Customer Reviews for

Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine

Average Rating 5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Grace

Grace is one of those things that we want, but don’t fully understand. It is one of those things that we want shown to us, but fail to return to others. Grace is a verb as much as it is a noun. It is as much something we do as it is something possess. Grace stoops. Grac...
Grace is one of those things that we want, but don’t fully understand. It is one of those things that we want shown to us, but fail to return to others. Grace is a verb as much as it is a noun. It is as much something we do as it is something possess. Grace stoops. Grace saves. Grace rescues. Grace loves. Grace forgives. Graces restores. Grace is more than words spoken over a meal, it is the provision of the meal itself. In Max Lucado’s new book Grace; More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine he paints a beautiful picture of a gift that can only descend from heaven. Lucado, in a style that is his alone, shows us how real, alive, life-changing, and powerful grace is when spilled over the life of an individual. This is arguably Lucado’s greatest work to date. He writes in a very simple tone, rhythm, and cadence. Within this simplicity, much truth and theology is packed. In each of the eleven chapters, Lucado weaves together the biblical account of those touched by the grace of God with personal experiences and real-life stories. Some of those touched by grace are the woman caught in the act of adultery, Zacchaeus, and Naomi and Ruth. Brilliantly, Max Lucado included, alongside these biblical story lines, the real-life stories of Brazilian garbage pickers, orphaned pioneer children, and the surreal scene of an airline terminal to illustrate the mystery that is the grace of God. This is a great that I highly recommend. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

posted by Steven_Ruff on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers thr

*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucad...
*I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Grace
Author: Max Lucado

The back cover of Grace by Max Lucado reads, “Have we settled for wimpy grace?” Then it states, “Max Lucado asks a deeper question: Have you been changed by grace? Shaped…? Strengthened…? Emboldened…? Softened…? Snatched by the nape of your neck and shaken to your senses by grace?”

I had great hopes for this book. I had hoped that Pastor Lucado would truly explore the life-changing, sanctifying power of God’s grace. I had hoped that this book would tell of the grace that goes beyond the wimpy grace that doesn’t threaten the way we currently live our lives and instead call us to repentance and challenge us to live obedient and holy lives because of what God has done for us. Had that been the only thing I had begun this book hoping for, I would have been greatly disappointed.

I also opened this book hoping for an easy read, good stories, and viewing bible stories in a new, fresh light. Those hopes were not disappointed.

For the first time, I saw that the story of the release of Barabbas by Pontius Pilate, well, really the Jews, was not just a release, but rather an exchange. Never before had I viewed that part of the story in light of my own salvation. I am Barabbas… the guilty one. Like Barabbas I have received the pardon I did not deserve while Jesus bore the punishment of death that I fully deserved. (Chapter 3)

I saw that the story of Ruth is the story of a God who offers grace though He is under no obligation to. I saw that in the story of Ruth is the story of a God who saves us even when we are in the depths of our sin. (Chapter 6)

Lucado, in chapter 10, assures us of our worth, not because of who we are, but because God has chosen us to be His children. “Rather than conjure up reasons to feel good about yourself, trust God’s verdict. If God loves you, you must be worth loving. If he wants to have you in his kingdom, then you must be worth having. God’s grace invites you – no, requires you – to change your attitude about yourself and take sides with God against your feelings of rejection.”

While the book disappointed many of my hopes, it also offered some positives things to me as well.

posted by amberrdh on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Max Lucado's Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagin

    Max Lucado's Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine, is a book for Christians who seek to further understand what it means to experience God's grace in their lives as well as for non-Christians who do not yet understand how God has blessed us and saved us. I have read quite a few of Max Lucado's books, but this one is by far my favorite. In his best-selling style, Lucado provides many examples of God's grace. He talks about how grace was shown in the Bible, in many examples of Old and New Testament scripture. He illustrates how these examples can apply to our own lives and how they have applied to the lives of people he knows or people in history. All of these examples serve to further illustrate something that is often hard for us to understand. Even though we are fallible, sinful, human beings, God has given us His Grace. He loves us so much, that He DIED for us. That is the grace he bestows upon each and every one of us. So if you are ever thinking that God does not show His grace in your life, read this book and remember - God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Touching, Heartfelt, and Encouraging In reviewing this book ti


    Touching, Heartfelt, and Encouraging

    In reviewing this book titled: “Grace”, it was touching and encouraging; it gives us a different respect and gratitude for grace. The book was wonderfully written in details and amazing stories in references to the grace. I felt a refreshing moment while reading this book. Max Lucado did a splendid job on this book, not by knowledge only, but by experience this book is organized from; to experience God’s grace is an opportunity no one should want to miss. It touches the very heart and soul of a person to want to bless others. We have been given more grace than we deserve and this book brings that particular part out in the open.
    Grace takes part in Spiritual maturity; we give grace more and more as we improve ourselves through the Holy Word. Grace gives us room to display our spiritual potential and God’s love through us, not for us but for God’s glory. Grace convicts us to stand correct when we have done wrong. Grace shapes us into a God-server and not a self-server. Thank You Father for your unfailing and everlasting grace that You give us daily. This book is truly a blessing and I am glad to recommend this book to all who will read it.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Charlie

    Thanks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Coral and Glint to to cali

    And WHO exactly r u speaking for?!?! Of course we want her to stay!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Nursery

    .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Excellent book!

    Everyone reaches a point in their life when grace will need to be given and received. This book is filled with amazing, inspirational stories for all readers. I loved every page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    To the author of ITZ

    AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    In The Zone, Chapter Two.

    The paper was smudged with a red, metallic liquid. My eyes widen. <br> 'I love you, Korbyn, and I love your brother, too. I was sent to the other side. I know this is shocking. Oh no. I hear footsteps. I'll see you in the zo-' The note said, and was cut off. <br> I felt tears pricking my eyes. I wanted to fall on the floor and sob. But if Daniel wasn't with her, where was he? I search around. I run up the stairs to his room and open the door. He was there, curled up in a ball, sobbing quietly. I've never seen a guy cry, but this time, I knew why. <br> I run to him, wrapping my arms around him. I wanted to cry, too. But I couldn't. Not like this. I had the note crumpling in my hand. I didn't know what to do. <br> I let him go, suddenly remembering that I was supposed to be at Brandon's house right know. I grab his hand and run out the door, heading straight towards Brandon's house. I arrive, knocking the door. I now await the news he gives us. <br> Good news. And bad news. <p> Next part tomorrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Mist

    Name: |\/|ist&psi <br> Gender: &female I'm a girl! <br> Looks: A light gray coat color with bright misty blue eyes (hence the name) <br> Kin: A brother named Shade (alive...somewhere) <br> Personality!: Fun, relaxed, bright, positive, stuf like that. Also fierce, protective, and loyal. <0> &9788<_>|-|\/|ist&psi<_>-|&#9788

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Sam

    Name:sam gender: male age: 14 rank: alpha pup appearance : brownish red hair with white in it olf apearance: rddish fur with whote tiped ears and tail other : ask parents: none

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Emmett

    First of all....I'm back. I feel terrible. Read my message at "wolves" result 2. Yah...my laziness is shining through. Second...iz this camp?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Dawn's bio

    Go to the second result of wolves it is there second or third result probably by the time you get there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Redfur bio

    At wolves res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Highly recommend this book

    Every chapter is worth reading. The message is like ointment for the hurting heart. It helps you to experience God's love on a deeper level. I want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Pure Max

    Max Lucado throws no punches and hits the nail on the head in the greatest gift of Grace. Excellent read. Max always pleases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Kevin

    Walks in loosing my co.ck out of my pants and kissing you my toungue around your mouth

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Well written and truthful

    I just finished this book and it was a great complement to the bible on Grace. It gave old examples but truly the great ones were mondern day examples of Gods Grace to different people in different circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    Entertaining, thought provoking, grace is extended to everyone not just the unsaved. Our hope for when everything has gone wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Beautiful!

    A wonderful affirmation and clarification of the amazing grace of our God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Cayla

    Love u too babe. Rocky. Plays with her pony

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3