notice me? But on the way to answering those questions you find out who you really are, and when you kniw who you are life just falls into place. They should make a movie from this I'd love to see Tom Kelly's dresses! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    it looks very well written. I love the story line.

    it looks very well written. I love the story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    I loved this book! I recommend it to any teen girls. The only th

    I loved this book! I recommend it to any teen girls. The only thing I didn't like was that some parts were slow and boring, but otherwise an amazing novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Beautiful and amazing

    I truly loved the book it was wonderful there was romance and love mystery and suspense. I felt sorry for becky at times and cheered for her at others. Paul Rudnick is a truly wonderful auther who brought this book to life for me. I feel that anyone who reads this book will love and adore it. It teaches you that beauty is not as important as people make it out to be. A kind heart and love is worth so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1