BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I loved this book as I have loved everything Lamott has ever written. She helps me know that being Christian doesn't mean you can't be funny and honest about your faith--good days and bad days. I love the parts about her Mom, who sounds scarily like mine, I share her v...
I loved this book as I have loved everything Lamott has ever written. She helps me know that being Christian doesn't mean you can't be funny and honest about your faith--good days and bad days. I love the parts about her Mom, who sounds scarily like mine, I share her views on George W. and how horrifying his politics are and I particularly share her perspectives on motherhood. God bless Anne Lamott, if she rewrote the phone book I would read it and I'm sure it would be great!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, anything but Christian

This book was awful.I couldn't get past the whining and anger.Her views on important issues were so far from Christian. This was supposed to be inspirational reading and I wanted to throw the book every time I picked it up.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Terrible, anything but Christian

    This book was awful.I couldn't get past the whining and anger.Her views on important issues were so far from Christian. This was supposed to be inspirational reading and I wanted to throw the book every time I picked it up.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book as I have loved everything Lamott has ever written. She helps me know that being Christian doesn't mean you can't be funny and honest about your faith--good days and bad days. I love the parts about her Mom, who sounds scarily like mine, I share her views on George W. and how horrifying his politics are and I particularly share her perspectives on motherhood. God bless Anne Lamott, if she rewrote the phone book I would read it and I'm sure it would be great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Quirky engaging spirituality

    Faith based with a christian undertone. Each chapter had a kernal of deep wisdom, a zinger that leads the reader on to discover deeper meaning in life, in relationships, in deeper connection with Spirit

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Totally relevant and deliciously irreverent

    If you're looking for a Bible-thumping, evangelical, fundamentalist experience, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a writer with wit and intelligence who takes Christian principles and applies them to the twenty-first century, look no further. Wake up, Copernicus! This might open your mind a bit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    Lousy, anti-Christian

    I couldn't make it past the first few chapters. The author bashes at least one Republican leader in the first 50 pages. I found the chapters to be more political in nature than Christian. This book is the exact opposite of inspirational reading. Save your money.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a more reflective book than Lamott¿s others. The tone is deeper, darker at times, and more reverent. It is just as honest and almost as funny, but the maturation that is going on inside her is so palpable that it trumps all else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Good read

    Good reader for spiritual people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Not Her Best

    Disappointing, I have read several of Anne's books and was looking forward to this one. This time her stories seemed to ramble on and found little Grace if any in several of her stories. I want the Anne of Traveling Mercies and Plan B back. Blunt, straight forward, funny, insightful. Somehow that Anne has been replaced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    Another Winner from Anne Lamott!

    I just love this book & I'm thrilled I could get a bargain on it. Anne Lamott is one of my absolute favorite contemporary authors, and this is another gem from her. She is funny, irreverent, raunchy, biting and at the same time poignant, loving, generous and spiritually very, very wise. We are the same age and though my life trajectory has been far more conventional than hers, I can relate to so much of what she writes about God, doubts & crises, politics, addiction, fear, body image, motherhood and middle age. She really DOES send me from belly laughs to tears in just a few pages! I recommend her to all my friends....and some of them actually like her! You have to be open-minded and open-hearted to appreciate her; in other words, you have to be a little like she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Funny, witty, sarcastic, honest Anne.

    If you like Anne's style, it's a great read. She's so open and honest about her faith, it's refreshing. It's okay to be a Christian and not be perfect and admit it. Thanks Anne. Keep writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Real Life

    Anne Lamott won my heart in the first chapter. I could relate to everything she said as she was baring her soul. We are imperfect and can be that way and still have faith and grace and all the good stuff. A wonderful and refreshing read. I finished the book with much hope that we can all find grace in our lives if we just keep searching - sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly. We don't get grace because we earn it, we get it as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Anne LaMott Is a Good Read

    I liked GRACE, EVENTUALLY because it struck me as a very honest book. Not everyone will agree with Anne's choices (lifestyle, parenting style, attitude toward religious icons, etc.), but she is always provocative and entertaining. She tries, like many of us, to be non-judgmental, but even in her most tolerant days she often finds herself pronouncing judgments.<BR/><BR/>So be it....and that, in my view, is her ultimate conclusion. <BR/>She's trying her best to achieve Grace....and she will, eventually.<BR/><BR/>Cordelia<BR/><BR/>I also recommend: DREAMS FROM MY FATHER (Barack Obama)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Wonderful

    I love all books LaMott, so this will not be a surprise. Refreshing to find someone who shares so many of my own views. I think the folks who are panning this have not read any of her other books. My all time favorite is 'Operating Instructions'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Anne Lamott sees life and thereby sees wonder. She is imbued with soulfulness and with a myriad of imperfections. She seeks healing, knowledge, a better outcome and a non-fattening dessert. She can't abide the ills of the world (which she writes about sharply and with humor) but she somehow maintains her faith. Above all, she longs for truth and grace. Occasionally, she finds a measure of each. These essays will resonate with people who are mothers, have adolescent kids, are interested in faith and spirituality, and appreciate a good laugh. And with others, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    ME TOO

    After going through so much in life we all stride to hold on to faith, yet, reach for hope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2