Customer Reviews for

Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling, Captivating, Excellent Writing!

    This is my first book by T. Greenwood and it most definitely will not be my last! I look so forward to reading more from this author and reading her earlier books. (loved the front cover image as pulls on you- to want to learn what is inside this door and family).

    The writing quality, the setting, the emotion is spectacular! The character development was excellent and complex. Readers will be drawn from the front cover to the back cover. Appears as though the author is not afraid to tackle certain subjects which is commendable even though it may be difficult to read at times, like Jodi Picoult, Charles Martin, Lisa Genova, and Amy Hatvany (a fan of all).

    Compelling - there is so much to this novel as it goes back and forth from one generation to another. The dynamics of a family with no demonstration of love, or the holding back thereof, and non- expressive-parent who gave up their life early on and is reflective throughout their parenting as they resent being held responsible for their son, and they too are even acting out themselves in all sorts of ways to cope. (Wow, total family dysfunction and drama)!

    There are so many aspects to this story which is very realistic to family struggles and obstacles out there today for families which sometimes are often kept quiet and behind the scenes.

    Being ignored since birth, Trevor is growing up in a man’s body, his mother does not relate with repeated bullying at school with no friends. Unfortunately, he receives no help at school or a home and nowhere to turn. What makes it even worse, he has little control over his emotions.

    Ah, Grace comes along – the ideal child and younger sister; with all the characters circle around her as she is in the background yet one of the most important. While his parents fight to survive, Trevor finds solace in a camera as a new way to see the word thru different eyes.

    There is also a story of Crystal (loved this character) – a high school senior who has given birth to a baby she was forced to give up for adoption and struggling with decisions. Between Kurt, Elsbeth, Trevor and Crystal-- from their voices – their story intertwines, making this a powerful story. GRACE demonstrates how a family can be shattered to bits with sadness, and slowly come out in one piece with hope, sometimes using grief to bind them together.

    You will not be able to put this book down, as readers will want to devour every page - Totally amazing, intense, and captivating! Keeps you surprised with every swish of a finger, turning the page to see what is ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Darknight

    "I'm not disappearing."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Silver

    Well i must go blackstar is waiting for me. She us out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Day

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First book by this author. My mom left it after a vacation and m

    First book by this author. My mom left it after a vacation and my Nook died. Now I am looking to buy all the rest. Normally it wouldn't have been something I would have picked out but the style of writing captured me right from the start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Amiti

    Getting pretty intresting... keep up the good work!! I'm writing another story... it's called Plague. I'll tell you where it is after I've done a few more chapters... ~Amiti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Good Read

    interesting family drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite In "Grace"

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

    In "Grace" author Greenwood gets hold of the teenage mind and she just doesn't let go. "Grace" is the poignant story of a young boy who literally develops overnight and he has no comprehension of the mysteries of his own body and mind. He perceives the world from the viewpoint of someone who is an outcast to his peers and his conclusions about his own worth then follow those faulty perceptions.

    When reading the book, the reader will get the feeling that a highly insightful and perceptive spider has woven a web in which the reader is caught up heart and soul. The characters of Trevor and Grace (siblings) are unforgettable. They are real, tragic and endearing to the reader. They are children to be admired and cheered as they make their way through life. The parents of the children are so understandable that older readers will surely see themselves through the hearts and minds of adult parents struggling to come to terms with the growth of their own children. The character of the social outcast Crystal brings the reader to the very soul of tragedy, despair and redemption. Perhaps what struck me most about this book was the fact that the characters are so representative of the human condition in general. There is no glossing over of the reality of the individual dilemmas the characters must face. They are presented raw so that they can either be accepted for what they are or rejected as defective or deficient. This is a masterfully written piece of literature for both the young and the not-so-young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Interesting, thought provoking

    This would make a perfect book for a book club. Lots of topics for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I'm giving this book two stars. Not because it isn't written wel

    I'm giving this book two stars. Not because it isn't written well, or because T. Greenwood is not a talented writer, but this was a very hard book for me to get into. It was very depressing, and there wasn't must suspense, mystery, or romance in it. To be honest, maybe there is....but I didn't get around to reading it because I wasn't able to finish it. I REALLY wanted to get into this book and tried to MANY times....but after several attempts I found myself "dreading" having to pick up this book and read it rather than "not being able to put it down." I will keep in my library and try to come around and read it again at another time in my life. Maybe I will "connect" with it then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A mesmerizing read which captures your attention from the openin

    A mesmerizing read which captures your attention from the opening chapter. Thoughts of what could have brought the “story” to this point run foremost in your mind. There is no choice but to read on and discover for yourself! A highly emotional journey in which the characters find themselves held prisoner by even their most simplistic of desires promises to keep the reader committed to turning the pages until all becomes clear, as snapshot in time, also held prisoner. Two Rivers, an out of the way small town in Vermont in which we find a family struggling to keep it all together, during the current day economic meltdown affecting so many families these days and a young woman on the brink of adulthood struggling to come to terms with the result of actions not just her own. What possible thread could they have in common to make their paths cross? Kurt Kennedy, father of two trapped in the salvage yard business he now runs which once belonged to his stroke- ravaged father, Elsbeth his wife working in the small town beauty salon, Trevor their thirteen year old and troubled son who only wants to make the pictures he sees in his mind a reality. Crystal, who once looked forward to starting collage and the dreams of a life with her childhood sweetheart now, left alone dealing with a loss she cannot overcome. At last there is Grace, a divine favor, who at six years old, proves to be the binding force which ties them all together with the unconditional love only a child can provide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Greenwood has written a heartrending story about a dysfunctional

    Greenwood has written a heartrending story about a dysfunctional family living in a dysfunctional society. Once I started this novel I was unable to put it down! At times it was agonizing to read, knowing that Trevor was being bullied and picked on, yet it always turned out to be his fault. Knowing that he had no one to turn to in order to express his emotions and feelings! I do not think anyone reading this novel would be unemotional, because Greenwood pulls at the gut and heart strings like no other author I’ve ever read!

    The story takes place over a year, broken down into seasons. There are four main characters and a few minor characters: Kurt and Elsbeth (Trevor’s parents), Trevor and Crystal. The story takes place in all of their voices, switching back and forth throughout the novel. Kurt is trying to hold his family together financially in a world that is breaking down. Elsbeth is a kleptomaniac that showers more attention on her five year old daughter than her 13 year old son. Trevor is a 13 year old that is being bullied beyond belief, feeling as his family never wanted him and is alone in the world. Crystal is a pregnant high school teenager that gives up her daughter and belittles herself regarding the adoption of her baby girl. All four of their stories intertwine together, making you wonder how such an odd combination of characters could really exist together!

    Greenwood has done an breathtaking task in pulling this novel together! My heart broke into pieces, yet mended together at the end, just as the family does!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    A sad story and very well written

    This is going to be a very mixed review. I was amazed at the quality of writing but disappointed in the story. Grace is a very heart wrenching story. It focuses on four character point-of-views, with their common link being Gracy, a beautiful vibrant little girl. • Kurt – Gracy’s father. He is hard working and struggling to keep his family healthy and happy. Now he also has to shoulder the problems of his ailing father. • Elsbeth – Gracy’s Mother – Unhappy with her choices in life and wondering what could have been. She is connected to one child and detached from the other. She is struggling with her identity. • Trevor – Gracy’s Brother – A trouble young man who has the weight of the world on his shoulders. He always feels alone and misunderstood. Not to mention the troubles of becoming a man. • Crystal – Passing Acquaintance - A young woman at a crossroads. She has similarities to Elsbeth. She is battling the fallout from a life changing choice and is drawn into the Kennedy family problems. I felt each character individually and their turmoil. Ms. Greenwood’s style of writing is wonderful and the flow of the storytelling was very well done. I was never confused and always had a clear view of whose portion of the story was being told. The beginning sequence of Grace really drew me in. Why would a father have a gun to his only son’s head? I can’t remember a book that had me wanting to sneak a peek at the ending more. It grabbed me, but the hold was not very strong. These characters were riddled with problems, secrets and oddities. This was a slow and agonizing journey for me. I think I didn’t like it 100% because I’m not used to this type of storytelling. There was no romance, suspense or reason for the story. Grace was a no holds bar look into the troubled lives of these four people. I saw the not so good, very bad and the disturbingly ugly. I was sad or angry throughout most of the story. This book really highlights the importance of open communication. Their personal problems were so apparent, but each had their own demons to fight and it was amazing how utterly alone they all felt. I wanted to help each of them so much, but I felt trapped watching their lives crumble. • Am I sorry I read Grace? No, not really • Will I be thinking about this novel in the near future? Yes, their stories were that heartbreaking • Will I read other books written by Ms. Greenwood? Hmmm, I’m not sure. I don’t like sad stories. So all-in-all, Grace is a very well written book. I cannot fault Ms. Greenwood on the quality of the story, writing or development of the characters. It just isn’t my cup of tea. I read to escape and this story was not an escape for me. Ms. Greenwood does live up to her title of the “family-damage specialist”. After reading this story I need a quick dose of happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1