Customer Reviews for

A Gown of Spanish Lace (Women of the West Book #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A wonderfully written book!

Ariana Benson, a sixteen year old girl, just got a job as a schoolteacher where she felt that she could help little kids' education to know more about life. She lived in a small frontier town where her adopted parents took her in because her mother died in a wagon accid...
Ariana Benson, a sixteen year old girl, just got a job as a schoolteacher where she felt that she could help little kids' education to know more about life. She lived in a small frontier town where her adopted parents took her in because her mother died in a wagon accident. She is kidnapped and taken away from everything she has ever loved. Her guard, Laramie, the outlaw's son, thinks it is not right to take an innocent girl. 'Will I ever get back home?' When Laramie hears Ariana say that, he wonders what he can do for her. Laramie notices he can try to let Ariana escape, but it could cost him his life. Does Laramie risk his life for another? Janette Oke provides many descriptions of how the characters are feeling. She doesn't make anything seem boring. Oke adds many twists and turns with this book which makes you ponder about what you just read. This book is a different type of style than I normally read. This mystery book is similat and not similar to the book, The Child Called It. They both have twists and turns and they both have vivid descriptions of what is going on. Oke made the ending different from others which makes this book great to read. Oke's different versions of languages help you know who is talking. I think anyone from 6th grade and up can read this book and might enjoy reading it too. When I read this book, it felt like I was in it and experiencing it in real life, not just reading it. I read 30 minutes and day and some days I read for even longer because it was that good. This book has a mysterious plot to it. Will Laramie and Ariana ever escape? Will they die trying or will they die together? Find out reading this wonderfully written romantic and mysterious book, A Gown of Spanish Lace!

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but a bit unbelievable

I liked this book, not loved. This is the story of Ariana, a school teacher who gets kidnapped by a gang. She is guarded by a man who eventually helps her escape but it is rough, not an easy escape. I thought this was a good christian story by a good christian author. I...
I liked this book, not loved. This is the story of Ariana, a school teacher who gets kidnapped by a gang. She is guarded by a man who eventually helps her escape but it is rough, not an easy escape. I thought this was a good christian story by a good christian author. I thought it was entertaining and fun but a bit unbelievable. Not sure where some of the thoughts came from if you think through the details. Try it for yourself and see what you think, you might like it.

posted by tchrreader on May 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    A wonderfully written book!

    Ariana Benson, a sixteen year old girl, just got a job as a schoolteacher where she felt that she could help little kids' education to know more about life. She lived in a small frontier town where her adopted parents took her in because her mother died in a wagon accident. She is kidnapped and taken away from everything she has ever loved. Her guard, Laramie, the outlaw's son, thinks it is not right to take an innocent girl. 'Will I ever get back home?' When Laramie hears Ariana say that, he wonders what he can do for her. Laramie notices he can try to let Ariana escape, but it could cost him his life. Does Laramie risk his life for another? Janette Oke provides many descriptions of how the characters are feeling. She doesn't make anything seem boring. Oke adds many twists and turns with this book which makes you ponder about what you just read. This book is a different type of style than I normally read. This mystery book is similat and not similar to the book, The Child Called It. They both have twists and turns and they both have vivid descriptions of what is going on. Oke made the ending different from others which makes this book great to read. Oke's different versions of languages help you know who is talking. I think anyone from 6th grade and up can read this book and might enjoy reading it too. When I read this book, it felt like I was in it and experiencing it in real life, not just reading it. I read 30 minutes and day and some days I read for even longer because it was that good. This book has a mysterious plot to it. Will Laramie and Ariana ever escape? Will they die trying or will they die together? Find out reading this wonderfully written romantic and mysterious book, A Gown of Spanish Lace!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    GREAT ROMANCE!

    I absolutely LOVE this book! Not only is it a sweet romance which quickly captures the reader, but also lots of unexpected twists and exciting 'happenings'! Complete reading pleasure! Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    AMAZING!

    This is the best book I have ever read. It was captivating and heart racing. I absolutley LOVE Janette Oke's books and in my mind this her best one yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    A Capturing Book

    This book is a fantastic book, for people with a wide imagination! I loved the pure romance, and the western adventures! I was on the edge of my seat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    A book you will want to read again and again

    I could not put this book down i love how it makes you think like tying to solve a puzzle and there are new things around ever cornner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Good but a bit unbelievable

    I liked this book, not loved. This is the story of Ariana, a school teacher who gets kidnapped by a gang. She is guarded by a man who eventually helps her escape but it is rough, not an easy escape. I thought this was a good christian story by a good christian author. I thought it was entertaining and fun but a bit unbelievable. Not sure where some of the thoughts came from if you think through the details. Try it for yourself and see what you think, you might like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    The best book ever

    When i started reading this book it was ok.....Then it got really, really good. I couldent put it down. I recoment this book to anyone who enjoys a well writen novel.#1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    A good western historical adventure.

    Sixteen-year-old Ariana Benson loves her new job as the schoolteacher in her small frontier town. But her whole life changes one snowy day when she is kidnapped by two outlaws and taken back to their hidden camp, where she is held as a prisoner. Her guard is Laramie, the son of the outlaws' leader. But Laramie is not like the other outlaws. He finds himself struggling with his duties as Ariana's guard, and knows in his heart it is not right to hold an innocent young woman prisoner. And Ariana finds herself strangely trusting him. Laramie comes up with a daring plan to help her escape, even though it means separating himself from his father forever. But will the plan work? This was a decent historical western adventure, but I didn't enjoy it as much as the other book I read by this author. This was mainly due to the ending of the book. Toward the end of the book, the author threw in a plot device that seemed to be there in order to place one more obstacle in the path of the characters so that the book would be a bit longer. I still enjoyed this book overall, I just wish the ending had been less contrived. I would recommend this book to fans of the author, but new readers looking to try a Janette Oke book would be better off reading a different one instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    This has to be my favorite book by Janette Oke. It is so sweet and so wonderfully written. There are a lot of twists in the story that keep you guessing. The ending was so great! I highly recommend this to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Wonderful Book

    I absolutely loved this book!!!! It is extremely refreshing to read a clean romance that is soo sweet!! The strong faith in God shown throughout the book is exellent. And the unexpected turn of events make the book hard to put down. Janette Oke wrote another wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    A wonderfull novel!!!

    This is such a exciting romance novel!! It is also mysterious!!!! Enjoy this clean christian book. I advise you to read this!!! you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Ok..

    So like it was kinda unbelievable. I didnt really like it. No action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    awesome!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Awesome!

    This is one of my favorite books! Janette Oke caputes you in the story and tugs your heart every which way. My warning is not to read this book unless you are prepared to face a little emotional trauma and major book hangover-- but in a good way:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Amazing!

    One of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Continuation of the previous post:

    Dear Ms. Oke
    This one of my favorite books that you hav ever written. I am an anything western fanatic an would be eternally grateful if you would write more book like this one. Preferably with a tall blond haired blue eyed hero and a tall strawberry blond haired girl with green eyes. Just a suggestion. I really like all of your books and have read most of them. I love how there is neveranything bad in your books yet they are romantic. It proves that there does not have to immorality and bad language for something to be a good book. I am 15 yrs. old and want to be a writer someday. I plan to write mostly westerns that are appropriate for all ages and i guess i should start by improving my spelling skills. Thank you again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2