Customer Reviews for

The Gospel of Judas

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

In My Opinion

This book was a Christmas present from my wife in 2006. I have read it twice and refer back to it on occasion.

As a fan of Ehrman and Meyer, I was delighted to see both embedded in this singular work. While as a conservative believer, I often find myself at odds wit...
This book was a Christmas present from my wife in 2006. I have read it twice and refer back to it on occasion.

As a fan of Ehrman and Meyer, I was delighted to see both embedded in this singular work. While as a conservative believer, I often find myself at odds with both writers, I really enjoy their intellectual approach to critical thinking and the resulting theories. I wish I was a smidgeon as knowledgeable as these two.

This book is akin to reading a tome where Hannibal Lecter turns out to be an undercover officer for the FBI. Quite a different turn of events. The Gospel of Judas is of the same ilk. While the traditional Judas is the betrayer of Jesus, this Judas is in on the inside loop from the beginning. And while this disturbs many, a close reading of the canonical NT reveals to me the same story. I have since early days, considered Judas's role as one of necessity and pre-formed prior to the arrest.

Many today dismiss the so-called Gnostic gospels as being a small fringe in the early church. Before we denote this fringe title to them we must bear in mind that a large percentage of modern archeological finds are of the Gnostic theme. Thereby it is quite possible they were more wide-spread than the Orthodox Church would have us believe. This is not to say they are right or wrong. It is just another one of those messy facts that we should include in our thinking.

Additional excellent reading is:

Misquoting Jesus: The Story Behind Who Changed the Bible and Why (Plus),

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon,

Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (And Why We Don't Know About Them),

Dethroning Jesus: Exposing Popular Culture's Quest to Unseat the Biblical Christ,

God's Problem: How the Bible Fails to Answer Our Most Important Question--Why We Suffer

Greater Than You Think: A Theologian Answers the Atheists About God.

I hope you find this review helpful.

Michael L. Gooch

posted by M_L_Gooch_SPHR on July 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Ridiculous fabrication

After reading this book I have found that it is, in its entirety, not true. It is allegedly a 'Hidden Gospel of the Holy Bible'. But to put it blankly, how can it be book of the Bible, when in Revelation it clearly says it is the last book and there are to be NO others...
After reading this book I have found that it is, in its entirety, not true. It is allegedly a 'Hidden Gospel of the Holy Bible'. But to put it blankly, how can it be book of the Bible, when in Revelation it clearly says it is the last book and there are to be NO others added or anything taken away from it. The Bible is the true account of God and his Son Jesus, there is no other. For the Bible was written by God himself, not by man.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In My Opinion

    This book was a Christmas present from my wife in 2006. I have read it twice and refer back to it on occasion.

    As a fan of Ehrman and Meyer, I was delighted to see both embedded in this singular work. While as a conservative believer, I often find myself at odds with both writers, I really enjoy their intellectual approach to critical thinking and the resulting theories. I wish I was a smidgeon as knowledgeable as these two.

    This book is akin to reading a tome where Hannibal Lecter turns out to be an undercover officer for the FBI. Quite a different turn of events. The Gospel of Judas is of the same ilk. While the traditional Judas is the betrayer of Jesus, this Judas is in on the inside loop from the beginning. And while this disturbs many, a close reading of the canonical NT reveals to me the same story. I have since early days, considered Judas's role as one of necessity and pre-formed prior to the arrest.

    Many today dismiss the so-called Gnostic gospels as being a small fringe in the early church. Before we denote this fringe title to them we must bear in mind that a large percentage of modern archeological finds are of the Gnostic theme. Thereby it is quite possible they were more wide-spread than the Orthodox Church would have us believe. This is not to say they are right or wrong. It is just another one of those messy facts that we should include in our thinking.

    Additional excellent reading is:

    Misquoting Jesus: The Story Behind Who Changed the Bible and Why (Plus),

    The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon,

    Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (And Why We Don't Know About Them),

    Dethroning Jesus: Exposing Popular Culture's Quest to Unseat the Biblical Christ,

    God's Problem: How the Bible Fails to Answer Our Most Important Question--Why We Suffer

    Greater Than You Think: A Theologian Answers the Atheists About God.

    I hope you find this review helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    More knowledge equals more faith

    I am truly excited that the translation is out in print for all who choose to read it. You have to remember that the Bible was put together by a group of men who went over and over what should be in it and what shouldn't. The 'shouldn't' pile was hidden because there was something in those books that contradicted the Bible or had views that didn't parallel the views in the Bible. None of the books in that made it in the Bible or didn't make it in were written during the actual events. They were all written afterwards and the majority of the books were not written by whom they're named after. In creating the Bible the men created censorship and with the finding of these other books we are opening are minds and gathering new information on a time in history. Knowledge is not bad. It will make you think and keep you in the direction your headed or maybe take you down a path you never thought to explore.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Excellent

    While most Christiaans are going to rave this as heretical, that doesn't bother me because I'm not a Christian. Your god gave you a mind for a reason, if you don't use it and blindly follow you are going against 'him'. This book second guesses nearly everything about interactions of Jesus and his disciples. If you are open to reading something new and aren't a sheep blindly following hypocritical hate-mongering shepards I highly recommend this book. If you read carefully it tells you that Jesus was a monotheist as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Wow

    To think that so many gospels were weeded out of the mix by the early church is frightening. I would love to get my hands on all of these works, and then make sense of it all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Good stuff

    The beauty of christianity is you get to choose how to believe in God. And I believe in the these gospels and know exactly what kind of christian i am.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Give this gospel a fair chance

    What people dont realize, especially the religous fanatics who are trying to slander this gospel, is that they are confirming what they know from the bible with the bible, their faith and the information passed down to them from their family, friends and, of course, the christian church, while i hold nothing against those of you doing this i do have to tell you to follow your own advice and be more open minded to new things, just because its new doesnt make it wrong, and just because you grew up with the bible doesnt make it completely accurate or complete.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting

    You must take time to read it to absorb the information. Really enjoyed the comments and essays from the scholars. Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Essential reading for Christians

    Words cannot convey the full impact of this.-- If only the word `Christian¿ today meant a crusader for love, rather than tending to mean a fighter for theological dominion. ¿Love thy neighbour as thyself, and thine enemy likewise.¿ Do we wish such an idea to prevail? Are we more concerned to make it the reality of our Being? Were Christ in the public arena now, in person in this day, it would seem that most nominal Christians would be against that which love was standing for, among the first to call for crucifixion. In our own way like our traditional Judas, we would sell our souls for gold ¿ if not for cruder personal profit, for the fool¿s gold of religion in distinction to the living Spirit which generates it, forms it, re-forms it and ultimately burns through it. The role of the real Judas has been known of and understood by some down the generations. Until times are ripe, some things are naturally hidden - certain things consciously so.-- The Gospel of Judas is a `missing piece¿ of inestimable proportions. The fact of its being missing in the public domain till this time goes entirely with the web of realities behind its content.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    ..And Why Not?

    We read to learn. We read to confirm or dispell suspicions or thoughts or opinions. Those of us who picked up this book did so because we were compelled to do so.... Didn't we always know that there was something else, another side to the story, another perception of reality or truth as it may have been? Every era has it's climate of politic and government that is compelled to rule and controll through exposure or lack there of literature, art, science... The Gospel of Judas was never lost, it was always there, but perhaps we just were not able to see it, to know it. We see it now because we need to. It provides a much needed balance. I urge all to read it, and to be of open mind about all that is out there. There could be a message in it for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    While it is nice...

    That people of the Christian faith are commenting, it is all a bit silly... they use the Bible to confirm the Bible, which is only confirmed by their faith...why they make wild claims that are suppose to make a non-believer not believe what this book has to say is irrational.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Essential reading for Christians

    Words cannot convey the full impact of this.-- If only the word `Christian¿ today meant a crusader for love, rather than tending to mean a fighter for theological dominion. ¿Love thy neighbour as thyself, and thine enemy likewise.¿ Do we wish such an idea to prevail? Are we more concerned to make it the reality of our Being? Were Christ in the public arena now, in person in this day, it would seem that most nominal Christians would be against that which love was standing for, among the first to call for crucifixion. In our own way like our traditional Judas, we would sell our souls for gold ¿ if not for cruder personal profit, for the fool¿s gold of religion in distinction to the living Spirit which generates it, forms it, re-forms it and ultimately burns through it. The role of the real Judas has been known of and understood by some down the generations. Until times are ripe, some things are naturally hidden - certain things consciously so.-- The Gospel of Judas is a `missing piece¿ of inestimable proportions. The fact of its being missing in the public domain till this time goes entirely with the web of realities behind its content.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Gospel according to the Mormons

    I have read and analyzed the English translation carefully. Jesus tells Judas about the places He visited Holier than His generation. In the Book of Mormon, Jesus visited the ancient people in the Americas during his ministry. Also Jesus tells also that mankind used to live with God before they were all born on this Earth. Many World without number were mentioned, and many degrees and glories of Heavens. That facinated me greatly.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Avoid the Temptation to Close Your Mind...

    "The Gospel of Judas" is a thoroughly engaging work, assembled with obvious care, and lavished with much additional information besides the "gospel," itself. It would be beneficial for anyone reading this book to have at least a passing familiarity with the concepts of Gnostic Christianity, as I imagine that the title, alone, might be enough to cause some people to turn away in an angry huff.

    Primarily, this is a reference work, in my opinion. As a student of Gnosticism, I approach this book in much the same way as I approach the Nag Hammadi library or the Dead Sea Scrolls. It has no particular "agenda," is not looking to "convert" anyone to a certain way of thinking. It is not, in other words, a religious work. It simply presents the facts as they appear, following the extensive research that went into the production of this book.

    As is the case with *all* gospels, canonical or not, odds are almost certain that the historical "Judas" (if such a figure existed at all) was not the actual author of this work; it does offer a unique perspective on how early Gnostics would have "processed" the "Jesus Story" to fit their particular world-view.

    If you're interested in learning about other points of view regarding early Christianity, or are simply a student of "alternate religions," you should quite enjoy "The Gospel of Judas."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1