Customer Reviews for

Gospel: A Novel

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    One of my all time favorties!

    I received this book as a gift from my college chaplain, and I was not able to put it down. It is so fascinating, and unlike books like the Davinci code, it is far better researched. I would reccommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    Why isn't he famous yet?!

    Mr. Barnhardt is the kind of author whose attentiveness to the reader borders on love affair. If Emma Who Saved My Life was a serenade to that reader, surely Gospel is symphony. It is a thouroughly immersive balance of intrigue and theosophy. A herculean research effort must have been required to bring such a thoughtful and entertaining book to bear. And when you read the critical praise before the title page you're bound to wonder: 'Why isn't he famous yet?!'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    It was a very long read, but extremely worthwhile and enjoyable.

    Lucy Dantan, a graduate student from the University of Chicago¿s Theology Department, is sent on a quest to find Dr. Patrick Virgil O¿Hanrahan¿a 6 foot 1inch, sixty five year old professor, who used to chair the Department until it was taken over by a colleague¿Dr. Shaughnessy.<BR/><BR/>Dr. O¿Hanrahan has disappeared with his assistant, Gabriel O`Donoghue, Lucy¿s childhood friend and fellow grad student at the University of Chicago. She is sent to Oxford where she finds Dr. O¿Hanrahan sans Gabriel. Dr. O¿Hanrahan has mortgaged his home and used all his savings in pursuit of new academic glories and is on the track of the Gospel of Matthias¿the 13th disciple who was named after Judas committed suicide. Upon meeting the professor, Lucy discovers that Gabriel has gone missing with the original copy of the gospel.<BR/><BR/>Dr. O¿Hanrahan has formed an alliance with Rabbi Mordechai Hersch¿and old friend who was raised in Brooklyn, and now heads the Theology Department at The Hebrew University in Jerusalem. As it turns out, The Hebrew University was the original owner of the document that is now believed to be The Matthias Gospel and Hersch has called upon his old friend, Dr. O¿Hanrahan, to help him translate the document.<BR/><BR/>Dr. O¿Hanrahan recruits Lucy to follow him and help him recover and decipher the famous Gospel.<BR/><BR/>What becomes apparently very clear right away is that not only is this document real, but that is wanted by the Franciscans, the Jesuits, the Italian Mafia, the Pope, the Masons, and by ¿The Promised Land¿ tele-evangelists. Each faction distrusts and despise the other and will do anything necessary to obtain and control the information in the gospel¿including murder and extortion.<BR/><BR/>What I found to be the most fascinating thing about the book is that each section starts with a section of the supposed Matthias Gospel¿¿I have lost my faith, Josephus¿¿first sentence in the book¿and we soon find out so has Dr. O¿Hanrahan. Not only that but Mathias¿ peregrination in the 76 AD is closely followed by the protagonists.<BR/><BR/>Thus the chase goes to Ireland, Italy, Greece, Jerusalem, Africa, and ends in Louisiana, USA, at the Promised Land Ministries main office.<BR/><BR/>Throughout all the adventures and chases, Dr. O¿Hanrahan has time to think about his life, his alcoholism, his ministry¿he was a Jesuit¿his wife and homosexual son, his failed career¿but what is most fun is how he makes fun of all religions in general¿and the Catholic in particular.<BR/><BR/>¿Thinking Christian scholars heathen like yourself and even old reprobates like me, have a challenge this century. Some of what we know of Christianity is garbage, some is certainly true. Some of the quotes in The New Testament of Paul and Jesus are the work of overzealous Early Church, some quotes are accurate. Some doctrines of Christianity have an essence of divinity, other practices are corrupt, rotten, certainly evil.¿<BR/><BR/>¿Not since the disastrous criminal Pius XII had there been a more conservative pope regarding his own divine authority that John Paul II. In addition to the intrusion in the Jesuit elections, he¿d toyed with the cloistered Carmelite order, demanding they return they return to the unworkable 1581 Constitutions of St. Teresa. John Paul¿s Cardinal Casaroli, hatchet man of the moment, had informed the nuns if they didn¿t like living in medieval squalor, they could leave the order. (It seemed to slip the infallible mind that Paul VI had approved the modernization of the Carmelites.)¿

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Gospel

    'Gospel' - not a title I would normally be attracted to, but I bought it, and read it, and loved it. During a 'spell of poverty,' I brought this book, along with several others, to a book-seller and sold it to tide me over. A day later, I regreted my decision and went back to the store to buy it back. Gone! Five years passed, but I always hoped to find 'Gospel' on a shelf somewhere among the millions of books in the hundreds of used-book stores in San Antonio. A new store opened about four blocks from my home last year, and I went in to browse - not hoping to find the focus of my many years' search. Just out of curiousity, I went to the 'B' section (authors, novels) and there it was! It was the same exact book I had sold five years before. In pristine condition. My name was on the leaf page (I'm surprised no one had blacked it out): 'This book belongs to Sallie M. Planty. Please Return.' 'Gospel' was returned to me and I have since shared it with many, many people who are searching - on the cusp of doubt about the gospels. It has always been returned. It continues to bring knowledge and laughter to those who are having doubts. Does it help solve those doubts? The joy of this book is that it raises even more doubts. Wonderful! Wonderful!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    very memorable

    I just had the same experience of forgetting the Author BUT ALSO the title of this book and since I want to read it again, I'm so glad that I found it searching the Barnes and Noble website. I've read a lot more about biblical history in the last 7 years and want to read this novel again--I think I'll appreciate it even more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    You will remember this book!

    I pulled this book off the library shelf as a new release 5 years ago. I loved it and then went on to other books. But I remembered it and told everyone about this book, or at least the premise because I couldn't remember the author or title, (sorry Mr. Barnhardt, I have ADD). I just spent many hours trying to find it again on the internet so my teenage daughter can read it as she explores the questions of religion. I found it! My daughter can finally read it, after I read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Gospel

    In my initial review, I forgot to mention that this first, miraculuous copy of 'Gospel' was purchased at Barnes and Nobles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1