Customer Reviews for

Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine

Average Rating 5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Grace

Grace is one of those things that we want, but don’t fully understand. It is one of those things that we want shown to us, but fail to return to others. Grace is a verb as much as it is a noun. It is as much something we do as it is something possess. Grace stoops. Grac...
Grace is one of those things that we want, but don’t fully understand. It is one of those things that we want shown to us, but fail to return to others. Grace is a verb as much as it is a noun. It is as much something we do as it is something possess. Grace stoops. Grace saves. Grace rescues. Grace loves. Grace forgives. Graces restores. Grace is more than words spoken over a meal, it is the provision of the meal itself. In Max Lucado’s new book Grace; More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine he paints a beautiful picture of a gift that can only descend from heaven. Lucado, in a style that is his alone, shows us how real, alive, life-changing, and powerful grace is when spilled over the life of an individual. This is arguably Lucado’s greatest work to date. He writes in a very simple tone, rhythm, and cadence. Within this simplicity, much truth and theology is packed. In each of the eleven chapters, Lucado weaves together the biblical account of those touched by the grace of God with personal experiences and real-life stories. Some of those touched by grace are the woman caught in the act of adultery, Zacchaeus, and Naomi and Ruth. Brilliantly, Max Lucado included, alongside these biblical story lines, the real-life stories of Brazilian garbage pickers, orphaned pioneer children, and the surreal scene of an airline terminal to illustrate the mystery that is the grace of God. This is a great that I highly recommend. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

posted by Steven_Ruff on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers thr

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucad...
*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucado asks a deeper question: Have you been changed by grace? Shaped…? Strengthened…? Emboldened…? Softened…? Snatched by the nape of your neck and shaken to your senses by grace?”

I had great hopes for this book. I had hoped that Pastor Lucado would truly explore the life-changing, sanctifying power of God’s grace. I had hoped that this book would tell of the grace that goes beyond the wimpy grace that doesn’t threaten the way we currently live our lives and instead call us to repentance and challenge us to live obedient and holy lives because of what God has done for us. Had that been the only thing I had begun this book hoping for, I would have been greatly disappointed.

I also opened this book hoping for an easy read, good stories, and viewing bible stories in a new, fresh light. Those hopes were not disappointed.

For the first time, I saw that the story of the release of Barabbas by Pontius Pilate, well, really the Jews, was not just a release, but rather an exchange. Never before had I viewed that part of the story in light of my own salvation. I am Barabbas… the guilty one. Like Barabbas I have received the pardon I did not deserve while Jesus bore the punishment of death that I fully deserved. (Chapter 3)

I saw that the story of Ruth is the story of a God who offers grace though He is under no obligation to. I saw that in the story of Ruth is the story of a God who saves us even when we are in the depths of our sin. (Chapter 6)

Lucado, in chapter 10, assures us of our worth, not because of who we are, but because God has chosen us to be His children. “Rather than conjure up reasons to feel good about yourself, trust God’s verdict. If God loves you, you must be worth loving. If he wants to have you in his kingdom, then you must be worth having. God’s grace invites you – no, requires you – to change your attitude about yourself and take sides with God against your feelings of rejection.”

While the book disappointed many of my hopes, it also offered some positives things to me as well.

posted by amberrdh on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Grace

    Grace is one of those things that we want, but don’t fully understand. It is one of those things that we want shown to us, but fail to return to others. Grace is a verb as much as it is a noun. It is as much something we do as it is something possess. Grace stoops. Grace saves. Grace rescues. Grace loves. Grace forgives. Graces restores. Grace is more than words spoken over a meal, it is the provision of the meal itself. In Max Lucado’s new book Grace; More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine he paints a beautiful picture of a gift that can only descend from heaven. Lucado, in a style that is his alone, shows us how real, alive, life-changing, and powerful grace is when spilled over the life of an individual. This is arguably Lucado’s greatest work to date. He writes in a very simple tone, rhythm, and cadence. Within this simplicity, much truth and theology is packed. In each of the eleven chapters, Lucado weaves together the biblical account of those touched by the grace of God with personal experiences and real-life stories. Some of those touched by grace are the woman caught in the act of adultery, Zacchaeus, and Naomi and Ruth. Brilliantly, Max Lucado included, alongside these biblical story lines, the real-life stories of Brazilian garbage pickers, orphaned pioneer children, and the surreal scene of an airline terminal to illustrate the mystery that is the grace of God. This is a great that I highly recommend. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Inspirational

    This was my first Max Lucado read. It is written simply and gets to the heart of the matter with ease. The references regarding his personal experience remind me that if I allow it, grace is a part of my everyday living. I picked the book because I needed a large dose of grace. Thank you, Max, for taking the time to write about the subject - it invited me to notice grace in everything, everywhere. When I look for it, God’s grace, and human grace is easy to see - thank you for reminding me to allow grace into my life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    More than we deserve, Greater than we imagine. Recommendations

    More than we deserve, Greater than we imagine. Recommendations from authors such as Randy Alcorn, Cal Thomas, Stephen Arterburn and John Ortberg I had high expectations for this book.
    I was not disappointed. God's grace is such a huge part of the Bible, but is often misunderstood and downplayed by Christians.
    In this Scripture based book, Max goes into great detail concerning the grace of God. Most of us don't understand God's grace. We will never exhaust His supply of grace, and He will never run out.
    In the chapter titled "Heaven: Guaranteed" which opens up "Trust God's hold on you, more than your hold on God." he tackles the issue of external security. He uses the analogy of someone holding a boarding pass for a flight in contrast with someone who is on stand-by.
    In a particularly honest chapter titled "Coming clean with God" he reveals his struggle with alcoholism, his need for confession and restoration. Using this example he reminds us all of our need for confession and acceptance.
    Max Lucado has written so many books over the years, and keeps coming out with better ones all the time. Often when an author is this popular, the subjects get watered down. Not the case this time, "Grace" is another great book.
    I have received this book at no cost from the publisher

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Grace¿ Such a big word to only be 5 little letters. It¿s a subj

    Grace…

    Such a big word to only be 5 little letters. It’s a subject that even a child can understand, but we never fully grasp the full meaning.

    Max Lucado does a great job, as usual, of crafting the narrative to keep the reader involved and intrigued. He suggests that grace
    is available to all – and needed by all.  Yet it is only effective to the extent that we allow it in our lives.

    The book itself is well-written and easy to read. It has resources that easily lend it to a study or discussion group. It could also be
    used as a devotional book – and is well-suited to be a gift book.

    Here are some questions posed – and answered – in this book about grace:
    Do we really understand it?
    Have we settled for wimpy grace?
    Do you believe in grace?
    Have you been changed by grace?
    Are you softened by grace?
    Has grace snatched you by your neck and shaken you to your senses?

    The book is fleshed out with the author’s personal stories about grace, along with the stories of others. It accomplishes it’s purpose as we meditate and reflect on grace – how it affects us personally and the effect of grace in the lives of others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Uplifting

    Lucado once again presents a wonderful case the that God's Grace surrounds us everyday. Reading this strengthens my faith and trust in the Lord.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Reapers bio

    At wolves res1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Good for study

    Our Bible group is using this book along with his participants guide and DVD. It is scripture based and good for discussion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Max Lucado writes like he could be a friend of mine and we are h

    Max Lucado writes like he could be a friend of mine and we are having a conversation.  He has a dry sense of humor and a way of looking at things that I greatly appreciate.

    He has you look at things in different ways that are fascinating to new Christians and eye opening for older, more seasoned Christians who may have grown jaded when reading these types of books.

    Grace by Max Lucado is no exception to this style of writing.  He made me smile and made me look at Grace in new ways.  Now, if you are looking for something deeply intellectual, D. L. Moody, or something constantly picking apart the Greek and Hebrew meanings of the words, then this is not the book for you.  I wouldn't call this bubble gummy, but neither would I call it earth shattering.  In my opinion, Max just wants you to look at these topics from a different perspective that might move them from head knowledge to heart knowledge.  

    His stories help put this in perspective as he explains that Grace is something that God freely gives, but we are reluctant to receive.  This is a solid book.  Is it one that totally rocked my world?  No.  Is it one that I would recommend to someone who was having trouble understanding that God has forgiven them and has extended Grace.  Absolutely.

    This book was provided to me free of charge as part of the Booksneeze blogger program.  I was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Grace by Max Lucado. ¿More than we deserve-greater than we imagi

    Grace by Max Lucado. “More than we deserve-greater than we imagine.” Max captures our attention with clever word pictures and humour, but more than that he calls us to deeper contemplation of God’s grace. To top it off, the reader’s guide at the back of the book provides 12 studies for group or personal use helping us to better grasp God’s grace and apply what we have learned from His Word, remembering that ”To accept grace is to accept the vow to give it.” Published by Thomas Nelson "Book has been provided courtesy of Graf-Martin Communications and Baker Books in exchange for an honest review."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    As usual, Max delivers! This book is such a great reminder of G

    As usual, Max delivers! This book is such a great reminder of God's love and his unfailing mercies for us. Reading this along with the series that TBN has on right now with Max is a really great way to add some much needed devotional time into the mix. Max's simple style and meaningful stories to illustrate the power of Grace are very touching. I received this book free through BookSneeze and although required to do a review...it doesn't have to be glowing! However, you cannot help but enjoy this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1