Customer Reviews for

Gorky Park (Arkady Renko Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    fantastic!

    this is absolutely one of the best books i have ever read. the characters are wonderful, the stage is frightening but most of all, the dialogue is absolutely fabulous.this book is so good i find myself comparing it to other books. the dialogue is probably the best i have ever read and that's saying a lot.the plot is wonderful, the romance is believable. there is nothing wrong with this book. it is perfect.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Great Read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    A Great Thriller

    I have just re-read William Cruz Smith's wonderful 'Gorky Park.' Somehow Smith's work had escaped my notice since I read 'Gorky Park' nearly twenty years ago. It won't happen again. Smith creates complex characters and relationships with an eye -- and ear -- as sharp as John LeCarre's. 'Gorky Park' tells us of the wonderful Arkady Renko and the bureaucrats and cops, both Russian and American, with whom he must deal. It is very much a thriller with bloodshed and treachery throughout. But this is a carefully crafted book. Every character is multifaceted and believable. Highest recommendation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A stunning thriller. This book really blew me away. How do you i

    A stunning thriller. This book really blew me away. How do you investigate a murder when you keep running into roadblocks set up by your own superiors? Arkady Renko, patriot that he is, determines to get to the bottom of things. Along with Fatherland, this is probably the best of police investigations set in a totalitarian regime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Renko series is one of the best I've ever read. Arkady Renko

    The Renko series is one of the best I've ever read. Arkady Renko is a deep characterization of a man who is outside a system and yet molded by it. As you read the series you see the character's own realization of change. Though the change has come with many sorrows he trudges on. The writing is beautiful. Snow becomes a character. Chernobel lives on. The dialogue is sharp and at times hilarious. Now that Gorky Park is on the nook I am going to start at the beginning once again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK! WOULD TOTALLY RECOMMEND

    I had been looking for a book about Russia that was set in a more modern-day time period instead of during the beginning or middle of the Cold War. Gorky Park takes place when the Cold War is coming to an end and the Soviet Union is soon to be over thrown.

    Smith does a good job of showing how the government was run and what happen to those who didn't agree. GP is exciting, suspensful, and will keep you on the edge of your seat. I would definitely recommend this book to others and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Overall great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Mystery with a Spy twist

    The best view at a modern day Moscow yet. Cruz gives you great insight to the mystique and political intrigue of Russia. The characters are great and interesting along with a suspensful story and plot help give the book Gorky Park, a good name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1