Customer Reviews for

Gossip Girl (Gossip Girl Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(417)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read For Teenagers Girls

I had listened to my friends talk about the Gossip Girl series for awhile. They said they were great books and really interesting for teenagers to read. I have never really been much into reading but finally a book seemed appealing to me. Then, the television series cam...
I had listened to my friends talk about the Gossip Girl series for awhile. They said they were great books and really interesting for teenagers to read. I have never really been much into reading but finally a book seemed appealing to me. Then, the television series came out and I was talking to my friends about it before I saw it. They said I had to read the books first, that the show just wasn¿t the same. I took their advice and picked up the first four books and haven¿t been able to stop reading them since. Although, I don¿t have a whole lot of time for reading, but I really enjoy Gossip Girl when I have the time. The book is very relatable to teenagers. Although, it is far from my lifestyle, it still focuses on situations that teenagers get into and how they deal with them. I would especially recommend this book to all of my teenager friends. Sometimes when I am reading it, I get so caught up in it that I really feel that I am with these characters and living their lifestyle. The way it is written is very realistic and entertaining. I really like that the books are easy to read and a fast page-turner. They keep you interested and wanting to know what is going to happen next. I have fallen in love with almost all of the characters. Some I wish were my best friends, some I wish I could party with, and some I wish I knew just to know. They all seem to live such fabulous, luxurious lifestyles, but then you keep reading and realize that they are normal people too. They get into some of the same situations and have the same problems as normal teenagers have. This is what I love most. It is an entertaining book that I can also relate to. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and have started reading the second book, You Know You Love Me. I love it already and can¿t wait to read more!!

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gossip Girl

I am definitely not on board with the huge hype on Gossip Girl. I found the book very predictable the characters were annoying and nothing too special. Again, this was only the first book, so maybe I have to read the rest of them to be swept up into the series, but yo...
I am definitely not on board with the huge hype on Gossip Girl. I found the book very predictable the characters were annoying and nothing too special. Again, this was only the first book, so maybe I have to read the rest of them to be swept up into the series, but you're supposed to be hooked on the first book.

For those that haven't heard a thing about Gossip Girl, it is about a bunch of extremely wealthy high school students living in New York. Their lives are filled with drugs, sex, parties, high fashion, and being mean to each other in some of the most cattiest ways.

There is a lot of contravorsy around the fact that young girls read these books and think it's ok to act this way. But the truth is there have always been mean girls in litterature, so that is not my problem. I just found this book not interesting and rather boring and predictable. But then again, I am probably one of the few that missed this hype.

posted by 1443826 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    A Must Read For Teenagers Girls

    I had listened to my friends talk about the Gossip Girl series for awhile. They said they were great books and really interesting for teenagers to read. I have never really been much into reading but finally a book seemed appealing to me. Then, the television series came out and I was talking to my friends about it before I saw it. They said I had to read the books first, that the show just wasn¿t the same. I took their advice and picked up the first four books and haven¿t been able to stop reading them since. Although, I don¿t have a whole lot of time for reading, but I really enjoy Gossip Girl when I have the time. The book is very relatable to teenagers. Although, it is far from my lifestyle, it still focuses on situations that teenagers get into and how they deal with them. I would especially recommend this book to all of my teenager friends. Sometimes when I am reading it, I get so caught up in it that I really feel that I am with these characters and living their lifestyle. The way it is written is very realistic and entertaining. I really like that the books are easy to read and a fast page-turner. They keep you interested and wanting to know what is going to happen next. I have fallen in love with almost all of the characters. Some I wish were my best friends, some I wish I could party with, and some I wish I knew just to know. They all seem to live such fabulous, luxurious lifestyles, but then you keep reading and realize that they are normal people too. They get into some of the same situations and have the same problems as normal teenagers have. This is what I love most. It is an entertaining book that I can also relate to. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and have started reading the second book, You Know You Love Me. I love it already and can¿t wait to read more!!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Gossip Girl 1 Review

    Being the first in a series, this book was pretty catchy. The main character, Blair Waldorf, is deliciously catty. Drama seems to follow her wherever she goes, yet every girl at Constance Billiard wishes they could be her, except for one. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to hear drama, but doesn't want to be involved.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading this book which is weird. I'm a 16 year

    I really enjoyed reading this book which is weird. I'm a 16 year old junior and normally the books we read in class bore me to death. I can barely stay awake. But this book was filled with so much drama and twist and turns you always wanted to read what was next. This was a classic group of friends, the girls and boys gossiping about each other. I felt bad for Blair in a way because she had finally got in the spotlight she wanted and then it was snatched right away from her. But I felt for Serena because she didn't know her friends didn't want her back and she was being ostracized by her old best friends and the school was spreading more and more rumors about her by the minute. I didn't really like the little Q&A pages in the book. I skipped over them eventually. They were unnecessary and confused me at points. I think the book would have been fine without them but they weren’t so terrible I didn’t continue to read. Cecily von Ziegesar does a really good job as writing how teenage girls would talk in different situations and what they would say behind their friends back. I can picture it in my head while I am reading which also keeps me interested in a book. Overall I really liked this book. I would recommend it to any teenage girl that needs a book to read for a book project or for just a pleasure reading book. It is a series so it doesn't just end with this book, and it's also a TV show which I just started watching and I’m now hooked on. I definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Gossip Girl

    As a high school teacher I have noticed this book being passed from one student to another. After reading it myself, I can see why. The drama and lives of these uber wealthy New York City teens is not only exciting, but it is also addicting. The term "guilty pleasure" was invented for such a novel.
    If you don't want anyone to know that you are reading such a tale, listening to the cd of the book is a lot of fun. Actress Christina Ricci narrates the novel and she is perfect for the role.
    This book is pure fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Very edgy and interesting!

    Although the characters are teens, I (50 years+) found this very interesting. It gave some insight to that age group that I wouldn't otherwise have. My first thought after reading it was wow, I wouldn't want my young daughter reading this. But after thinking about it, it would be a great opportunity for discussion and insight into what goes on these days with young people and how they deal with life. It left me wanting to move on to #2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Don't get me wrong, this is a great book, but its so insanely un

    Don't get me wrong, this is a great book, but its so insanely unrealistic. I mean I'm from the Upper East Side, and even the Author's school is one of my rival schools. That being said, Gossip Girl is just a way over-exaggerated version of what life is really like. I would give it five stars, but its just such a false depiction..  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Yeah...

    Why is it under the sexuality headline?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Gossip girl is crazy!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Lovvvvveeee

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    This was a pretty good book . . .

    I think it was pretty good.It was wonderfully read.You should also read the book.It's REALLY good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great book

    if your looking for a quick easy read then this is an amazing book filled with drama and fun for teen girls. Also you can easialy picture the characters and its just a fun book that shows how NYCs rich live. i really enjoyed it for what it is a quick fun and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well, Well, Well. Cecily Has Done It Right.

    Why would the story keep going on and on? The author is outstanding! That¿s why I don¿t understand why she kept dragging it on, without a conclusion. The details were great, however, they were a little too specified to a point where it was just plain boring. And at some parts, I didn¿t even understand. I loved Serena¿s and Blair¿s conflicts, but it did go on, and on, and on. Overall, this book was a well-written, with a lot, and maybe a little too much detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Not too bad.

    Gossip Girl is a decent book, worth reading. It's not the greatest book I've ever read, but I enjoyed parts of it. Some chapters were boring and pointless, especially in the beginning, but the ending got better. Not as good and pleasurable as I would have hoped, but still pretty good. Anyway, it's about a beautiful blonde girl name Serena who comes back to Manhattan after being kicked out of boarding school. Her old best friend Blair feels that she should be happy for her friend's return, but she's not. She's used to being the beauty queen of her school with all the attention. Now the attention's on Serena and her mysterious return. Nate and Blair have a falling out near the middle, but the work things out in the exchange that Nate quits his friendship with Sernena, because Blair feels threatened by their closeness. I think Serena has it hard, especially since her friends ditched her. And some of the rumors that were spread about her weren't even true, which makes the story much more interesting and annoying at the same time. I think Chuck is just a sick perv. Fwi, the T.V. is much better. It's very suspenseful and in a guilty way, enjoyable. But I'll continue reading through the series just to see if it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    hello their Gossip Girl fans if you like the show then youll love the book. You see a diffrent version of the story. their are many diffrentcess between the book and the show like the way S and D meet. how B deals with the truth, how little J is completely a diffrent person, how important V is to the story, and how discusting C is. the show centers around the romance between S and D while the book centers around the remance between S, N, and B (Very scandelous) altho the book makes things like sex and drugs look like a normal thing its very intresting and worth reading. ovar all the book gets 4 stars from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    READ THIS - you won't be able to put it down!

    This is a good book - great for when you are looking you something fun to read. The conflicts in the book are too many to name, and the characters have both realistic and unrealistic sides to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    Great Book!!!

    This book was very good and very recomended. It is a page turner from the begining and keeps you reading and guessing on what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    love it

    ¿Gossip Girl¿ is the type of book that keeps you wanting more. It gets you so caught up in the characters that you just want to know more and more about them. Cecily von Ziegesar had a wonderful imagination of capturing these Upper East Siders, but I do have to say that the story was a little explicit for the attended generation but still is a good book over all. Also there is no way that you won't want to read the whole series. And if the first book was this exciting I wonder what would happen next. The book was placed in all over New York, capturing the young spirts of the wealthy high schoolers. In particular it was focused on Serena van der Woodson, who used to run the school with Blair, but who went away 11th grade year to boarding school and hasn¿t talked to Blair since. Some of the other characters are Blair Waldorf who is the it girl of the school, well for now, Nate Archibald, who is Blairs boyfriend since middle school, Chuck Bass, Nates friend, and Dan and Jenny Humphrey, who has idolized Serena van der Woodson ever since they seen her, but who hasn¿t. There was one very scandalous part where Blair makes a romantic night with Nate but Nate has a secrete that he is hiding from his girlfriend for sometime now and during the he felt compelled to tell her what it is. Most of the book is based on the mysterious Gossip Girl who sees all and tells all but will not reveal who she is not even when a fan said that her dad can make her famous. Her response was, ¿I am already famous. Infamous is more like it. All the more reason for me not to tell you who I am.¿ This book also addresses most issues that teens face in every day life like drugs, popularity, sex situations and gossip lots of gossip. Teens from fifteen to twenty can enjoy this book filled with fast paced, juicy gossip. This book leaves you guessing and wanting more, filled with drama on every page keeps you on the edge. Finally to sum it up ¿Gossip Girl¿ is a great book, one that I would recommend to all teen girls, above the age of 15, to add to their collection and one you can read over and over again. And there are many more that follow this one that I can't wait to read. So enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Gossip Girl

    I am 23 years old and read the gossip gils book and like it but it had many perverted things that i recommened that arn't for 10-13yrs old to read. I have only read one book, so that should explain how addicting the series are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    a male review

    this book seems to be mostly targeted toward teen females, however i am a male and ejoyed this series. i love reading and will read almost anything i get my hands on. when read the first book i was at a friends house after spending 2 weeks in new york and noticed this was set in nyc(not to mention id seen the show.) since i absolutly love it there i started reading it and was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gossip Girl really is an upbeat, exciting book that has an interesting storyline that is poorly written. If the plot wasn't as good, I'd drop the book. Ziegsar's writing style is not very advanced. It's a fun book to read, not that deep, but it's perfect for the beach. Not quite a novel to remember, but it's pretty good. With this book, you either hate it or love it. If you love it, it's because of the plot. If you hate it, it's because of the lifestyle the characters have. It's not even real. Just relax and appreciate drama that hasn't even happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5