Customer Reviews for

Got the Look (Jack Swyteck Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Dawne

    Well I'm muddling through the book but I find myself skipping through to many pages. The story idea is a good one but it's not written out so well. A lot of repetitiveness. I don't mind a book being drawn out a little, but this one just drags on and on. Not the authors best work. I've read the ones before this one and they were much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    A GREAT THRILL RIDE!!

    FAST PACED AND EXCITING... THE ENTIRE SERIES IS GREAT! START AT THE FIRST BOOK AND READ THEM ALL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a believable ending

    Moderately suspenseful, but without spoiling the book for someone else, I will say the murderer's motive was not convincing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Got the potential

    The plot was intriguing - 'Pay what she's worth'. The characters and plot, however, did not have as much depth as say, an Alex Kava book. There were a couple of times when I was reading that I was wondering how we all of the sudden got to where we were. The book is interesting enough to finish, but it wasn't as strong as it could have been. I did like it, but was far from loving it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A SERIAL KIDNAPPER ON THE LOOSE

    Gifted with a strong, hard to ignore voice, performer Jonathan Davis breathes life into uber attorney Jack Swyteck as his narration bounces from humor to dead-on earnest with ease. Swyteck's buddy, Theo, also benefits from the interpretation by Davis as Theo tweaks his pal for being crazy in love or comes face to face with the danger they're in. In this, the fifth Jack Swyteck novel, we find ourselves once again in South Florida.where Andie Henning, an FBI agent, is desperately trying to reel in a vicious kidnapper. The grabber is bold enough to kidnap the wife of a wealthy horse breeder - little sense in coming up with ransom as the woman is soon dead. Time for Swyteck to be on the scene. Tracking a serial kidnapper isn't his prime concern at the moment - that position is reserved for Mia Salazar, who has captured his heart and mind. But, when Mia is kidnaped the heat is on. Unfortunately, Swyteck is in for a bit of a jolt when he finds out that his one-and-only isn't. She's married to a very rich man who is not interested in ponying up for a wife who has been playing around with Swyteck. Nonetheless, trick or not Swyteck doesn't want to see Mia dead so he teams with Andie to track the crazy kidnaper. The scenes that take place while Mia is being held captive are especially chilling, and Grippando paints them well. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong suspense thriller

    FBI Special Agent Andie Henning has been chasing after and failing to stop the elusive serial kidnapper, who scorns the law enforcement opponents with cryptic notes and riddles while walking away with millions. The latest encounter is in Ginnie Springs, Florida where wealthy Drew Thornton paid $1million to get his wife back he does but she is dead. --- Miami attorney Jack Swyteck is stunned and irate now that he knows that Mia, the woman he has been sleeping with, is married to rich business mogul Ernesto Salazar. However, before he can work his way through his outrage and other simmering emotions, the serial kidnapper abducts Mia. The criminal informs Ernesto to 'Pay me what she's worth' to you. This time, the spousal response is she is worth nothing. Shocked by Salazar¿s outright refusal to pay though Andie believes that is the right course of action, motive aside, Jack begins a desperate search to rescue a woman who means a lot to him in spite of her deceit. --- What makes the latest Swyteck thriller a triumph that stands out amidst the rash of serial criminal novels is the reactions of Ernesto, Jack, and Andie to the snatching of Mia. The story line is action-packed and filled with twists as Jack learns first hand when clues take him down wrong paths and cul-de-sacs. Though the serial felon ¿entrepreneur¿ seems out of leftfield and his taunting clues appear as if a wrong number was dialed, this is no run of the mill ¿Son of Sam¿ like imitator. Readers will appreciate Jack¿s latest suspense thriller as he battles with an ingenious villain and the Feds. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    What are YOU worth?

    How much are you worth? How much are your loved ones worth? Get the wrong number and it may be your last guess at anything. These questions stir up much mayhem, madness, devotion, and mystery in this most recent thriller, GOT THE LOOK, by James Grippando. Often mystery book reviews give you some clues as to what you will be reading in the story, but Grippando so deftly lays down the clues in this book that even sharing some of them might detract from this perfectly built mystery. Let's just say that we have part love story, part comedy, part thriller, part FBI profiling, and a lot of clever maneuvering by victims, innocents, law enforcement, and criminals alike. Everyone has a secret and mysteries abound. The biggest mystery might just be to discover how James Grippando's imagination created such a mind boggling perfection of events in developing this wonderfully intricate plot line. Prepare to loose sleep until you get to the end of this book. GOT THE LOOK? ....get it soon, and find out 'What he's worth' !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1