Customer Reviews for

Grace: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A touching story with a surprise ending...

    This is one book that you can't put down once you start it. The ending was certainly not something I had expected. Actually, as I turned from page to page, I really had no idea how the book would have to end.
    I was enthralled with Eric, who on the surface seems like any typical teenager but as the story moves, you sense how trusting he is, and how compassionate he is towards Grace, and the love that develops between them as she shares her horrible secret and his urge to protect her at all means. In the end, you get the anguish he felt towards his family, as well as his anguish and the blame he had for himself for giving in and not being there. It was a world that no teenager should have to go through, whether as the abused child or a child forced to keep a secret for someone they care deeply about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book wrapped itself around me

    Enjoyed the writing style of this author previously, so had a pretty good idea of the heart-touching quality of his work. This story was so intricately wound around the characters, that, by the end of the story, I had a bond with the 2 main characters. I must say the ending caught me by surprise or at least my reaction to the ending was a surprise to me. I think Mr. Evans got completely real and opened up eyes and hearts with this one. I hold this one dear and would share it with my family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    If one were to look up the definition of "grace," this is what one would find: a virtue coming from God or disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemency among others. But either of these definitions could apply to the beautiful story written by Mr. Evans. <BR/><BR/>GRACE is another amazing story written by the author of THE CHRISTMAS BOX. For those who have never read anything by Mr. Evans, GRACE will not disappoint, and will most likely lead you to read the rest of his works. <BR/>For those that are already fans (such as myself), this is another wonderful novel. Many of Mr. Evans' stories celebrate the Christmas season. Though not completely revolving around the holiday, GRACE reaches into the heart and touches all that is special with the Christmas spirit. <BR/><BR/>Eric's life is far from wonderful. After his father hurt his back, the family packed up everything they owned and moved from California to Utah. Money has dried up in the summer of 1962 and, to survive, his family moves into the house left vacant by the death of his maternal grandmother. The house is falling apart, but they are together and have family nearby to help them. <BR/><BR/>To help with finances, Eric works at McBurger Queen after school. It's there, while cleaning up after closing, that he discovers a girl "dumpster diving" (sorting through the Dumpster for food). He recognizes the girl from one of his classes, but doesn't want to embarrass her. Instead, he invites her inside and offers her the food that would otherwise be discarded. <BR/><BR/>While she is eating, he learns her name is Grace. She admits she is running away. Eric can't fathom what a girl his age will do to survive. Without thinking of the consequences, he offers up the only place he can think of, the clubhouse in the far corner of his backyard that he built with his younger brother, Joel. <BR/><BR/>He sets Grace up in the clubhouse with a heating pad for warmth, a flashlight, a transistor radio, and a supply of sleeping bags. As time goes by, the two become friends. He sneaks her food when he can. She sneaks out when it seems safe, and passes her time in the clubhouse with a collection of books from the library. <BR/><BR/>But her family starts a frantic search for Grace. Announcements are made at school. Flyers are put up around town. And eventually it makes the evening news. Eric is terrified he will be found out and that they will find Grace. He vows to keep her secret. His resolve grows more so when she reveals the reason for running away. <BR/><BR/>Eric is only fourteen, and the pressure from all sides start to mount. He knows Grace can never be turned over to her family, but what can a teenager do to help her in the end? <BR/><BR/>Eric berates himself as a grown man that he couldn't help Grace more. He continues to search for the grace he doesn't feel he deserves. Reminiscent of the ending of Saving Private Ryan, the main character searches for the goodness that he hopes he has lived up to in the eyes of those that have gone before him. <BR/><BR/>Mr. Evans has a way of bringing forth buried feelings. GRACE touches you deep in the spirit and makes you want to be a better person. With the upcoming Christmas season, may we all show a bit of grace to those around us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Touching to the heart,but brings tears to your eyes,Iwould recommend all teens to read this book.

    My name is Kimberly,i was reading the book Grace it was a great story and very emotional.Eric was fourteen when he moved to California with his mom.dad,and little brother Joel.Eric got a partime job working at a local restraunt BurgerMcQueen,there he met a girl Grace who was a runaway looking through the dumpster for food.When Eric saw her he said nothing but asked her if she wanted to come in and get something to eat.After work Eric asked to walk Grace home but said she ranaway Eric had no idea what was going to happen next,Eric said she could stay in his and Joel's clubhouse for a little while.Eric kept her a secret for months after a couple months Grace and Eric started going out in public but tried not to get noticed.at the end of the story someone said they seen Eric with Grace, when the police showed up at Eric's house Eric was scared he didn't know what to do.The police asked Eric where she was he told them in the clubhouse out back in the paster,the police took Grace back to her mom and stepdad,Eric tried to stop them but he was to late,Eric went to school the next day but did not see Grace he knew something was wrong,when he got home Eric's mom told him that Grace was dead and that she was pregnant by her stepdad.
    This book is great for teens who are pregnant and having family problems,it teaches you about responsibility.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Amiti

    I wonder who it is! The only suggestion I can make is that I think you're going from too many perspectives at once… it's kind of hard to tell who the main character is anymore. Other than that, AWESOME! ~Amiti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    i love

    i love this book it was so romantic and it really came to me. i love tennage love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    So is this a true story?

    Please answer:):D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this beautiful story!

    I loved the story, beautifully narrated by John Dossett, (which is awesome) who looks back over the years to his first love and the tragedy that followed and his purpose in life.

    It is a very sad but uplifting and inspirational story which was well written. It is raw with the feelings of a teenage boy as he cares for this abused girl and protects here at such as young age. He was an old soul. Sometimes it is good to remind adults of what struggles face adolescence teens today. Definitely a must read by Richard Paul Evans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Thats my name

    Thats

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Excellent read

    Not your stereotypical hollywood happy ending....I LOVED IT!!!
    It felt more true to life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Evans does it again with this poignant Christmas tale.

    Evans does it again with this poignant Christmas tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    LOVED IT!!! Made me cry at school

    I read this whole book yesterday. I couldnt put it down!!! I finished it before the school day was over. I started crying in language arts when she died (people stared at me... lol. It was kinda embarassing) and my english teacher (also named Mrs Johnson) thought i stabbed my self with my pencil or pen or something. But this was an AMAZING book! Im a sucker for tragic love stories (what almost 14 year old girl isn't?!) This was just as awesome as Nicholas Sparks books :) I cant wait to read more amazing books like this!!!! :D -Mik Mik

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Love it!

    This is a beautiful story. I cried and smiled and cried some more. Richard Paul Evans does not disappoint when he writes. Worth the buy and worth the read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Sobbed my eyes out

    Grace was a brillant book I loved it! Sad but beautiful. I just wanted to freaking shoot and beat her stepdad though. Anyway I loved it and its a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great!!

    I love this book, i have read it soo many times!!! I love it!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    a good read

    keeps you interested, a new story line I have never come across in any other storybefore. this book will toach your heart and make you care for the charactors in it. kept me up late reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grace is a MUST READ

    This is the story of a runaway teenage girl and the boy who loved and protected her. It is about young love, child abuse, and heartbreak. Richard Paul Evans once again left me in tears. Bring a box of Kleenex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Heart warming story

    Such a heartwarming story that touchs your inner spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good reliable R.P. Evans book - pretty much as expected

    Enjoyed this book as I have his other writings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4