Customer Reviews for

Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine

Average Rating 5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Inspirational

This was my first Max Lucado read. It is written simply and gets to the heart of the matter with ease. The references regarding his personal experience remind me that if I allow it, grace is a part of my everyday living. I picked the book because I needed a large dose o...
This was my first Max Lucado read. It is written simply and gets to the heart of the matter with ease. The references regarding his personal experience remind me that if I allow it, grace is a part of my everyday living. I picked the book because I needed a large dose of grace. Thank you, Max, for taking the time to write about the subject - it invited me to notice grace in everything, everywhere. When I look for it, God’s grace, and human grace is easy to see - thank you for reminding me to allow grace into my life.

posted by 574272 on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers thr

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucad...
*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucado asks a deeper question: Have you been changed by grace? Shaped…? Strengthened…? Emboldened…? Softened…? Snatched by the nape of your neck and shaken to your senses by grace?”

I had great hopes for this book. I had hoped that Pastor Lucado would truly explore the life-changing, sanctifying power of God’s grace. I had hoped that this book would tell of the grace that goes beyond the wimpy grace that doesn’t threaten the way we currently live our lives and instead call us to repentance and challenge us to live obedient and holy lives because of what God has done for us. Had that been the only thing I had begun this book hoping for, I would have been greatly disappointed.

I also opened this book hoping for an easy read, good stories, and viewing bible stories in a new, fresh light. Those hopes were not disappointed.

For the first time, I saw that the story of the release of Barabbas by Pontius Pilate, well, really the Jews, was not just a release, but rather an exchange. Never before had I viewed that part of the story in light of my own salvation. I am Barabbas… the guilty one. Like Barabbas I have received the pardon I did not deserve while Jesus bore the punishment of death that I fully deserved. (Chapter 3)

I saw that the story of Ruth is the story of a God who offers grace though He is under no obligation to. I saw that in the story of Ruth is the story of a God who saves us even when we are in the depths of our sin. (Chapter 6)

Lucado, in chapter 10, assures us of our worth, not because of who we are, but because God has chosen us to be His children. “Rather than conjure up reasons to feel good about yourself, trust God’s verdict. If God loves you, you must be worth loving. If he wants to have you in his kingdom, then you must be worth having. God’s grace invites you – no, requires you – to change your attitude about yourself and take sides with God against your feelings of rejection.”

While the book disappointed many of my hopes, it also offered some positives things to me as well.

posted by amberrdh on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Pure Max

    Max Lucado throws no punches and hits the nail on the head in the greatest gift of Grace. Excellent read. Max always pleases.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There are countless theological and apologetic book on the topic

    There are countless theological and apologetic book on the topic of Grace available in Christian bookstores everywhere. Max Lucado's book, Grace, simplifies and explains the thological concept of Gr4ace. An over used word in prayers, hymns and books, "grace" has become somewhat of a cliche that has lost its true meaning in the minds of most readers. Lucado disects and devotes an entire book to the meaning of grace and how it applies in our everyday lives. Max Lucado's writings are among the most uplifting books that I have recently read. This book specifically helps those who are enduring really difcult times, to endure and persevere. The author address real issues- job loss, terminal illness, grief and loss and even everday daily stresses. This book is designed to help any reader- from those who are suffering from extreme circumstances and those crushed and frustrated from the burdens of everyday life. This book offers real help! If you are bellyaching because you burned your husband's dinner, or the grass stain won't come out of the soccer uniform, or if missed an apointment for your pedicure, or your favorite coach bag sold out before you reached the mall, then this book isn't for you. What you need is a fluffy, superficial, condescending, feel- good, women's devotional book. But, if you truly suffer from life's heartaches, and are searching for true meaning and not just mindless songs or cliches, then this book will offer the comfort you need.
    In true Lucado fashion, Max writes in an animated, easy to understand style that communicates biblical truths to the reader. His books bring bible stories and biblical truth to life in an inspirational way that speaks out to the reader. "Catch God in a bad mood? Won't happen. Fear exhausting his grace? A sardine will swallow the Atlantic first. Think he's given up on you?" ..... Lucado's use of colorful language and his conversational tone, make it so that biblical truths are memorable and meaningful to the average modern reader. You need not be a theologen, educated in an expensive seminary or college to understand Max Lucado's books. This inspirational book will be certain to leave the reader with a lasting impression. In today's self centered society, without offense Max Lucado illustrates the importance of living life based on biblical principles. After reading this book, and really meditating on the biblical truths communicated via Max Lucado, one can feel a renewed sense of embpowerment to live a selfless life style. Max makes use of personal anecdotes as well as bible stories to illiustrate the importance of depending on God rather than on the material things of this world. If you are a theologen, looking for an apologetic defense on the purpose of depending on God then this book isn't for you. This is not a wordy theological book on Grace- there are plenty of works like that. But, if on the other hand you are simply looking for bible based motivation and a relief in a world that takes pride in materialism, selfish ambition and competition, then this book is perfect. This book shows the biblical and personal significance of grace. It brings true meaning to God's gift of undeserved grace in everday simple language. As a blogger for booksneeze, I receive books from Thomas Nelson publishers in exchange for writing an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Excellent book!

    Everyone reaches a point in their life when grace will need to be given and received. This book is filled with amazing, inspirational stories for all readers. I loved every page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Max Lucado's Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagin

    Max Lucado's Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine, is a book for Christians who seek to further understand what it means to experience God's grace in their lives as well as for non-Christians who do not yet understand how God has blessed us and saved us. I have read quite a few of Max Lucado's books, but this one is by far my favorite. In his best-selling style, Lucado provides many examples of God's grace. He talks about how grace was shown in the Bible, in many examples of Old and New Testament scripture. He illustrates how these examples can apply to our own lives and how they have applied to the lives of people he knows or people in history. All of these examples serve to further illustrate something that is often hard for us to understand. Even though we are fallible, sinful, human beings, God has given us His Grace. He loves us so much, that He DIED for us. That is the grace he bestows upon each and every one of us. So if you are ever thinking that God does not show His grace in your life, read this book and remember - God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Touching, Heartfelt, and Encouraging In reviewing this book ti


    Touching, Heartfelt, and Encouraging

    In reviewing this book titled: “Grace”, it was touching and encouraging; it gives us a different respect and gratitude for grace. The book was wonderfully written in details and amazing stories in references to the grace. I felt a refreshing moment while reading this book. Max Lucado did a splendid job on this book, not by knowledge only, but by experience this book is organized from; to experience God’s grace is an opportunity no one should want to miss. It touches the very heart and soul of a person to want to bless others. We have been given more grace than we deserve and this book brings that particular part out in the open.
    Grace takes part in Spiritual maturity; we give grace more and more as we improve ourselves through the Holy Word. Grace gives us room to display our spiritual potential and God’s love through us, not for us but for God’s glory. Grace convicts us to stand correct when we have done wrong. Grace shapes us into a God-server and not a self-server. Thank You Father for your unfailing and everlasting grace that You give us daily. This book is truly a blessing and I am glad to recommend this book to all who will read it.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Charlie

    Thanks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Coral and Glint to to cali

    And WHO exactly r u speaking for?!?! Of course we want her to stay!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Fabulous! HIGHLY recommend!

    Sometimes when we're busy trying to be perfect, and then beating ourselves up when we're not - we forget about grace. This book beautifully reminds us of the power of God's grace. What a blessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Inspirational. Highly recommend.

    Love Lucado. This one means so much to me. I'll read it over and over and continue to gain truths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Ive been change by grace

    Shes pretty nice

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Nursery

    .....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    To the author of ITZ

    AWESOME!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    In The Zone, Chapter Two.

    The paper was smudged with a red, metallic liquid. My eyes widen. <br> 'I love you, Korbyn, and I love your brother, too. I was sent to the other side. I know this is shocking. Oh no. I hear footsteps. I'll see you in the zo-' The note said, and was cut off. <br> I felt tears pricking my eyes. I wanted to fall on the floor and sob. But if Daniel wasn't with her, where was he? I search around. I run up the stairs to his room and open the door. He was there, curled up in a ball, sobbing quietly. I've never seen a guy cry, but this time, I knew why. <br> I run to him, wrapping my arms around him. I wanted to cry, too. But I couldn't. Not like this. I had the note crumpling in my hand. I didn't know what to do. <br> I let him go, suddenly remembering that I was supposed to be at Brandon's house right know. I grab his hand and run out the door, heading straight towards Brandon's house. I arrive, knocking the door. I now await the news he gives us. <br> Good news. And bad news. <p> Next part tomorrow!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Mist

    Name: |\/|ist&psi <br> Gender: &female I'm a girl! <br> Looks: A light gray coat color with bright misty blue eyes (hence the name) <br> Kin: A brother named Shade (alive...somewhere) <br> Personality!: Fun, relaxed, bright, positive, stuf like that. Also fierce, protective, and loyal. <0> &9788<_>|-|\/|ist&psi<_>-|&#9788

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Sam

    Name:sam gender: male age: 14 rank: alpha pup appearance : brownish red hair with white in it olf apearance: rddish fur with whote tiped ears and tail other : ask parents: none

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Dawn's bio

    Go to the second result of wolves it is there second or third result probably by the time you get there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Redfur bio

    At wolves res 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Highly recommend this book

    Every chapter is worth reading. The message is like ointment for the hurting heart. It helps you to experience God's love on a deeper level. I want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Kevin

    Walks in loosing my co.ck out of my pants and kissing you my toungue around your mouth

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Well written and truthful

    I just finished this book and it was a great complement to the bible on Grace. It gave old examples but truly the great ones were mondern day examples of Gods Grace to different people in different circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3